A number of important Iraqi periodical publications are included in the Middle East Collection of the Library, including a number of important cultural and academic journals. Unless otherwise noted, all items are located in Van Pelt Library
Until 1928, the Turkish Language was written using the Arabic-based script and is known commonly as Ottoman Turkish. Penn Libraries are fortunate to have a number of serial titles from this era that are important for researchers of 18th and 19th century Turkish history and culture, as listed below:
Akmulla Holdings: (1911-1916)
Location: Van Pelt Microfilms cont 753
Alay Holdings:Adet 1-12 (1920)
Location: Rare Books Folio DR401.A438
Salname-yi Vilayet-i Ankara [Ankara Vilâyetine Mahsus Salname] Holdings: (1891)
One of the highlights of the Middle East Collection at Penn Libraries includes a variety of newspapers and serials from Egypt prior to the 1919 Revolution. These include newspapers, literary journals, medical journals, publications of the then just-founded Egyptian Museum, publications of Christian and Muslim organizations, and other topics and areas of interest to the researcher of Egyptian society and culture from this period.
Mémoires Publiés Par Les Membres de l’Institut Frangais d’Archiologie Orientale du Caire Pre-1919 Holdings: (1903- ) Location: Museum 913.32 C128; LIBRA DT57.F8
Additional Options: Various issues from v.2-v.47 (1907-1921)
Procès-Verbaux des Séances, Rapports de la Deuxième Commission (Comité de conservation des monuments de l’art arabe) Pre-1919 Holdings: fasc.1-5 (exercise 1882/1883)- fasc.14 (exercise 1897) Location: Fine Arts NA1581.A3
Proces-verbaux des seances, rapports de la Section technique (Comite de conservation des monuments de l'art arabe).
Pre-1919 Holdings: (fasc.15 (exercise 1898)-fasc.40 (exercise 1946/1953))
Location: Fine Arts NA1581.A3
Locations: LIBRA. DS41 .T4 See availability details. Library at the Katz Center - Periodicals B2. DS41 .T4 See availability details. Van Pelt Library. DS41.T4
In addition to major Western-language news resources, Nexis Uniprovides full-text access to news sources in Arabic and Turkish. Includes print and online journals, television and radio broadcasts, newswires and blogs; local, regional, national and international newspapers. Bonus: Full-text searchable in Arabic script.
Tip: Use Advanced Search Function for "News" then limit search by "Language"
"Mideastwire.com is a Lebanese registered, Internet-based news service established in 2005 that employs a team of translators around the region to gather important stories from and about the Middle East. As it currently stands, we cover news from all 22 Arab countries, Iran, and the Arab media Diaspora generally. Thus our reach extends across the North Africa region as well as to the UK and other countries that host Pan-Arab media."
This is a comprehensive news collection for the exploration of issues and events at the local, regional, national, and international level. Its diverse source types include print and online-only newspapers, blogs, newswires, journals, broadcast transcripts and videos. Use it to explore a specific event or to compare a wide variety of viewpoints on topics such as politics, business, health, sports, cultural activities and people. Content is easily searched and sorted through an intuitive, map-based interface.
This resource covers to date nearly 6000 newspapers and magazines from all over the world. There are publications from over a hundred countries and in more than 60 languages. Among the newspapers, there are international top titles, other broadsheets and tabloids, as well as national and local newspapers.
This resource contains many news sources dating from 1995-2013. Material derives from non-U.S. open-source political speeches, television programs, radio broadcasts, newspaper articles, periodicals, and books. Content focuses primarily on military, political, environmental, scientific, technical, and socioeconomic issues and events.
"A powerful online subscription service bringing news from around the world, translated into English, typically within 24-72 hours from the time of the original publication or broadcast."
From the AMIR blog, "a list of Open Access historical newspapers and other periodicals in Middle Eastern Studies.
Most titles on the list have been digitized by independent projects across the globe and may not have been fully cataloged."
A digital collection from Yale University containing journals, abstracts from Encyclopedia of Islam III, Dictionaries, Manuscripts from the Beinecke and SOAS, Gazettes (Syrian and Palestinian) spanning 1919-1948. To use, click brown button on the right to "Search or Brows AMEEL."
