Guides: PAH Clinical Nursing: Nursing Certification Exam Resources

Certification Review Materials

The certification review materials on this page in alphabetical order. You can also find your discipline certification information on your respective unit/service line page.

CCRN Exam Review Materials

Adult CCRN Exam Prep Study Guide by Springer Publishing
ISBN: 9780826164032
Publication Date: 2023
This book is available via the PAH R2 Digital Library. It is not indexed in Franklin. One user at a time can access this resource. Need to be within PAH IP to access.
PCCN Exam Prep Study Guide by Springer Publishing
ISBN: 9780826164025
Publication Date: 2023
This book is available via the PAH R2 Digital Library. It is not indexed in Franklin. One user at a time can access this resource. Need to be within PAH IP to access.
Pass Ccrn®! by Robin Donohoe Dennison
Call Number: WY 18.2 D411p 2019
ISBN: 9780323595315
Publication Date: 2019
Available in print at PAH Medical Library. Click on the URL to see availability.
Adult Ccrn Review Book 2019 by Test Prep Books
Call Number: WY 18.2 A32 2019
ISBN: 9781628455908
Publication Date: 2019
Available in print at PAH Medical Library. Click on the URL to see availability.
CCRN Review Book 2018-2019 by Trivium Critical Care Exam Prep Team
Call Number: WY 18.2 C386 2018
ISBN: 9781635302370
Publication Date: 2018
Available in print at PAH Medical Library. Click on the URL to see availability.
Adult CCRN Prep by Kaplan Nursing
Call Number: WY 18.2 A244 2017
ISBN: 9781506223469
Publication Date: 2017
Available in print at PAH Medical Library. Click on the URL to see availability.
Adult CCRN Certification Review by Kendra Menzies Kent
ISBN: 0826198341
Publication Date: 2014
Electronic resource. Unlimited access. Please note publication date is 2014 and materials maybe out of date.

CMC or CSC Exam Review Preparation Materials

These titles are listed as recommended for exam preparation in the CSC and CMC exam handbooks, respectively.

AACN Essentials of Critical Care Nursing by Edited by Suzanne M. Burns and Sarah A. Delgado
ISBN: 9781260116762
Publication Date: 2019
3 people at a time can access this resource
AACN Procedure Manual for High Acuity, Progressive, and Critical Care by AACN; Debra L. Wiegand (Editor)
ISBN: 9780323376624
Publication Date: 2017
1 user at a time can access this resource
Introduction to Basic Cardiac Dysrhythmias by Sandra Atwood; Cheryl Stanton; Jenny Storey-Davenport
Call Number: RC685.A65 A88 2019
ISBN: 9781284139686
Publication Date: 2019
Print copy available Holman Biotech Commons
Kern's Cardiac Catheterization Handbook by Paul Sorajja; Michael J. Lim; Morton L. Kern
ISBN: 9780323597739
Publication Date: 2019
Available from Clinical Key

CPAN and CAPA Certification Review

Certification Review for PeriAnesthesia Nursing by ASPAN; Theresa Clifford; Denise O'Brien
Call Number: WY 18.2 P993c 2018
ISBN: 9780323399401
Publication Date: 2018
Print copy available PAH Medical Library

Study References Listed by ABPANC

Working to get most up-to-date editions of these books.

2023-2024 perianesthesia nursing standards, practice recommendations and interpretive statements by ASPAN
ISBN: 9780017688415
Publication Date: 2023
One user at a time can use this resource. It is not in Franklin. It is only available via R2 Digital Library. Need to be within PAH IP range to access.
Drain's PeriAnesthesia Nursing by Jan Odom-Forren
Call Number: WY 161 D759 2018
ISBN: 9780323399845
Publication Date: 2018
Print copy available PAH Medical Library
Saunder's Nursing Drug Handbook by Hodgson, B. & Kizior, R.
ISBN: 9780323757294
Publication Date: 2021
3 users at a time can access this resource
Nursing2023 Drug Handbook by Lippincott Williams Lippincott Williams & Wilkins
ISBN: 9781975183363
Publication Date: 2023
Not the title explicitly mentioned by ABPANC but a more up to date edition than the Saunder's title to which we currently have access.

CRNI Certification Resources

These are resources available from Penn and PAH Libraries that are suggested by the INS CRNI Exam Handbook as Study Guides and Approved Exam References.

