Guides: Health Sciences Student Resources: Nursing Students

Accessing Full Text

Within a journal or database, look for the PennText link or button. Click on PennText to open a page with options for obtaining the full-text.

How to Get Books Not Available at Penn Libraries

Clinical Reference Tools

These tools are designed to provide "point-of-care" assistance. Information is summarized, evidence based, and reviewed by experts. Available both on the web and mobile devices

EBP Search Tools

JBI Evidence-Based Practice
Search evidence-based best practices, evidence summaries and guidelines reviewed and appraised by JBI.

TRIP Database
A clinical search engine designed to find high-quality research evidence to support practice. Search results contain evidence-based synopses, systematic reviews, guidelines, core primary research and more.

Cochrane Clinical Answers
Provides a readable, digestible, clinically focused entry point to rigorous research from Cochrane Reviews. They are designed to be actionable and to inform point-of-care decision-making.
OVID's Evidence-Based Health Collection.
A evidence-based resource meant to provide clinicians, students and researchers access to information to guide clinical decisions and patient care.
Agency for Healthcare Research Quality

Recommended Databases for Nursing Literature

PubMed
The NIH's premier database for biomedical literature. While this database is publicly available, accessing it through Penn Libraries provides more full-text options.

CINAHL/ Nursing Database
Nursing and allied health literature.

Additional Databases

EMBASE
Covers biomedical literature. Includes coverage of over 1,800 biomedical titles not offered by PubMed.
Scopus
Indexes most peer reviewed journals in science, technology, and medicine, and many in the social sciences, arts, and humanities. Scopus also includes a number of trade publications and conference papers, and can perform author and affiliation searching.
APA PsycInfo
The American Psychological Association's comprehensive indexing and abstracting service for the professional and scholarly literature in psychology and related fields.

Graduate and Advanced Undergraduate Students

Resources for Nursing Students in Research Courses
Library Guide
AccessAPN
E-textbooks supporting advanced practice curricula, including Johns Hopkins EBP Practice, AACN Essentials of Critical Care Nursing, Saba's Essentials of Nursing Informatics, and others.

Cochrane Library
Collection of databases that contain high-quality evidence (systematic reviews and clinical trials) to inform healthcare decision-making.

Citation Management

Zotero is a free, easy-to-use tool to help you collect, organize, cite, and share your research sources.

Zotero Library Guide
Learn how to create an account and start using Zotero.

The library also supports a variety of other reference management tools (RefWorks, EndNote, Mendely, etc.). You can learn more from this library guide.

Overview: Citation Management

Contact A Subject Librarian

Larissa Gordon

Nursing Liaison Librarian
lgordon2@upenn.edu

Sherry Morgan

Graduate & Clinical Research Liaison
semorgan@upenn.edu

Health Care Industry Research

The Lippincott Business Library provides resource suggestions for researching the business aspects of health care.

Health Care Industry Guide

Anatomy Review Tools

Visible Body
Mobile app available
Complete Anatomy
Mobile app available
Ackland's Atlas of Human Anatomy
Anatomage Table
Located in the Holman Biotech Commons, the Anatomage Table provides a detailed look at real anatomy in 3D.

Drug Information

Lexicomp
Provides clear, concise, point-of-care drug information, including dosing, administration, warnings and precautions, as well as clinical content. Also includes information on natural products

Micromedex
Suite of databases providing full text drug and substance data.