Cultivating Entrepreneurial Changemakers Through Digital Media Education by
The role of the journalist has been significantly altered and is far beyond that of being just a "reporter" of news in modern times. Social entrepreneurship is rooted in a venture that seeks to create revenue while being anchored in providing social value to the communities the enterprise serves. Combining these creates the concept of a social newspreneur, which takes elements of the old business model and creates new opportunities. In this way, media can be reformed by everyday people who have a vision for restoring trust and facilitating alternative activities to inspire civic engagement in new and unique ways. As such, journalism program administrators have realized that the time has come to alter and provide innovative educational opportunities that prepare students for careers outside of traditional employment. Entrepreneurship education across the disciplines is quickly becoming the status quo on today's college campuses. However, in making these curricular changes, faculty must engage in significant assessment of these new approaches to ensure that students are obtaining a return on their investment in the college education and degree that they seek. Cultivating Entrepreneurial Changemakers Through Digital Media Education is a crucial reference book that cultivates timely and relevant practices in the development of improved teaching methods, assessments, information delivery, and technological tools that are used to facilitate and support the social entrepreneurship and digital journalism education space. It explores the role of media innovation and how the landscape is ripe for the influx of social entrepreneurs, or the rise of the "social newspreneur." The chapters cover areas such as methods used in journalism programs, social entrepreneurship in course design, educational technologies, student learning outcomes, and how these programs foster civic engagement. This book is a valuable reference tool for university faculty, university administrators, news organization leaders, journalists, reporters, broadcasting agencies, professors, practitioners, stakeholders, researchers, academicians, and students.
Encyclopedia of Educational Innovation by 
Encyclopedia of New Venture Management by
New venture management requires all the skills obtained within the typical MBA programme, and more. New ventures are often launched into highly dynamic environments characterized by rapid technological change, inherent unpredictability and an uncertain cash flow. Such ventures often require rapid growth to succeed. While new ventures offer those who initiate them a high degree of independence, excitement, and potential for great reward, they also bring high risk, stress and greater potential for failure. Thus, it takes a special set of skills, techniques, and temperament to succeed. These skills, along with the potential risks and rewards and environmental settings and characteristics, are explored in the Encyclopedia of New Venture Management.
Handbook of Research on Enhancing Innovation in Higher Education Institutions by 
Handbook of Research on Innovative Digital Practices to Engage Learners by 
The SAGE Encyclopedia of Educational Technology by
Leveraging the power of technology to support teaching and learning is certainly not new. But with more low-cost, easy-to-use, easily accessible devices and systems than ever before, we are at a critical inflection point where we must decide how technology powers and aids learning in the classroom. But is new technology the cure-all all? Some studies have shown students retain information better in traditional print formats. There's no question about the potential for new technologies to improve learning, but it's all in how it's approached, adapted, and used toward the service of achieving real gains in student performance. It's issues like this that are explored within the pages of this new Encyclopedia. To maximize shelf life, the editor and authors strove to focus on core topics and issues that will retain relevance in the face of perpetually evolving devices, services and specific techniques.Features include: A collection of 300-350 entries that are organized in A-to-Z fashion in two volumes available in a choice of print or electronic formats. Entries, authored by key figures in the field, conclude with cross references and further readings. Although organized A-to-Z, a Reader's Guide groups related articles within broad, thematic areas. A detailed Index, the Reader's Guide themes, and Cross References combine for search-and-browse in the electronic version.
Shaping Future Schools with Digital Technology by 
American revolution 2.0 : How education innovation is going to revitalize America and transform the economy by 
Business Model Generation by
Business Model Generation is a handbook for visionaries, game changers, and challengers striving to defy outmoded business models and design tomorrow's enterprises. If your organization needs to adapt to harsh new realities, but you don't yet have a strategy that will get you out in front of your competitors, you need Business Model Generation. Co-created by 470 "Business Model Canvas" practitioners from 45 countries, the book features a beautiful, highly visual, 4-color design that takes powerful strategic ideas and tools, and makes them easy to implement in your organization. It explains the most common Business Model patterns, based on concepts from leading business thinkers, and helps you reinterpret them for your own context. You will learn how to systematically understand, design, and implement a game-changing business model--or analyze and renovate an old one. Along the way, you'll understand at a much deeper level your customers, distribution channels, partners, revenue streams, costs, and your core value proposition. Business Model Generation features practical innovation techniques used today by leading consultants and companies worldwide, including 3M, Ericsson, Capgemini, Deloitte, and others. Designed for doers, it is for those ready to abandon outmoded thinking and embrace new models of value creation: for executives, consultants, entrepreneurs, and leaders of all organizations. If you're ready to change the rules, you belong to "the business model generation!"
