Disability Studies: Data & Government Documents

2009-present.
A basic statistical reference work covering the US nationwide and individual US states. Produced by the Institute on Disability/UCED, University of New Hampshire for US Department of Health and Human Services, Administration for Community Living, NIDILRR – Rehabilitation Research and Training Centers (RRTCs).

Online. Cambridge University Press, 2006.
Historic time series for nationwide US statistics on incidence of disease, nutrition and health-related behaviors, and physical well-being. The section essay will identify the principal historic data sources and data publications.

Describes the Census Bureau's data sources for basic demographics of disabled persons: American Community Survey (ACS), Current Population Survey (CPS), Survey of Income and Program Participation (SIPP), and the historic Decennial Census.

State-level data on adults with disabilities and on health topics for the adult population including people without disabilities. Reports mainly from BRFSS - Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System.

Surveys 400,000+ adults nationwide on health-related risk behaviors, chronic health conditions, and use of preventive services. Includes data on US metropolitan areas through Selected Metropolitan/Micropolitan Area Risk Trends of BRFSS (SMART BRFSS).

The principal source of information on the health of the civilian noninstitutionalized population of the United State, surveying ~87,000 persons in ~35,000 households annually since 1957 by the National Center for Health Statistics. See "NHIS - Adult Physical Activity Information".

A special questionnaire of the NHIS used in 1994 and 1995 to develop data that would inform policy surrounding the Americans with Disabilities Act.

IPUMS provides a friendly crosstabulation tool for data exploration and data extraction tools for harmonized data from US national surveys on self-reported health and health care access information, the National Health Interview Survey (NHIS, 1963-present) and the Medical Expenditure Panel Survey (MEPS, 1996-present). The IPUMS interface provides variables harmonized across many years of data, online data analysis for basic exploration, and case and variable dataset extracts.

Topical dataset archive hosted by ICPSR to provide datasets on disability and rehabilitation.

1968-present. Collects educationally relevant information on deaf and hard of hearing students in programs across the United States. Gallaudet website provides annual national, regional, and state reports, 1999/2000-2009/2010.
• Annual Survey of Deaf and Hard-of-Hearing Children and Youth, 1975-1994.
Concatenated multi-year microdata dataset.

Data from the Philadelphia-region Southeastern Pennsylvania Household Health Survey, the longest-running and largest-sample local public health survey in the US.

Louis Harris Data Center Dataverse, University of North Carolina Odum Institute.
The 1985 survey was the first major US national survey to study disabled people's attitudes and experiences. Subsequent surveys examined employment and voting.

Five US nationwide polls, conducted in 2013, 2014, 2016,2017, and 2018. The Roper Center for Public Opinion Research provides topline reports for individual survey questions and microdata datasets.

United Nations Department of Economic and Social Affairs, 2019.

United Nations Office of the High Commissioner for Human Rights, 2014.

Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development, 2010.
Includes links to reports on individual OECD-member countries.

Facts and summaries, guidelines, and data, contributed by National Center on Birth Defects and Developmental Disabilities (NCBDDD).

"Information and technical assistance on the Americans with Disabilities Act" and Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973.

"OSERS supports programs that help educate children and youth with disabilities and provides for the rehabilitation of youth and adults with disabilities."

NCSER "supports a comprehensive program of education research designed to expand knowledge and understanding of infants, toddlers, and children with disabilities and those at risk for disabilities."

Fulltext compilations of US congressional documents and other materials relevant to the passage of specific federal laws.

Schematic legislative histories that provide fulltext for US congressional documents through our ProQuest collections.
• ProQuest Regulatory Insight extends legislative histories into US federal regulatory histories.

13 titles in 16 vols. (Carnegie Institution of Washington Publication, no. 85). 1907-1922.
Identifies state government documents on "economy" in its broadest sense. Covers California, Delaware, Illinois, Kentucky, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, Ohio, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, and Vermont, from statehood to 1904. For disability, see the subject heading Maintenance, with subdivisions, e.g., Defectives, Dependents, Laws, Individual Institutions.

Library of Congress, 1910-1994.
This can be hard to use, but it's authoritative. Look for the annual indexes, to locate entries in the monthly issues for that year.

N.J. State Dept. of Education, Division of State Library, Archives and History, 1947.
An example of a state-produced bibliography. Similar works for other states may be found using the Franklin Catalog "Subject Heading Browse" search pattern: [state] government publications bibliography