Guides: Global Research and Consulting: Scholarly Research

Search the Business FAQ

Getting Started

Looking for scholarly articles about a company, industry, or business topic can be a helpful way to start your research and see what information is already available. Whatever stage of a project you're in, the databases listed below are great places to look for scholarly research and articles.

Finding Scholarly Articles

Franklin: Articles +
Articles+ searches through many of the academic journals Penn subscribes to, and brings you results all in one place. It has a much wider search range than individual databases, and is better suited for initial or exploratory research on a topic. If you want to narrow down your search, check out some of the other databases on this guide.

Google Scholar
Access to Google Scholar with Penn-only links to full-text articles. Once authenticated through Penn's proxy, full-text articles to which Penn Libraries subscribe will become available within the Google Scholar search results.
ABI/Inform
Covers all aspects of business research. Provides in-depth coverage of business conditions, trends, corporate strategies and tactics, management techniques, marketing, and product development. It indexes over 3,000 publications, with more than 2,000 available in full text, including complete runs of key business and management journals. Dates covered vary by source.
Business Source Complete
Updated daily. provides nearly 3,300 full text scholarly publications, including more than 1,000 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to the full text, this database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 4,100 journals. This database offers information in nearly every area of business including management, economics, finance, accounting, international business, and more.
EconLit
Covers accounting, consumer economics, monetary policy, labor, demographics, modeling, economic theory, and planning. Primarily English language, some foreign language publications included.
APA PsycInfo
The American Psychological Association's comprehensive indexing and abstracting service for the professional and scholarly literature in psychology and related fields. Coverage is worldwide. Sources are in English and over thirty languages.
Sociological Abstracts + Social Services Abstracts
Combined file of Sociological Abstracts + Social Services Abstracts. Covers sociology, case work, demographics, policy studies, political science, family studies, feminist studies, social work, human services, social welfare, social policy, and community development.
Urban Studies Abstracts
Covers all aspects of urban studies.
Bibliographic citations with abstracts describing scholarly literature in all aspects of urban studies. Topics include trends in urbanization, urban history, architecture and urban design, housing and real estate, urban development and redevelopment, urban planning and land use, environment and resource conservation, transporation and communication, crime and law enforcement, urban economics, social services and public services, politics and government, urban fiscal and budgetary policy, and social issues.

Librarian

Matthew Trowbridge

Email Me

Contact:

Lippincott Library
3420 Walnut St., Room 243.3
Philadelphia, PA 19104

215-898-6729

Subjects: Entrepreneurship

Global Research and Consulting

Search the Business FAQ

Getting Started

Finding Scholarly Articles

Librarian

Chat