"AMEEL holds approximately 350,000 pages of full text, indexed and searchable in the language of the publication including Arabic and Western scripts. The full text in AMEEL has been extracted using Optical Character Recognition software (OCR) rather than re-keying all works."
This is a catalog of holdings at the Moshe Dayan Center for Middle Eastern and African Studies at Tel Aviv University For each county, lists of holdings can be downloaded in the form of downloadable .pdf files
Issued by the U.S. Government, this resource features translations of broadcast and print news as well as government statements from nations around the world. It is used by the CIA as a principal record of political and historical open-source intelligence. It covers the time period from 1941-1996. For more recent years see its continuation, WorldNewsConnection.
This digitization project preserves the historical periodical collections (1900-1950) at the Al-Aqsa Mosque Library, located in East Jerusalem. There are some rare periodicals in this collection, such as MajallatRawdatal-Maʿarif (1922-34), the journal of one of the most important high schools in Mandate Palestine,al-Kulliyyaal-ʿArabiyya (1928-36), the journal of the most important men’s education training college in Mandate Palestine, al-Huquq (1925-7), the only Arabic law journal to publish in Mandate Palestine, as well as a dozen others: al-ʿArab (1933-4), al-Jinan (1874); al-Mahabbah (1901), al-Hasna (1909); al-Zahra (1922-6), al-Fajr (1935), al-Jamiʿaal-Islamiyya(1932-5), al-Jamiʿaal-ʿArabiyya (1928-35), al-Siratal-Mustaqim (1931-6), Sawt al-Shaʿb (1929-34); al-Awqatal-ʿArabiyya (1935); al-Liwaʾ(1936-7); Tasvir-iEfkar (1909); al-Muqtabas (1909-16); al-Qabas (1913-34); al-Difaʿ (1934-51); Filastin (1923-48); al-Aqdam (1934-6) and Mirʾatal-Sharq (1922-36). This is the single best digitized collection of historical Arabic periodicals on the web.
A digital archive of Ottoman periodicals from the Hakkı Tarık Us Collection at the Beyazit State Library, Istanbul. All the digitized data are now available both at the Beyazit State Library and at TUFS Library in Tokyo. Some were already published online as a part of the C-DAT community of TUFS. Nota bene: all periodicals download as .djvu files. A converter will be required to read them.
Ottoman-era periodicals in PDF form and is searchable in a basic form by author or article title. In advanced search, one can choose the journal, article title, author, volume, issue, or date of publication.
These collections contain historic newspapers and journals.
The collections in this group consist of two main categories. The first are digitizations of full newspapers created by immigrant communities for distribution throughout the diaspora. These tend to be in Arabic. The Khayrallah Center strives to centralize complete runs of these papers, and these collections represent selections from digitized papers that often span months, years, or decades. Others contain select articles from regional news sources relating to the Lebanese diaspora gathered by our staff in collaboration with other institutions.
In addition to the titles available freely online, the Khayrallah Center holds digitized versions of newspapers, which have been restricted to researcher use only.
Microform Periodicals
These are primarily links to catalogs of periodicals and microfilms of them.
A catalog from the University of Chicago documenting microfilmed periodicals in Arabic, Persian, and Ottoman Turkish. Penn affiliates can make ILL requests for any microfilmed newspapers or periodicals in the catalog.
A chronology of periodicals published in Arabic or in Arabic and in another language (like the usual pair of Arabic and Ottoman Turkish) or in Arabic written in a different script (like Judeo-Arabic) during the period from 1800 to 1900. While admittedly incomplete, this resource makes an excellent introduction to this body of sources.
"We chose to present the core data as a table containing information on titles, dates of first and last issue published, place(s) of publication, names of publishers and editors, language(s) of publication, and available collections. In addition, we provide various indexes of publishers and locations, as well as a bibliography of the most important secondary sources and available union catalogs. To search any part of the website, the browser's search function should be invoked (Ctrl-F for Windows, Cmd-F for Mac OSX). Please keep in mind that unicode symbols adhering to the IJMES transliteration must be used."
