This guide provides information about the fourth annual One Book One SP2 book and its authors, including videostream author interviews and also book reviews in the popular press and in scholarly journals. It presents suggestions for finding print books (when you're on campus), ebooks (even when you're off campus), and scholarly journal articles on the One Book One SP2 book's topic.
The 
icon identifies Penn Libraries electronic resources - databases, e-books, e-journal articles, and more - that require PennKey authentication to access. For more information on PennKey and its use by the Penn Libraries, please consult our online guide, Using Electronic Resources : Access to Electronic Resources (On and Off Campus / EZproxy).
⚠ Note: Due to the special characters in some URLs in this guide, clicking on many links in one sitting may lead to a "400 error", which may persist on other websites. If you encounter this error, please clear your browser cache and return to this page.
The 1619 Project : a new origin story by Online
The 1619 Project: born on the water by The New York Times website. This interactive version may be viewed only after you have created a personal login to the NYTimes.com website and then logged into the website. For the Penn Libraries campus subscription, see our registration instructions. The Chronicle of Higher Education (July 9, 2021). The New York Times (November 21, 2021). The New York Times Magazine (December 20, 2019; updated January 19, 2021). The New York Review of Books (November 19, 2019). London Review of Books 44, 10 (May 26, 2022). The Chronicle of Higher Education (March 5, 2020). The Washington Post (November 19, 2021). The Atlantic Online (December 23, 2019), fulltext via Nexis Uni. Museums & Social Issues 14, 1-2 (2019): 60-73. American Literary History 32, 4 (Winter 2020): e1-e12. "Socialism and the argument against race reductionism", New Labor Forum 29, 2 (May 2020): 36-43. English Journal 111, 1 (September 2021): 48-55. Fulltext for these book reviews is linked through Franklin Articles+, the Penn Libraries' basic tool for locating online journal articles.
Grand challenges for social work and society : milestones achieved and opportunities ahead (2nd ed.) by Online Oxford University Press. Oxford Research Encyclopedia : Education, 2021. Handbook on global social justice / Gary Craig, ed. (Edward Elgar, 2018), pages 141-156. Oxford handbook of social psychology and social justice (Oxford University Press, 2018), pages 129-139. Ethnic and Racial Studies 39, 1 (2016): 1-15. Theory & Research in Social Education 50, 1 (2022): 29-73.These articles will summarize the current state of research on a topic and will identify emerging research fronts. They typically offer long bibliographies, useful for identifying important or controversial articles and books.
Journal of Ethnic & Cultural Diversity in Social Work (advance access, October 26, 2021). Annual Review of Psychology 72 (2021): 533-560. Annual Review of Public Health 43 (2022): 173-191. Annual Review of Anthropology 34 (2005): 667-693. Annual Review of Psychology 73 (2022): 403-429. Transcultural Psychiatry 49, 2 (April 2012): 261-282. Special issue : Rethinking cultural competence. Teachers College Record 119, 1 (2017). Special issue : A dream deferred : a retrospective view of culturally relevant pedagogy. Annual Review of Sociology 48 (2022) (review in advance, April 13, 2022). Sociology Compass 16, 4 (2022): e12973. Sociology Compass 15, 12 (December 2021): e12943. Theory & Research in Social Education (latest articles, May 10, 2022).These articles describe books, book chapters, and articles that discuss a topic. The articles are arranged in topical sections, each section with a brief narrative introduction. Each book, book chapter, or article has a note that explains its inclusion in the annotated bibliography. Entries have links to Franklin Catalog, to Penntext, or to other available fulltext.
Oxford Bibliographies : Social Work, 2019. Oxford Bibliographies : Atlantic History, 2017. Oxford Bibliographies : Social Work, 2017. Oxford Bibliographies : Sociology, 2020. Oxford Bibliographies : Social Work, 2009. Oxford Bibliographies : Education, 2013. Oxford Bibliographies : African American Studies, 2018. Oxford Bibliographies : Sociology, 2021.Franklin Catalog identifies books, journals, videos, and sound recordings - in print and electronic formats - available for you to read.
Penn Libraries books similar to The 1619 Project.
How does that search work?
Franklin Catalog uses Library of Congress subject headings and subject heading subdivisions to describe books, videos, and audio recordings.
Several subject heading clusters describe the topics covered by Radical Equations:
| Slavery -- Political aspects -- United States -- History. |
| African Americans -- History. |
| United States -- Race relations. |
Combine these subject headings using OR for synonyms, gather the synonym groups within parentheses, and separate the synonym groups with AND.
And here's the resulting Franklin Catalog keyword expert search:
Subject Keyword Search : slavery AND ("race relations" OR "political aspects") AND history AND "united states"
Some related subject terms may also be useful:
| African American [women, men, teenage boys, gay men, etc.] |
| [Rural, Older, Poor, Suburban, etc.] African Americans |
| Black people -- United States (for noncitizens, students from abroad, etc.) |
| Minorities |
| Civil rights |
| Race discrimination |
| Racial justice |
| Reparations for historical injustices |
| African Americans--Reparations |
| Social justice |
| Economic aspects |
| Economic conditions |
| Politics and government |
| Psychological aspects |
| Social aspects |
| Social conditions |
Academic Video Online. HeinOnline. Gale Cengage. Adam Matthew Digital. Gale Cengage.