Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Citing Business Sources: Citation Management

A guide to citing a variety of business sources.

Getting Started

  • Select Access New RefWorks, then select Create Account.
  • First-time users are required to create an individual account using their university email address.

Additional Resources

Refworks

  • RefWorks is a web-based citation manager that enables you to:
    • Create a personal database of references imported from text files, online databases, and more
    • Collaborate with other users in building and editing a list of references for group projects
    • Organize and automatically format bibliographies once you've finished collecting references

Using RefWorks

Import Citations from Databases

 

Once you identify a citation in a database, look for the Export button in the item record. (Note: this may appear differently depending on the database provider. In general, look for action words like "export," "save," etc., to see options for importing a citation into RefWorks.)

 

Then, select the Direct Export to RefWorks option and click Save. You will be redirected to a page asking whether you'd like to continue with the new RefWorks (recommended), then the citation will be automatically imported into your RefWorks library.


RefWorks Browser Extension

undefined


Access Save to RefWorks via the Tools option from the navigation bar in your RefWorks account. This feature allows you to add references and full-text to your RefWorks library from any database or website.

 

undefined

 

You can use this feature to save an entire page of search results, individual results, or a particular webpage.


RefWorks for Google Docs

The RefWorks add-on for Google Docs makes citing while you write very easy. This tool enables you to both automatically generate and insert in-text citations and a references page or bibliography as you work. To install it, go to Google Docs, open a new document and navigate to Add-ons > Get add-ons. Search for ProQuest RefWorks and click Install.

 

undefined

Once you are ready to create a citation, go to Add-ons > ProQuest RefWorks > Manage citations to open your RefWorks library in a sidebar. Then, hover over the citation you need and select Cite this. An in-text citation will appear along with a references page/bibliography and a citation in the appropriate format. Subsequent citations will be automatically added to your references page as you go.