Guides: Practice Problems in Math and Science: Home

How to write a mathematical proof

Math Proofs by Stan Gibilisco
ISBN: 0071445765
Publication Date: 2005-05-13
Almost every student has to study some sort of mathematical proofs, whether it be in geometry, trigonometry, or with higher-level topics. In addition, mathematical theorems have become an interesting course for many students outside of the mathematical arena, purely for the reasoning and logic that is needed to complete them. Therefore, it is not uncommon to have philosophy and law students grappling with proofs. This book is the perfect resource for demystifying the techniques and principles that govern the mathematical proof area, and is done with the standard "Demystified" level, questions and answers, and accessibility.
Handbook of Proof Theory by S. R. Buss (Editor)
ISBN: 0444898409
Publication Date: 1998-07-09
This volume contains articles covering a broad spectrum of proof theory, with an emphasis on its mathematical aspects. The articles should not only be interesting to specialists of proof theory, but should also be accessible to a diverse audience, including logicians, mathematicians, computer scientists and philosophers. Many of the central topics of proof theory have been included in a self-contained expository of articles, covered in great detail and depth. The chapters are arranged so that the two introductory articles come first; these are then followed by articles from core classical areas of proof theory; the handbook concludes with articles that deal with topics closely related to computer science.
How to Read and Do Proofs by Daniel Solow
ISBN: 0471680583
Publication Date: 2004-10-25
An easy-to-use guide that shows how to read, understand, and do proofs. Shows how any proof can be understood as a sequence of techniques. Covers the full range of techniques used in proofs, such as the contrapositive, induction, and proof by contradiction. Explains how to identify which techniques are used and how they are applied in the specific problem. Illustrates how to read written proofs with many step-by-step examples. Includes new, expanded appendices related to discrete mathematics, linear algebra, modern algebra and real analysis.

How to write a lab report

Each professor will have slightly different styles for lab reports. You should follow these for your individual classes. This is a general guideline to lap reports for research.

The ACS Style Guide Chapter 2
This text is also on reserve at the Chemistry library if you would prefer a physical copy.
Resources on scientific writing and reports in the Chemistry Library
Technical Communication Resources- Engineering

Tips on common issues for lab reports

Avoid very long titles, 10 words or less is a good start
Clearly state your hypothesis and predictions; don't assume the reader will know
Try to be concise and to the point. Avoid repetitions.
In the discussion/conclusion make sure you explain the implications. Writing that the "hypothesis is supported/ not supported" is not meaningful or useful.

Successful Lab Reports by Christopher S. Lobban; MarLa Schefter
ISBN: 0521404045
Publication Date: 1992-02-28
Science students are expected to produce lab reports, but are rarely adequately instructed on how to write them. Aimed at undergraduate students, Successful Laboratory Reports bridges the gap between the many books about writing term papers and the advanced books about writing papers for publication in scientific journals, neither of which gives much information about writing laboratory reports. The first part guides students through the structure of a good report as they write a first draft. The second part shows how to revise the report and how to polish and nurture good science writing skills. The book will prove invaluable to all science students, but particularly those in biology and chemistry.
The Organic Chem Lab Survival Manual by James W. Zubrick
ISBN: 9780470494370
Publication Date: 2010-01-07
This valuable guide takes organic chemists through the basic techniques of the organic chemistry lab such as interpretation of infrared spectroscopy. The eighth edition has been revised to include updated coverage of NMR Spectroscopy and UV spectroscopy. New questions at the end of chapters reinforce the skills and techniques learned. Emphasis is placed on green chemistry in the lab, focusing on the more environmentally friendly materials that can be used. In addition, updated discussions are included on safety, distillation, gas chromatography, and liquid chromatography. This gives organic chemists the most up-to-date information to enhance their lab skills.

How to use practice exams

Practice test can be one of the most effective methods of preparing for an exam, but it is important to use the technique correctly for the most benefit.

In the first round of practice exams, it is okay not to pay attention to the time limits. This will allow you to focus on the answers instead of being worried about the time. In the next round of practice exams, switch to timed tests.
Pay attention to the questions which take more time or mark questions when you are not 100% sure of the correct answer, go back and review these sections later.
During review, do not immediately read the solutions to problems you missed or marked incorrectly. Try to figure out the correct answer by retrieving prior knowledge.
While taking practice exams, refrain from checking answers before completing the questions. In other words, try to duplicate exam conditions.

reference

Weingarten Learning Resources Center

The Weingarten Center provides academic support services and programs for undergraduate, graduate, and professional students at the University of Pennsylvania through its two offices. The services and programs of both offices are free and confidential.

Office of Learning Resources

Provides professional instruction in university relevant skills such as academic reading, writing, study strategies, and time management to the Penn student community.

Student Disabilities Services

Provides comprehensive, professional services and programs for students who self-identify with disabilities to ensure equal academic opportunities and participation in University-sponsored programs.

Useful tools and Information

Time management tools, Technology and applications, Resources for students, Resources for STEM, Resources for Managing articles and reference.

How to use the library resources

Graduate Student Services : Graduate Student Services at Penn
General services for graduate students using the Penn Libraries
Bioinformatics Resources at Penn
Information resources offered by the Holman Biotech Commons
Health and Life Science Research
Information resources for research in Biomedical and the Biomedical library
Information Resources in Chemical and Bio-molecular Engineering
Specific resources for Engineering and Physical Sciences
Information Resources in Physics: Overview
Guide for resources for physics research and the Math/Physics/Astronomy library
Physical Science Libraries - Services for Chemistry Faculty: Home
Guide for Faculty use of the Chemistry Library
Physical Science Libraries - Services for Chemistry Graduate Students
Guide for graduate students use of the Chemistry library

Penn CAPS

Counseling and Psychotherapy Services

Orientations

CAPS provides orientations to a variety of populations on Penn's campus. This includes a virtual tour of CAPS' space, an introduction to CAPS' services, and a brief discussion around mental health and therapy.
CAPS also participates in campus-wide tabling events and resource fairs.
To request an orientation, fill out the OUTREACH REQUEST FORM.

Workshops

CAPS provides customized psychoeducational and interactive workshops with topics such as helping students in distress, active listening, self-care, imposter syndrome, cultural identities, race-related issues, and stress management. To request a workshop, fill out the OUTREACH REQUEST FORM.
There are also workshop series at CAPS to support students: Anxiety Management, Mindfulness-Based Stress Reduction, Mindfulness Skills, Mindfulness Drop-in, Mindful Eating, Mindful Tea, Mindful Fruit, Manage Your Moods, Tell Us Your Story, International Student Services, Career, and Returning Students Group.

Trainings

A team of CAPS' clinicians run the I CARE training program, a gatekeeper training that aims to build a caring community that has the skills and resources to intervene in student stress, distress, and crisis.
To learn more about or to register for I CARE, go to CAPS' I CARE Training.

Student-led Groups

CAPS works closely with the CAPS Advisory Board, mental health advocacy groups, and student leaders on campus.
To learn more about student groups involved in mental health or to view a calendar of events, go to Penn Wellness.

Community & Liaison Partnerships

CAPS has an extensive liaison network across the Penn community to help to bridge consultation and conversation among various communities.
To learn more about our liaison system, please contact Dr. Batsirai Bvunzawabaya.

Postventions

CAPS responds and provides support to individuals or groups affected by crises and traumatic events affecting the Penn community.

Self-care

To learn more about preventative mental health strategies and resources, go to Self-care.