Guides: Y-Prize Competition Resources: Industry Information & Articles

Industry Research

For the technologies in the 2021-2022 Y-Prize Competition, we suggest the following industry research databases:

MarketResearch.com Academic
Qualitative industry analysis and quantitative research on market trends including data on market segmentation, size and growth. Industry coverage includes: service, consumer products, food & beverage, heavy industry, life sciences, and technology & media. The primary geographical coverage is the United States. Penn's subscription includes the following providers: Packaged Facts, Kalorama, SBI, Mind Commerce and Simba Information.
BCC Research
Market research reports covering scientific, and technological developments in industrial, chemical, pharmaceutical, and high technology industries.
IDC
IDC is a global provider of market intelligence, advisory services, and events for the information technology, telecommunications and consumer technology (including hardware) markets.
IDC does not make all its reports available to the academic market.
Forrester
Market and industry reports that analyze a broad range of technology areas and project how technology trends will affect businesses, consumers, and society.
EMIS
Includes reports from several providers. Search for the topic of interest and then click on More => Industries to focus on Industry Reports, or use the Industries tab to search for Industry Reports, News, Statistics, and more.

Finding Cited Articles

You can access references listed on the Y-Prize New Memory page through Penn Libraries, after logging in with your PennKey and password:

Liu, X., Wang, D., Kim, K., Katti, K., Zheng, J., Musavigharavi, P., Miao, J., Stach, E. A., Olsson, R. H., & Jariwala, D. (2021). Post-CMOS compatible aluminum scandium Nitride/2D channel ferroelectric field-effect-transistor memory. Nano Letters, 21(9), 3753-3761. https://pubs-acs-org.proxy.library.upenn.edu/doi/10.1021/acs.nanolett.0c05051

Mikolajick, T., Slesazeck, S., Mulaosmanovic, H., Park, M. H., Fichtner, S., Lomenzo, P. D., Hoffmann, M., & Schroeder, U. (2021). Next generation ferroelectric materials for semiconductor process integration and their applications. Journal of Applied Physics, 129(10), 100901. https://doi-org.proxy.library.upenn.edu/10.1063/5.0037617

Journal Articles

Journal articles can help you delve deeper into your topic than books and encyclopedias. Review articles will give you an overview of the state of a field over a period of time (pay attention to the publication date; they go out-of-date quickly). Research articles tell you exactly how a scientist performed his or her experiments and interpreted the results.

These resources help you find journal articles in various fields related to your projects.

IEEE Xplore
The IEEE Xplore Digital Library provides access to all journal articles, conference proceedings and current standards from IEEE.
Compendex
This databases indexes journals and conference proceedings in all areas of engineering. Controlled vocabulary helps you to locate a wide range of information on your topic.

ACM Digital Library
Full-text collection of all Association of Computer Machinery (ACM) publications, including journals, conference proceedings, technical magazines, newsletters and books. Internet studies, web design, information science, information technology and systems research.
Scopus
Indexes most peer reviewed journals in science, technology, and medicine, and many in the social sciences, arts, and humanities. Scopus also includes a number of trade publications and conference papers, and can perform author and affiliation searching.
Web of Science
PubMed
NLM's public access version to Medline, the premier database for biomedical literature.
EBSCO MegaFILE
General, multidisciplinary periodical database, covering all scholarly disciplines, with many general and popular magazines, and news sources. Includes bibliographic citations with indexing and abstracts for more than 16,000 periodicals.
Google Scholar
Access to Google Scholar with Penn-only links to full-text articles. Once authenticated through Penn's proxy, full-text articles to which Penn Libraries subscribe will become available within the Google Scholar search results.