Guides: Italian Americans on Screen: Overview

Film Index International

Film Index International
Reference work for film, with bios for directors, producers, actors. Put together with the British Film Institute (BFI). Includes bibliographies that, unlike freely available resources such as IMDb, include scholarly and academic work in Cinema Studies.

Film poster database

CineMaterial
Database of 13K+ film posters, English and international, from the history of film.

Films for this course

Black Hand
Publication Date: 1906
The Italian
Publication Date: 1915
The Sheik
Publication Date: 1921
Saturday Night Fever
Call Number: DVD 010 059
Publication Date: 1977
The Godfather
Call Number: DVD 017 888. Also: DVD 017 559, DVD 015 864, DVD 019 774
Goodfellas
Call Number: DVD 024 538
Married to the Mob
Call Number: DVD 005 081
True Love
Call Number: DVD 027 643
Publication Date: 1989
Do the Right Thing
Publication Date: 1989
Streaming via Swank Digital Campus
Big Night
Publication Date: 1996
Streaming via Swank Digital Campus
Django Unchained
Call Number: DVD 025 479; DVD 021 864
Publication Date: 2012

Cinema Studies databases for academic articles

Film & Television Literature Index
Covers film and television literature in all areas of film and television research: scholarly journals and industry publications, with selective coverage of other publications. Subjects covered include film and television theory, preservation and restoration, screenwriting, production, cinematography, technical aspects of film and television, entertainment law, and film and television reviews. Index only.
Includes the sources: Animation (2005-); Cahiers du Cinéma (1987-); Film Comment (1984-); Screen (1971-); Sight & Sound (1987-)
FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals
FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals is published by the International Federation of Film Archives (FIAF) and contains several databases: the International Index to Film Periodicals, the International Index to Television Periodicals, the List of Periodicals Indexed, the Treasures from the Film Archives, the FIAF Affiliates Publications and the Film and TV Documentation Collections.
JSTOR
Large digital archive with access to important journals from across the humanities and social sciences, including Cinema Studies. Note: Go to Advanced Search and select Film Studies to focus search on film literature.
Google Scholar
Access to Google Scholar with Penn-only links to full-text articles. Once authenticated through Penn's proxy, full-text articles to which Penn Libraries subscribe will become available within the Google Scholar search results.
Communication Source
MLA International Bibliography
Covers literature, languages, folklore, and linguistics. Includes English and foreign languages.

American History databases for academic articles

America: History and Life
A bibliographic database indexing books, book chapters, and over 1,800 journals relating to the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.
Project Muse
Project Muse provides full text access to articles from over 300 scholarly journals in the humanities, arts, social sciences and sciences. Coverage begins in 1995 or more recently and in most cases continues to the present. Issues are available both as images and as text; searching is possible both within each title and across the whole database.

Entertainment Industry Magazines

Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive
An archival research resource containing the essential primary sources for studying the history of the film and entertainment industries, from the era of vaudeville and silent movies through to 2000. The core US and UK trade magazines covering film, music, broadcasting and theater are all included, together with film fan magazines and music press titles. Magazines have been scanned cover-to-cover in high-resolution color, with granular indexing of all articles, covers, ads and reviews.

Media History Digital Library
Archive of classic media publications covering the histories of film, broadcasting and sound. Features both film industry papers and fan magazines.

Hollywood Reporter
May 1991-present
Variety
1997-present

Background Information

Oxford Bibliographies Online
Under Browse by Subject, select Cinema & Media Studies. There are overviews here on such topics as Censorship, Film Theory Before 1945, and Women in Film.

Schirmer Encyclopedia of Film
Encyclopedia covers topics like production, national cinemas, studios, genres, theory and film history. A-Z index, short bios, and further recommended sources.

Oxford Dictionary of Film Studies
Defines terms and concepts in film theory and criticism, film movements and genres, film industry organizations, practices and technical terms.

Library services

Quick links: Borrowing Books | Interlibrary Loan | Suggest a Purchase

Subject Guide

Charles Cobine

he/him

Contact:

Van Pelt Library 205

215-746-5830

Subjects: Cinema & Media Studies, German Studies

Where can I stream it now?

Useful apps for Cinema & Media Studies

IMDb, the Internet Movie Database, for filmographies, casts, credits, showtimes, reviews, and watchlists for film and TV.
Letterboxd, a social network for film people with watchlists and reviews.
JustWatch or ReelGood, streaming search and watchlists.

Not available to stream? It happens.
Search for the DVD

Search Franklin for films and TV, streaming or as a DVD. The physical DVD copy is sometimes the only option for access.

DVDs can offer bonus essays, booklets, interviews, and extra content.

WorldCat

WorldCat
WorldCat is the world's largest bibliographic database and a meta-search engine of catalogs from thousands of online member libraries of OCLC, the Online Computer Library Center, a non-profit cooperative library data that underpins library searches worldwide.