Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Bibliographies and Guides to the Literature
Bibliographies are lists of works organized around a topic, while guides to the literature are systematic introductions to the literature of a field.
Literature reviews are a handy way to get quickly into the scholarly literature. A typical literature-review article will provide a narrative that identifies and describes dozens of journal articles and books.
Encyclopedias and Dictionaries
Use dictionaries and encyclopedias to learn quickly about the state of research on your topic. A good encyclopedia article should describe major themes, current research fronts, and controversial areas; it should also provide a brief bibliography of classic, important, or definitive works on your topic.
The SAGE reference series on disability: Key issues and future directions
Online. 8 vols. SAGE, 2011-2013.
Important handbook collection that covers social, policy, and behavioral aspects of disability. The volumes cover: Arts and humanities, Assistive technology and science, Disability through the life course, Education, Employment and work, Ethics law and policy, Health and medicine, and Rehabilitaiton interventions.
Encyclopedia of disability.
Online. 5 vols. SAGE, 2006.
Encyclopedia of social work / National Association of Social Workers (OUP, 2013 with monthly updates)
Online. An excellent survey of contemporary social service and policy, welfare, and support. Articles include policy information, bibliographies, and glossaries of jargon. Combining the current online version with ts many and frequent print updates since its 1929 origin in the Social Work Year Book
provide snapshots of contemporary U.S. and international social policy and related topics.
Blackwell encyclopedia of sociology (Wiley, 2007 with annual updates)
The best multivolume reference work on sociology. Essays on classic theories, themes, concepts, and major contributors in sociology and related fields. The handy "Explore" menu makes browsing easy.
Oxford encyclopedia of American social history
Oxford University Press, 2012. A collection of more than 450 brief articles on chronological periods, everyday life, movements and social reform, social order, migration, work and leisure, gender and family, and more. Rather than browse or search, start with the "Topical Outline of Entries"
. This work does not quite supersede the classic Encyclopedia of American social history
Wiley encyclopedia of social theory
Wiley-Blackwell, 2018. More than 810 entries on major theories, theorists, schools of thought, disciplines, debates, doctrines, and methodologies. Updates Encyclopedia of social theory
/ George Ritzer, ed. (SAGE, 2005).
Online via American Psychiatric Association Publishing.
Searchable fulltext tor Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, Fifth Edition (DSM-5), earlier DSM editions, and related reference and training works.
Handbooks generally offer chapters on specific aspects of a topic. As a collection of essays, the handbook's chapters should provide a broad overview of the state of research; individually, chapters may be narrowly focused.