The following are core resources of interest to Historic Preservation topics. Be sure to check a complete list here.
AATA Online: Abstracts of International Conservation Literature: (Also known as Art & Archaeology Technology Abstracts, Technical Studies in Art & Archaeology): Abstracts of literature related to the preservation and conservation of material cultural heritage.
Art & Architecture Archive: Access to content (page images) of selected architecture, art and design journals from their beginnings to 2005.
Arts and Architecture Magazine, 1945-1960: Selected projects from the magazine Arts & Architecture from January 1945 through December 1960, including all Case Study Houses.
Art & Architecture Source: A leading database for the study of art and architecture; provides full-text coverage of 380 periodicals and more than 220 books.
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals: Covers architecture, archeology, historic preservation, furniture and interior design, landscape architecture, and urban planning.
Compendex: A bibliographic database of scientific and technical engineering research.
Conservation Information Network (BCIN): Technical abstracts and reports, conference proceedings, journal articles, books, audiovisual and unpublished materials.
Design & Applied Arts Index: Abstracts and bibliographic records for articles, news items, and reviews published in design and applied arts periodicals from 1973 onward.
GreenFILE: Topics covered include global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
Historical U.S. Newspapers Online: Listing of historical digitized U.S. newspapers available online for free.
Knovel: Great for materials research, find reference materials in the fields of engineering and applied sciences.
Project Dyabola: Citations about classical, early Christian, Byzantine, early Medieval, and ancient Middle Eastern antiquities, art, and archaeology. To access the database, check the box marked "IP". There is no way to limit results to English language.
RIBA Online Catalogue: Search the collections of the Royal Institute of British Architects.
Urban Studies Abstracts: Includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to urban studies.