Guides: Engineering Entrepreneurship: Company Information

Directories

D&B Hoovers
Search by company name or industry. Includes brief industry reports and competitors list.
Data Axle Reference Solutions (formerly ReferenceUSA)
Directory information on U.S. and Canadian business, health care, and residential listings. Search by company name, geographic area, business type, industry code, yellow page listing, revenue, location, number of employees or in combination.
Nexis Dossier
Company profiles, financials, SEC filings, stock performance, M&A activity, news, and more. Includes Corporate Affiliations reports: international directory of corporate structure for public and private companies, with subsidiary listings and corporate linkage information on parent companies and their affiliates. Includes historical information going back to the mid-1990s.

ThomasNet
Connects buyers, engineers, and MRO professionals to over 500,000 North American manufacturers daily.

Analyst Reports

LSEG Workspace (formerly Refinitiv Workspace)
To find analyst reports for a specific company, search for the firm's ticker symbol or name in the top search box. On the News & Research menu, click on Company Research. Use filters on the left-side menu to refine your search. Click the Search button.

To screen for analyst reports based on a set of criteria, select Research --> Advanced Research from the main menu. Use filters on the left-side menu to refine your search. Click the Search button.

NOTE: Refinitiv Workspace users may access a maximum of 150 pages of research content daily. This limit resets at 12:00 AM Eastern Time each day.

For additional resources for analyst reports, please refer to our Business FAQ.

Company Financials

Use these databases to find SEC filings and financial data.

Filings will offer company assets and liabilities in dollar figures, income data, operating expensese, sales, etc. S-1s will give you prospectus/founder information; 10-Ks offer annual accounting; Proxy Statements include executive compensation; and Annual Reports often include a management discussion.

S&P Capital IQ
Profiles of public and private firms worldwide including financials, officers and directors, ownership, advisory relationships, transactions, securities, key developments, estimates, key documents, credit ratings and research, filings, news, comparables analysis and more.
PitchBook
Investment trends and transactions in private equity and venture capital sectors, as well as public company information. Includes profiles of companies and investors with financial and deal information.
LSEG Workspace (formerly Refinitiv Workspace)
Access to current and historical data, including financial statements, filings, stock prices, earnings estimates, deals, analyst reports, and more.
Privco
Directory of privately-held companies. Company information consists of a business summary, an overview of corporate organization, list of competitors, industry description, financials (almost always revenue only) and number of employees. Provides M&A deals and deal multiples, private firm valuations, VC funding, private equity deal history; and private and family ownership data.
Factiva
Click on Companies/Markets and search by ticker or company name. Go to Search => Search Builder to search for news stories.