Cases on Global Innovative Practices for Reforming Education by
The contemporary education system is disrupted by the plethora of emerging technologies, the aftermath of the COVID-19 pandemic, global financial woes, and the ever-present shifting of higher education structuration and needs. There is a necessity for a marker to capture this transition in order to teach future generations how to recover educational losses in crisis situations. Cases on Global Innovative Practices for Reforming Education broadens the perspective of global educators on innovative methodologies for ensuring the resilience of teaching and learning in the 21st century. Discussing teaching and learning cases from Africa, the Americas, Asia, Australia, and Europe, this research creates scholarship and documentation of various innovative practices in education, covering crisis contexts, green education, and education technologies. This book provides a valuable resource for educators, school administrators, K-university, educational researchers, educational software developers, textbook publishers, pre-service teachers, professors, academicians, organizations interested in funding educational initiatives, and national education policymakers.
Cases on Technologies in Education from Classroom 2. 0 to Society 5. 0 by
As the use of technology spreads throughout communities, it is a natural progression that those resources will be given to classrooms. In order to provide the best education possible, all resources must be used. Learning, however, is not only done within the classroom; community learning (such as Society 4.0 and Society 5.0) involves remote learning and learning in the community. Cases on Technologies in Education From Classroom 2.0 to Society 5.0 presents case studies on the best practices from practitioners using future technologies for education beyond the classroom. The content within the book specifically includes Classroom 2.0 (networking of education institutions and learners), School 3.0 (situated learning in community venues beyond the classroom), Society 4.0 (sharing education practice and delivering learning remotely), and Society 5.0 (ubiquitous education in smart cities, towns, and villages). Covering topics such as cross-community education, ed-tech, and innovation paths, this book is an in-depth reference for administrators, schools, colleges, and universities looking to embed technology into the way they deliver education, as well as educational software developers, IT consultants, researchers, students, academicians, and teachers looking to enhance the way they educate their learners through technology.
Creativity and Entrepreneurship by
While creativity and entrepreneurship may appear to be unlikely allies, they are increasingly intersecting to produce economic and social value in new and exciting ways. This groundbreaking volume examines how creativity and entrepreneurship can be used i
Educational Entrepreneurship Today by
In Educational Entrepreneurship Today, Frederick M. Hess and Michael Q. McShane assemble a diverse lineup of high-profile contributors to examine the contexts in which new initiatives in education are taking shape. They inquire into the impact of entrepreneurship on the larger field--including the development and deployment of new technologies--and analyze the incentives, barriers, opportunities, and tensions that support or constrain innovation. Over the past decade, entrepreneurship has moved from the periphery to the center of education reform. Policy measures, philanthropic support, and venture capital increasingly promote initiatives that drive innovation within and outside the traditional education sector. These initiatives have included spectacular successes, like Khan Academy, Teach For America, and Wireless Generation, as well as highly visible failures, like the InBloom data warehouse. Educational Entrepreneurship Today offers critical perspectives on the impact of entrepreneurship and also includes lessons from leading entrepreneurs, in which they use case studies drawn from their own experience to illustrate the realities of leading disruptive change in education and pose guiding questions for the next generation of innovators. In a time of increasing polarization around education policy, this timely, frank, and insightful volume shows how we can begin to create systems in which entrepreneurial ideas and fresh thinking are welcomed, constructively employed, and held accountable for the public good.
