United States in the 1970s: Home

Unparalleled assemblage of newsletters, newspapers, and periodicals by, for, and about gays and lesbians. Includes materials from the Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, Transgender Historical Society and the Lesbian Herstory Archives include mainstream and alternative publications from 1970 to 2008.

Open access collection of the alternative press of the 1960s, 1970s and 1980s with over 1000 titles from the special collections of over a dozen libraries.

A semimonthly magazine founded by author William F. Buckley, Jr., in 1955 and based in New York City. It describes itself as "America's most widely read and influential magazine and web site for conservative news, commentary, and opinion."

Important periodical with a focus on Jewish issues. It is also notable for the neoconservative political stance it came to take.

America's foremost weekly magazine in the early 20th century, with a circulation of over 2 million by the 1920s. In the 1960s the Post began to loose money and circulation and never recovered. It was notable for being a general interest publication intended for a mass audience with generally moderate conservative leanings.

Founded by Irving Kistol, provides a forum for generally conservative thinkers on national policy, focusing but not limited to foreign affairs.

Neoconservative publication focusing on domestic issues.

Weekly magazine of politics and culture offering a consistently liberal, left wing perspective.

Weekly publication offering commentary from a perspective that has veered between radically left wing and moderate over its history.

A monthly general-interest magazine that typically has presented a primarily liberal perspective since the 1920s. It was founded in the mid-19th century and was soon noted for its literary publications, political coverage and early use of illustrations. During the mid-20th century it lost importance before regaining its prominence in the 1980s.

Mostly mid- to late 20th century publications of the GI, feminist and LGBT communities.

Main publication of the Black Panther Party.

Collection of documents from groups like the NAACP, SNCC, SCLC, SDS, African American Police League, and Planned Parenthood.

Black Thought and Culture contains 1,303 sources with 1,210 authors, covering the non-fiction published works of leading African Americans. Particular care has been taken to index this material so that it can be searched more thoroughly than ever before. Where possible the complete published non-fiction works are included, as well as interviews, journal articles, speeches, essays, pamplets, letters and other fugitive material. Includes the entire run of The Black Panther.

Focusing predominantly on Atlanta, Chicago, St Louis, Brooklyn, and towns and cities in North Carolina this collection presents multiple aspects of the African American community through personal diaries and scrapbooks, pamphlets, newspapers and periodicals, correspondence, official records and in-depth oral histories, revealing the prevalent challenges of racism, discrimination and integration, and a unique African American culture and identity.

Historical records of political and social organizations founded by LGBTQ individuals are featured, as well as publications by and for lesbians and gays, and extensive coverage of governmental responses to the AIDS crisis. The archive also contains personal correspondence and interviews with numerous LGBTQ individuals, among others. The archive includes gay and lesbian newspapers from more than 35 countries, reports, policy statements, and other documents related to gay rights and health, including the worldwide impact of AIDS, materials tracing LGBTQ activism in Britain from 1950 through 1980, and more. In addition, the archive encompasses extensive material related to feminism, women's rights, and women's concerns. Documents span from 1940 to 2014, with the bulk from 1950 to 1990.

Massive collection of government documents, including statements in Congress, Congressional Hearings, research reports, public laws, and more.

1789 to present. The document section includes: Messages and Papers of the Presidents, Public Papers of the Presidents, Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents, Annual Messages to Congress on the State of the Union, Inaugural Addresses, News Conferences, Radio Addresses, News Conferences, Signing Statements, Presidential Nomination Acceptance Speeches, and more.

from ProQUest. Covers 1933-2016, is a complete online collection of full opinions from Supreme Court argued cases, including per decision, dockets, oral arguments, joint appendices and amicus briefs.

Lower court cases.

Massive database of legal resources divided by genre and subject so that different perspectives on the law can be discerned.

Legislative histories from 1970-present and approximately 9,000 new histories from 1929-1969. Includes links to pdfs for all available documents.

Searches executive branch record sets, including FBI files (eg., COINTELPRO), governmental civil rights projects and records, records of the EPA, NASA, etc.

Streaming video from NBC and CNN extending back to 1968.

featuring award-winning documentaries, newsreels, interviews and archival footage surveying the evolution of black culture in the United States. In partnership with California Newsreel, the database provides unique access to their African American Classics collection, and includes films covering history, politics, art and culture, family structure, social and economic pressures, and gender relations

Collection of documentaries, news and other videos addressing an enormous range of issues. Includes:

• 60 minutes (1997-2014)
  
• Tony Brown's Journal (1970s-2013)
  
• Newsreels (Universal, March of Time, etc.)
  
• Meet the Press (1947-2014)
  
• Say, Brother (1960s-1980s)
  
• Chronoscope (1950s)