Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

A Research Guide to Middle Eastern Studies: Audio Resources

An introduction to resources both at Penn Libraries and freely available elsewhere online.

Audio Collections Online

Iranian Oral History Project (Harvard University)
The collection consists of the personal accounts of 134 individuals who played major roles in or were eyewitnesses to important political events in Iran from the 1920s to the 1980s. Of these, 118 narratives have been digitized and are available to researchers through this database.
The collection provides scholars and practitioners the opportunity to listen to and read the personal accounts of many of Iran's former political leaders as they recall the times and events that shaped their lives and the life of their country.
Golha (Jane LewisohnSOAS & Iran Heritage Foundation)
Project to digitally archive the Golhā radio programs (comprised of literary commentary with the declamation of poetry, also sung with musical accompaniment and interspersed with solo musical pieces) broadcast on Iranian National Radio for 23 years from 1956 through 1979.
Ottoman History Podcast (OHP)
“An alternative form of academic production that explores new and more accessible media and allows for a collaborative approach. Since then we have grown to be one of the largest digital resources for academic discussion concerning the Ottoman Empire and the modern Middle East.”
Turkish Music Portal from the Turkish Cultural Foundation
A multi-faceted database, which includes samples of major forms of Turkish music. with background on the history, periods, and instruments, and types of music traditionally found in Turkey.  It also includes a guide to major composers, composers, and musicologists. There is a selection of articles as well as a music dictionary.