Study Guides

Core Curriculum for Infusion Nursing by editor-in-chief, Mary Alexander ; editors, Ann Corrigan, Lisa A. Gorski, Lynn Phillips
ISBN: 1469832348
Publication Date: 2014
Infusion Nursing by Infusion Nurses Society; Mary Alexander; Ann Corrigan; Lisa Gorski; Judy Hankins; Roxanne Perucca
Call Number: RM170 .I515 2010
ISBN: 9781416064107
Publication Date: 2010
Print available Holman Biotech Commons

Infusion therapy: standards of practice
Print book available PAH Library
WB 354 I54 2021

Policies and Procedures for Infusion Therapy of the Older Adult 3rd Edition by Infusion Nurses Society (Editor)
Call Number: RM170 .P65 2016
ISBN: 9780996594806
Publication Date: 2016
Print available Holman Biotech Commons
Policies and Procedures for Infusion Therapy of the Older Adult, 3rd Ed by Infusion Nurses Society (Editor)
ISBN: 9780996594813
Publication Date: 2016
Online from OVID

Approved Exam References

Technical Manual (AABB) by John D. Roback; Mark K. Fung
Call Number: RM172 .T43 2014
ISBN: 9781563958885
Publication Date: 2014
Print book available Veterinary Library (Atwood) Campus
2024 Intravenous Medications: Handbook for Nurses and Health Professionals by Shelly Collins
ISBN: 9780443121104
Publication Date: 2024
Available via ClinicalKey
Wong's Nursing Care of Infants and Children by Marilyn J. Hockenberry; Elizabeth A. Duffy (Editor); Karen Gibbs (Editor)
Call Number: RJ245 .W47 2024
ISBN: 9780323776707
Publication Date: 2024
Print available Holman Biotech Commons
On Reserve
Chemotherapy and Immunotherapy Guidelines and Recommendations for Practice by Olsen (Editor); LeFebvre (Editor); Brassil (Editor)
ISBN: 9781635930214
Publication Date: 2019
ASPEN Fluids, Electrolytes, and Acid-Base Disorders Handbook, Second Edition by Todd Canada (Editor)
ISBN: 9781889622446
Publication Date: 2020

CNOR Exam Study Materials

CNOR Certification Express Review by Springer Publishing Company
ISBN: 9780826158567
Publication Date: 2022
This is a R2 Digital Library title. One user at a time can access this resource. Need to be within PAH IP to access.
Cnor Exam Study Guide by Cci
Call Number: WY 21.1 C6517 2014
ISBN: 9780988431553
Publication Date: 2014-07-01
Print book available PAH Medical Library
Pass CNOR®! by Nancymarie Phillips; Anita Hornacky
Call Number: WY 18.2 P562 2020
ISBN: 9780323581974
Publication Date: 2020
Print book available PAH Medical Library
CNOR(R) Certification Practice Q&A by Springer Publishing Company
ISBN: 9780826145574
Publication Date: 2022
Please talk to your Clinical Nurse Educator about getting access to this book.

NCC Electronic Fetal Monitoring Subspecialty Certification Exam Resources

These are resources available from Penn and PAH Libraries that are suggested by the NCC on the Electronic Fetal Monitoring Candidate Guide.

Williams Obstetrics, 26th Edition by Kenneth J. Leveno; Steven L. Bloom; Catherine Y. Spong; Jodi S. Dashe; Barbara L. Hoffman; Brian M. Casey; F. Gary Cunningham
ISBN: 9781259644320
Publication Date: 2022
Please disregard the cover...it is in fact the 26th edition.
Gabbe's Obstetrics: normal & problem pregnancies by Mark B. Landon
ISBN: 9780323613408
Publication Date: 2021
Electronic Fetal Monitoring: Concepts and Applications by Cydney Menihan & Kellen Kopel
ISBN: 1975119029
Publication Date: 2019
Mosby's Pocket Guide to Fetal Monitoring - E-Book by Lisa A. Miller; David Miller; Rebecca L. Cypher
ISBN: 9780323414012
Publication Date: 2017
3 users at a time can access this resource
AWHONN's Perinatal Nursing by Kathleen Rice Simpson; Patricia A. Creehan
ISBN: 9781496398239
Publication Date: 2021
Unlimited user access
Creasy and Resnik's Maternal-Fetal Medicine by Charles J. Lockwood; Thomas Moore; Joshua Copel; Robert M. Silver; Robert Resnik; Lorraine Dugoff (Editor); Judette Louis (Editor)
ISBN: 9780323828499
Publication Date: 2022
9th edition

