Primary source collection for researching US government policy on healthcare. Combines reference materials, including timelines, with fulltext for all major healthcare-related public laws, Congressional hearings, legislative and executive branch reports, and curated statistical data series.
Primary source collection for researching US government policy on immigration. Combines reference materials, including timelines, with fulltext for all major immigration-related public laws, Congressional hearings, legislative and executive branch reports, and curated statistical data series.
Online. ProQuest.Gathers U.S. government documents on environmental issues, with content from major U.S. newspapers and statistical information. Includes a handy timeline for U.S. environmental policy.
Brings together “public laws and hearings, Legislative branch reports, Executive branch reports and data, and present day and historical news articles” to offer “timelines, contextual topic pages for laws, concepts, and events, and rekeyed statistical content.”
"This is the first module of a new program available on ProQuest Congressional which will offer Federal agency annual reports and other clearly defined Executive Branch series and periodicals, as well as selected monographs with significant research value. Where possible, the content will bridge the gap between historic content in our existing Executive Branch historic collections and recent content going up to the present." -- resource intro
Locating laws, bills, and cases impacting policy -- State, National, International
CQ provides news and comprehensive data around the 3 branches of the federal government and federal legislation. It can be used to track and analyze bills, has a deep archive of policy data and provides comprehensive legislative monitoring. There are sections for the analysis of defense, budget, health, house and senate.
Search the federal legislative history for digital full text publications created by Congress during the process leading up to the enactment of U.S. Public Laws. *Note, Legislative Insight includes only documents related to the passage of a law, so hearings, reports, bills, etc., that are not part of a legislative history are not included in this data base (see Proquest Congressional)
Indexes information produced by or pertaining to the United States Congress from 1789 to the present. Provides full text for many titles, generally from the early 1990's to the present.
a discovery platform with a wealth of analytics providing fast and reliable access to unfiltered original source news, media and information direct from all branches of the U.S. Federal Government. voxgov enables users to easily find who in government is saying what and when on any subject throughout all phases of the political, legislative and regulatory process
Govinfo is a service of the United States Government Publishing Office (GPO), providing free public access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government.
Searchable database of legal periodicals; search U.S. Federal collections such as: Code of Federal Regulations, Congress & the Courts, US Attorney General Reports, Early American Case Law, US Code, etc
Regulatory Insight contains administrative law histories organized by public law, and provides functionality similar to the functionality found in Legislative Insight. Find compilations of Federal Register notices, proposed rules, and rules representing the complete rulemaking process associated with specific Public Laws
The most common way to find information about a case is to review the case’s docket -- a list of all of the filings and rulings in that case, arranged in chronological order.
Complete online collection of full opinions from Supreme Court argued cases, including per decision, dockets, oral arguments, joint appendices and amicus briefs
State Net is an online service providing access to state government information. It includes legislative information (status of bills, full text of bills, legislative calendars), state statutes, full text of state regulations, information about state legislators and their staffs, and news sources for information on state issues for all 50 states.
To locate ordinances: click on the link for the Philadelphia Code and then, at the Code website, click on "View Code". When you get to the Philadelphia Code website (its left sidebar has the Code's list of titles), do a Quick Search for the bill number
To search legislative history: click on "Search". Enter a bill number and set the date to "All Years". When the search result appears, click on the Bill Number link to see the legislative history, including hearing dates and committees.
For Hearings: Go to transcript room search by committee and hearing date
Also see, Index to Current Urban Documents
https://franklin.library.upenn.edu/catalog/FRANKLIN_9927702993503681
Keyword: five-year financial plan
Municipality: Philadelphia
Search legal periodicals and a number of state-related legal collections such as: National Survey of State Laws; State Attorney General Reports, State Statutes, State Reports, etc
Pennsylvania Senate Library has copies of committee hearings
To access Pennsylvania House of Representatives history, see its Archives
An international agency setup to maintain international peace & security, protect human rights, deliver humanitarian aid, and promote sustainable development
Public Affairs Information Service (PAIS) indexes research worldwide related to social issues. Materials indexed include journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, publications of international agencies, microfiche, and Internet material
the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) offers research about international policy.
Fulltext publications and statistical information from the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) covering agriculture and food, education and skills, emerging economies and transition economies, employment, energy, enterprise, industry, and trade, environment and sustainable development, finance and investment, general economics and future studies, governance, international development, nuclear energy, science and information technology, social issues and migration, statistics sources and methods, taxation, territorial economy, and transport. NOTE: Some of the statistical data tools in SourceOECD require Internet Explorer.
Congressional Research Service Reports
The Congressional Research Service provides in-depth reports for the US Congress providing nonpartisan policy and legal analysis to assist with decision-making in the legislative process. Unfortunately these reports are not housed in one central space
As of 2018, these reports are available through a search on this government website. The creation of this site ended legal requirements that prohibited CRS from making its reports publicly available. *Note, this search does not include many reports previous to 2018.
Detailed expenditures for both medical assistance and for administration can be found on this page. Current and historical reports are available as zipped Excel files.
Scroll to the bottom of the page in each subpage of this website (see left navigation bar on the site) to the Downloads section to retrieve zip files for:
1) Health expenditures by state of residence: summary tables ;
2) Health expenditures by state of provider: summary tables ;
3) NHE Tables ;
4) Age and Gender Tables ;
5) NHE Projections 2019-2028 - Tables
and more.
Leadership Connect is a set of eight online directories: Congress, Federal government, State & local government, News media, Law & lobbying firms, Companies, Nonprofits & associations, and Courts. Together they provide current contact information for a very wide network of individuals engaged in government-related activity. These online directories continue the ceased print “Yellow Books” series that were go-to reference sources for locating people in power.
