Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
History Links on Penn Vet Website
University Archives Collections
Collections at University Archives on School of Veterinary Medicine
Guide to the School of Veterinary Medicine Records1832-1991 (bulk 1877-1991)
Documenting the years 1882 through 1907, these reports provide detailed descriptions of the University’s major activities and ongoing changes and full discussions of the faculty, educational programs, and campus developments. They also contain the annual reports of the deans of the several schools of the University, including the Veterinary School.
University Archives Lee Derrer Photograph Collection
161 photographs related to the University of Pennsylvania and farms in the Philadelphia area used for veterinary instruction from 1931 to 1943.
University President Sheldon Hackney papers
Administrative files on Penn Vet including Commonwealth appropriates, deaths, Black faculty, Centers., etc ~1966-1987
Alumni Society Class Cards, History of Class of 1914, etc.
Timelines Penn Vet History
Archived Penn Vet Websites
The Wayback Machine has cached Penn Vet websites over 700 times since 1997. These sites provide a glimpse of services, structure and staff from those years.
Veterinary Extension Quarterly
The School of Veterinary Medicine published the Veterinary Extension Quarterly from 1921-1959 with the purpose of providing articles of practical interest for animal owners and veterinarians. Articles were by Vet faculty and others and it also included papers presented at the Annual Conference of Veterinarians.
Issues 1-44 (1921-1931) available via Hathi Trust .
Bellwether is the news magazine publication of the University of Pennsylvania School of Veterinary Medicine distributed to alumni and friends of the school. The magazine was first published in October 1981 and includes stories about clinical and research innovations at the school, as well as faculty, staff, and alumni updates. To see the most recent issues, visit the Bellwether magazine site. Older issues have been digitally archived and are available through Scholarly Commons.
School of Veterinary Medicine Bulletin
The University of Pennsylvania Bulletin and similar student handbooks for the School of Veterinary Medicine contain information for prospective and current students including in some years admission requirements, expectations of behavior, room and board options, required reading, summary of patient cases seen by species and diagnoses, course descriptions, financial obligations, and faculty lists.
Student handbook including tuition, admission requirements, required reading, curriculum, lists of faculty and students, summary of nearly 14,000 cases seen (species and diagnosis). Required: smallpox vaccination, physical education classes.
Link to the full text pdf of the University of Pennsylvania School of Veterinary Medicine Bulletin for 1956-1957.
The yearbook of the University of Pennsylvania School of Veterinary Medicine was published as The Veterinary Record (1906-1910), The Class Record (1911-1913) , and The Scalpel since 1911. A book of photographs of the School and University were published in lieu of a yearbook in 1921.
No issues were published for the years 1922-1927, 1929-1933, 2013 or after 2015.
The 1910, 1911 and1940 issues are included in Ancestry.com (database also available through many public libraries).
Pictures of veterinary students are included in the general University of Pennsylvania yearbook The Record in the years 1925-1927 (also in Ancestry.com)
Link to a full digital copy of the 1965 publication of Scalpel.
Link to images
University of Pennsylvania News Resources
The Pennsylvania Gazette
The Pennsylvania Gazette is the University of Pennsylvania’s alumni magazine. The Archives go back to 1997.
The Daily Pennsylvanian
The Daily Pennsylvanian is the University of Pennsylvania's independent student news organization. The Archive includes issues back to 1885.
University of Pennsylvania Almanac
Official newsletter for University announcements. Past issues go back to 1954.
Professional association journals and newspapers can carry obituaries and news items about Penn Vet faculty and students.
Other biographical information