Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Selected journals on disability
Disability Studies Quarterly
"The first journal in the field of disability studies", published by the Ohio State University Libraries in partnership with the Society for Disability Studies.
Disability & Society
1986-present. Taylor & Francis.
Formerly known as Disability, Handicap & Society,
Review of Disability Studies
2004-present. Center on Disability Studies, University of Hawaii. Open access, requiring personal registration.
RDS frequently publishes topical forums and "global perspective" collections. Issues include a "Dissertation Abstracts" section, listing recently-published dissertations on disability.
Canadian Journal of Disbility Studies
2012-present. Published by University of Waterloo for Canadian Disability Studies Association - Association Canadienne des Études sur l'Incapacité. Open access.
International Journal of Disability, Development, and Education
1989-present. Online access, 1996-present (with 18-month embargo), via Education Source.
Journal of Literary & Cultural Disability Studies
2007-present. Earlier issues as Journal of Literary Disability. Online access, 2009-present, Project Muse.
Focuses on the representation of disability.
Journal of Intellectual Disability Research
1957-present, early issues under Journal of Mental Deficiency Research. Published by Wiley for mencap (UK).
Intellectual and Developmental Disabilities
1963-present. Online: 1997-present, with early issues as Mental Retardation. American Association on Intellectual and Developmental Disabilities.
Disability Compliance for Higher Education
1995-present. Online, 2008-present.
Newsletter focusing on current legal developments and innovative campus administration practices.
Medical and public health article indexes and databases
REHABDATA. National Rehabilitation Information Center
1956-present, via NRIC website.
Describes the literature on disability and rehabilitation, including physical, mental, and psychiatric disabilities, independent living, vocational rehabilitation, special education, assistive technology, law, employment, and other issues as they relate to people with disabilities. Covers journal articles in rehabilitation-related periodicals, gray literature funded by the National Institute on Disability, Independent Living & Rehabilitation Research, selected international research, and books. Provides some fulltext.
1981-present, via EBSCOhost.
Indexes journal articles in nursing and allied health professions.
British Nursing Index
1994-present, via ProQuest.
A useful complement to CINAHL, perhaps easier to use.
Legal Research Article Indexes and Databases
Index to Legal Periodicals Current and Retrospective
1908-present, via EBSCOhost.
Use ILP to identify law review articles, rather than plunging into the fulltext law reviews in HeinOnline.
Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals
Searchable 1984-present; fulltext "print edition" 1960-present, via HeinOnline.
Covers journal and law review articles generally out of scope for Index to Legal Periodicals.
Law reviews and much more: the essential law and government fulltext database.
Social & behavioral sciences article indexes and databases
SocAbs - Sociological Abstracts
1952 to the present, via ProQuest.
The comprehensive bibliographic database for research in sociology and related disciplines worldwide. SocAbs recently absorbed Social Services Abstracts, expanding its coverage to social work and social policy.
Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective
1907-1984, via ProQuest.
Indexing the major scholarly journals in many disciplines, this was the standard US-oriented finding tool for the sociological journal literature before SocAbs
1915-present, via ProQuest.
Bibliographic database covering contemporary public affairs and policy issues worldwide. "Contemporary" is taken seriously by PAIS Index, so the database is particularly useful for comparing policy issues over time. Covers articles, books, government documents, and some gray literature.
PsycINFO. American Psychological Assocation
1806-present, via ProQuest.
The comprehensive bibliographic database for psychological research publications.
HINT! Use the PsycINFO Thesaurus to identify relevant search terms, and use the age-level filters to focus on specific age groups.
ERIC. US Department of Education
1966-present, via ProQuest.
The comprehensive database for the research and professional literature of education. Particularly useful for its gray literature coverage.
HINT! Use ERIC's thesaurus and its grade-level filters.
(1880)-present, via EBSCOhost.
Complements ERIC, also includes trade and professional journals, magazines, and newsletters for educators.
1978-present, with selective coverage from 1966, via EBSCOhost.
Covers the broad literature on aging and the population aged 50+ years.
Abstracts in Social Gerontology
1966-present, via EBSCOhost.
A complement to AgeLine.
Family & Society Studies Worldwide
1970-present, via EBSCOhost.
Several bibliographic databases with one search interface. Its specialization provides better coverage for family research publications than more broad databases.
History article indexes and databases
HST - History of Science, Technology & Medicine
Combines four important bibliographies on the history of science, with special emphasis on the history of medicine:
· ISIS current bibliography of the history of science.
· Wellcome Library for the history and understanding of medicine.
· Current bibliography in the history of technology.
· Bibliografia italiana di storia della scienza.