Engines of Innovation by
In Engines of Innovation, Holden Thorp and Buck Goldstein make the case for the pivotal role of research universities as agents of societal change. They argue that universities must use their vast intellectual and financial resources to confront global challenges such as climate change, extreme poverty, childhood diseases, and an impending worldwide shortage of clean water. They provide not only an urgent call to action but also a practical guide for our nation's leading institutions to make the most of the opportunities available to be major players in solving the world's biggest problems. A preface and a new chapter by the authors address recent developments, including innovative licensing strategies, developments in online education, and the value of arts and sciences in an entrepreneurial society.
Entrepreneurship Education by
The discussion around whether entrepreneurship can be taught is becoming obsolete as the number of entrepreneurship courses, specializations and degrees is rising at an unprecedented rate all over the world and the demand for entrepreneurial education teachers or instructors is constantly growing. The global community of entrepreneurial education proponents is enthusiastic about the possibility of spreading the idea of entrepreneurship, as it is believed to benefit societies and economies in addition to influencing human development on an individual level. The fervour is nurtured by public policies and the development of an enterprising culture in the public discourse. In this discourse, entrepreneurship is treated as a panacea for numerous social and economic problems. This book is a solid reference point for all who are interested in conducting research on entrepreneurial education or engaged in teaching entrepreneurship. It is a compendium of knowledge about entrepreneurial education as a research field, seen from the perspective of the last four decades, its complete contemporary history. It reviews the progress of the field from the outset to the present in terms of its socio-economic context, changes in the academic community, but also its research focus and methodological development. This uniquely comprehensive book is a resource of both knowledge on entrepreneurial education research and inspiration for future studies within the field. This timely and relevant book provides practical insights for educators when developing their teaching practice and will be of interest to entrepreneurship educators and entrepreneurship education researchers.
Innovation and Entrepreneurship in Education by
This book explores the concepts of innovation and entrepreneurship through multiple lenses in the context of education. Mixing equal parts of theory and practice, this volume takes a closer look on how innovation and entrepreneurship are approached around the globe as disciplines, methods, and mindsets. Focusing on ubiquitous learning and transcending the borders of formal, informal, and non-formal learning, the book presents theoretical models and case studies of initiatives, practices, and projects on how innovative pedagogies and ICT could support the development of innovation and entrepreneurial skills for business and everyday life. Featured examples illustrate how emerging learning theories and technology could become powerful agents in nurturing creativity, self-efficacy, problem-solving, social connectedness, and inclusion. The book provides a glimpse at the state-of-the-art in innovation and entrepreneurship in education as seen through the latest academic studies and business currents.
Innovative School Leadership by
Written by school leaders, for school leaders, this book shares the work of ten practising, innovative school leaders. It offers insight into practical school developments that have been researched, trialled and reviewed to demonstrate their success at creating positive change. With each chapter written by experienced school leaders working in a range of contexts, the accounts of the developments they carried out and the research evidence they collected to measure impact are presented accessibly and succinctly. These developments include: 'Poverty Proofing' by breaking down barriers to disadvantage Creating a new holistic approach to appraisal and quality assurance Designing and delivering a new cohesive whole school curriculum Surviving headteacher stress Innovative School Leadership: Transforming Practices is an indispensable resource for all current and aspiring leaders wanting to provide the best learning environment for their whole school community.
Reimagining Education Reform and Innovation by
Reimagining Education Reform and Innovation provides scholars and laymen with an assortment of theoretical and practical perspectives for questioning contemporary practices and forging new methods of education reform and innovation. This volume is the leading collection of contemporary essays by the major thinkers in the field of education reform and innovation. Carefully attentive to both theory and practice, this is the definitive source for learning about education reform and innovation, while also enhancing the existing literature. This book attempts to move the field to the next phase of its evolution and provides the U.S. K-12 system with the tools that it will need to return to its former preeminence. Reimagining Education Reform and Innovation generates a corpus of new and original scholarship that significantly examines the field of education reform and innovation broadly conceived. Each chapter examines one or more of the critical topics that are missing from or underrepresented in the extant literature. The various chapters of this book integrate into their analyses the conceptual, political, pedagogical, and practical histories, tensions, and resources that have established education reform and innovation as one of the most vital and growing movements within the field of education. A central tenet of this project is that we need to make visible the multiple perspectives and theoretical frames that currently drive work in the field.
