Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

A Research Guide to Middle Eastern Studies: Secondary Sources Online

An introduction to resources both at Penn Libraries and freely available elsewhere online.

Description

Besides the gold-standard of JSTOR, secondary material specifically related to the Middle East can be found on these online resources.

Journal Publications

Open Access Publications from the Oriental Institute (The University of Chicago)
Though dominated by titles focusing on the ancient "Orient," the list includes many publications about the medieval and modern Middle East.
Arabic
Shia Online Library 
A wide variety of online Arabic works on Shiism.
Turkish
İLÂHİYAT MAKALELER VERİ TABANI = ARTICLE DATABASE of ILAHIYAT / ISLAMIC STUDIES
Database of articles on Islamic Studies published by Theology Faculties in Turkey and managed by İSAM - İslam Araştırmaları Merkezi.
CEEOL - Central and Eastern European Online Library
Hosts e-books and journals in the fields of Humanities and Social Science publications from and about Central, Eastern and Southeastern Europe, including publications from Turkey. 
ISAM (Turkiye Diyanet Vakfi)
ISAM Library with articles and theses databases.
Türkiye Makaleler Bibliyografyası
THE SITE SEEMS TO BE MOVING AGAIN--GET TO IT FROM THIS LINK. A searchable index to periodical articles in Turkish periodicals, from 1995 to the present.
And, of course...
JSTOR
JSTOR offers the back issues of journals from a range of humanities and social science disciplines, which you can search by individual title or across the entire database. You can access articles as both as images and as text.  Access to journals from JSTOR is restricted to current Penn faculty, staff and students.
Periodicals Index Online
International periodicals in the humanities and social sciences, which include journals in English, French, German, Italian, Spanish and many other Western languages.
EBSCO MegaFile
A multidisciplinary database of academic journals, popular magazines, and newspapers, often with full-text. You can limit your search to "area studies" to narrow to journals and other publications that are more likely to be related to Japan and Asian studies. In addition, searches can be limited by type of publication, to scholarly, peer-reviewed journals only, or to only articles with linked full text. This database offers abstracts to more than 16,000 periodicals bibliographic citations with indexing.
Historical Abstracts
A database of over 2,000 journals published throughout the world including major historical journals from many countries, in addition to hundreds of journals in the social sciences and humanities. All publications featured date from 1974- present. Updated three times a year. It offers historical coverage of the world from 1450 to the present (not including the U.S. and Canada).

Academic Dissertations and Theses

Digital Islam: Theses on Ethos
This searchable database contains 971 PhD theses from British institutions on Islam.
Proquest Dissertations and Theses Fulltext
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses: UK & Ireland
Databases through which you can search for dissertations and theses. In many cases, you can download a PDF of the dissertation. These resources also include citations and some full-text research papers.