Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Historic Preservation Research

Chicago Style Citation Examples

Also see citation examples on our Citing Images guide.

F = footnote   B = bibliography   

Book

F Diane Maddex and Ellen R. Marsh, The Brown Book: A Directory of Preservation Information (Washington, D.C.: Preservation Press, 1983), 31-2.

B Maddex, Diane, and Ellen R. Marsh. The Brown Book: A Directory of Preservation Information. Washington, D.C.: Preservation Press, 1983.

(Three or more authors: F First name Last name et al., B All names listed as Last name, First name, First name Last name, and First name Last name)

 

One volume in multivolume work

F J. B. Harley and David Woodward, eds. The History of Cartography, vol. 2, bk. 2, Cartography in the Traditional East and Southeast Asian Societies (Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 1994), 100-32.

B Harley, J. B., and David Woodward, eds. The History of Cartography. Vol. 2, bk. 2, Cartography in the Traditional East and Southeast Asian Societies. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 1994.

Useful Chicago Manual sections on books: 14.100, 14.102, 14.103, 14.104, 14.161

Useful Chicago Manual sections on volumes: 14.11714.11814.11914.12014.121


Journal article

As defined in the Chicago Manual of Style Online: "A journal is a scholarly or professional periodical available mainly by subscription (e.g., Library Quarterly, New England Journal of Medicine)" (14.166)

F Margaret Lock, “Comprehending the Body in the Era of the Epigenome,” Current Anthropology 56, no. 2 (2015): 155, https://doi-org.proxy.library.upenn.edu/10.1086/680350.

B Lock, Margaret Lock. “Comprehending the Body in the Era of the Epigenome.” Current Anthropology 56, no. 2 (2015): 151–77. https://doi-org.proxy.library.upenn.edu/10.1086/680350.

Issues without volumes, only numbers: Place a comma after the journal title before the no. If print source, there will be no URL.

Useful Chicago Manual sections on journal articles: 14.171 and 14.175

 

Magazine article

Trade catalogs may be treated like periodicals, but may be treated as archival material (see below) if more appropriate.

F Robin Suttell, "Historic Preservation Renews an Educational Facility," Buildings, January 2006, 70.

B Suttell, Robin. "Historic Preservation Renews an Educational Facility." Buildings, January 2006.

"For magazine articles consulted online, include a URL at the end of a citation or, if no suitable URL is available, the name of the database." (14.189)

Useful Chicago Manual sections: 14.188 and 14.189

 

Newspaper article

F Binyamin Appelbaum, "Historic Preservation is Hurting Cities," New York Times, January 27, 2020, A22.

B Appelbaum, Binyamin. "Historic Preservation is Hurting Cities." New York Times, January 27, 2020.

"To cite an article consulted online, include the URL or, if no suitable URL is available, the name of the database." (14.191)

You may need to add a city name, or even a state name, in parentheses and not italicized after the italicized newspaper, e.g., Oregonian (Portland, OR). Sometimes you can add the state abbreviation in italics after the city name in the newspaper title, e.g., Ottawa (IL) Daily Times (14.193).

Use Chicago Manual sections for newspapers: 14.191, 14.192, 14.195, 14.199

Useful Chicago Manual sections on journals, magazines, and newspapers: 14.164 and 14.165


Webpage

F "What is Historic Preservation?," National Park Service, updated June 22, 2020, https://www.nps.gov/subjects/historicpreservation/what-is-historic-preservation.htm.

B National Park Service. "What is Historic Preservation?" National Park Service. Updated June 22, 2020. https://www.nps.gov/subjects/historicpreservation/what-is-historic-preservation.htm.

Useful Chicago Manual sections: 14.205 and 14.207

 

Blog

F Priya Chhaya, "Outside the Box: A Reading List for Change," Forum (blog), National Trust for Historic Preservation, July 15, 2020, https://forum.savingplaces.org/blogs/priya-chhaya/2020/07/15/outside-the-box-a-reading-list-for-change.

B Chhaya, Priya. "Outside the Box: A Reading List for Change." Forum (blog). National Trust for Historic Preservation. July 15, 2020, https://forum.savingplaces.org/blogs/priya-chhaya/2020/07/15/outside-the-box-a-reading-list-for-change.

"If it is necessary to cite an entire blog, list it in a bibliography under the name of the editor (if any) or the title of the blog." (14.208)


Thesis or dissertation

F Kimberly La Porte, "The Brooklyn Navy Yard: A Mission-Oriented Model of Industrial Heritage Reuse," (master's thesis, University of Pennsylvania, 2020), 27-30, https://repository.upenn.edu/hp_theses/691/.

B La Porte, Kimberly. "The Brooklyn Navy Yard: A Mission-Oriented Model of Industrial Heritage Reuse." master's thesis, University of Pennsylvania, 2020. https://repository.upenn.edu/hp_theses/691/.

Useful Chicago Manual sections: 14.215


Archival material (unpublished)

Trade catalogs may be treated like periodicals (see Magazine article above), but may be treated as archival material if more appropriate.

F Title or description of the specific document, Name of the entity that drafted the document, Year drafted, Collection, Repository, Location.

B Title of collection or repository. Location. (Use if citing multiple items from one collection).

B Title or description of the specific document. Title of collection or repository. Location. (Use if only citing one item from a collection).

If archival materials are available in a database or from a website, include the URL at the end of the footnote or bibliographic entry.

Useful Chicago Manual sections pertaining to manuscripts: 14.221, 14.222, 14.229

 

Maps

The Chicago Manual of Style suggests that maps be referred to in text rather than in notes or bibliographies (8.199). Maps as illustrations require captions and credit lines (see chapter 3).

List cartographer (if known), the title of the map (in italics) or a description (in roman), date, size and scale (if known), and publication details or location of the map. (14.237).

F US Geological Survey, California: Yosemite Quadrangle, 1909; repr. 1951, 30-minute series quadrangle; 1:125,000 scale, National Map, Historic Topographic Map Collection. http://nationalmap.gov/.

B US Geological Survey. California: Yosemite Quadrangle. 1909; repr., 1951. 30-minute series quadrangle, 1:125,000 scale. National Map, Historic Topographic Map Collection. http://nationalmap.gov/.


Unpublished Reports

Balderdash, Pat. “Presbyopia and Screen Size: A Relational Analysis.” Unpublished manuscript, last modified May 5, 2017. Microsoft Word file. 

Lane Redburn, “Touch-Sensitive Interiors: A Behavioral Analysis” (unpublished manuscript, May 5, 2017), LaTeX and GIF files.

Useful Chicago Manual sections: 14.216

 

Interviews

Bellour, Raymond. “Alternation, Segmentation, Hypnosis: Interview with Raymond Bellour.” By Janet Bergstrom. Camera Obscura, nos. 3–4 (Summer 1979): 89–94

McGeorge Bundy, interview by Robert MacNeil, MacNeil/Lehrer NewsHour, PBS, February 7, 1990.

F (online) Lydia Davis, “The Art of Fiction No. 227,” interview by Andrea Aguilar and Johanne Fronth-Nygren, Paris Review, no. 212 (Spring 2015): 172, EBSCOhost.

F (unpublished) Benjamin Spock, interview by Milton J. E. Senn, November 20, 1974, interview 67A, transcript, Senn Oral History Collection, National Library of Medicine, Bethesda, MD.

Useful Chicago Manual sections: 14.211 and 14.213