ACOG Practice Bulletin 116: Management of intrapartum fetal heart rate tracings
American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists, College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists, & American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists. (2010). Practice bulletin no. 116: Management of intrapartum fetal heart rate tracings. Obstetrics and Gynecology (New York. 1953), 116(5), 1232-1240. https://doi.org/10.1097/AOG.0b013e3182004fa9

Emergency Nurse Certification Exam Review Materials

Trauma Certified Registered Nurse (TCRN) Examination Review Elist by Kendra Menzies Kent
ISBN: 9780826135193
Publication Date: 2017
This is an R2 Digital Library title. One user at a time can access this resource. Need to be within PAH IP to access.
CEN Certification Practice Q&A by Springer Publishing Company
ISBN: 9780826178985
Publication Date: 2022
This is an R2 Digital Library title. One user at a time can access this resource. Need to be within PAH IP to access.

Gerontological Nursing Certification (GERO-BC™) Resources

The list of resources is provided by ANCC.

Gerontological Nursing: scope and standards of practice 2nd edition by American Nurses Association
ISBN: 9781947800359
Publication Date: 2019
One user at a time can access this resource
Bates' Guide to Physical Examination and History Taking by Lynn S. Bickley; Peter G. Szilagyi; Richard M. Hoffman; Rainier P. Soriano
Call Number: WB 205 B583b 2021
ISBN: 9781496398178
Publication Date: 2021
Print available PAH Library
Health Promotion Throughout the Life Span by Editors: Carole Lium Edelman, Elizabeth Connelly Kudzma
ISBN: 9780323846318
Publication Date: 2022
3 users at a time can access this resource
Gerontological Nursing by Charlotte Eliopoulos
Call Number: RC954 .E44 2022
ISBN: 9781975161002
Publication Date: 2021
Print available Holman Biotech Commons
Handbook of Geriatric Assessment by Terry Fulmer; Bruce Chernof
ISBN: 9781284144307
Publication Date: 2019
One person at a time can access this resource. This is NOT PAH Library's R2 Digital Library account.
Toward Healthy Aging : Human Needs and Nursing Response by Touhy, Theris A.
ISBN: 9780323811668
Publication Date: 2022
3 users at a time can access this resource
Davis's Drug guide for nurses by April Hazard Vallerand, Cynthia A. Sanoski
ISBN: 9781719648127
Publication Date: 2023
3 users at a time can access this resource

Inpatient Obstetric Nursing Certification Study Resources

These are resources available from Penn and PAH Libraries that are suggested by the NCC on the Inpatient Obstetrics Nurse Candidate Guide.

Williams Obstetrics, 26th Edition by Kenneth J. Leveno; Steven L. Bloom; Catherine Y. Spong; Jodi S. Dashe; Barbara L. Hoffman; Brian M. Casey; F. Gary Cunningham
ISBN: 9781259644320
Publication Date: 2022
Please disregard the cover...it is in fact the 26th edition.
Olds' Maternal-Newborn Nursing and Women's Health Across the Lifespan by Michele Davidson; Marcia London; Patricia Ladewig
Call Number: Reserve RG951 .D38 2020
ISBN: 9780135206881
Publication Date: 2020
Print copy available Holman Biotech Commons Reserves
Current Diagnosis & Treatment Obstetrics & Gynecology, 12th Edition by Alan H. DeCherney; Ashley S. Roman; Lauren Nathan; Neri Laufer
ISBN: 9780071833905
Publication Date: 2019
Available online via AccessMedicine
Gabbe's Obstetrics: normal & problem pregnancies by Mark B. Landon
ISBN: 9780323613408
Publication Date: 2021
Varney's Midwifery by Julia C. Phillippi; Ira Kantrowitz-Gordon
ISBN: 9781284250565
Publication Date: 2024
3 users at a time can access this resource
Merenstein & Gardner's handbook of neonatal intensive care : an interprofessional approach by Sandra L. Gardner, Brian S. Carter, Mary Enzman Hines, & Jacinto A. Hernandez
ISBN: 9780323570916
Publication Date: 2021
3 users at a time can access this resource
Comprehensive Gynecology by David M. Gershenson; Gretchen M. Lentz; Rogerio A. Lobo; Fidel A. Valea (Editor)
ISBN: 9780323653992
Publication Date: 2022
Available online from Elsevier Clinical Key
Textbook of Neonatal Resuscitation by American Academy of Pediatrics (AAP); American Heart Association; Gary M. Weiner (Editor); Jeanette Zaichkin (Associate Editor)
Call Number: WQ 18.2 T355 2021
ISBN: 9781610025249
Publication Date: 2021
Print copy available PAH Medical Library
Mosby's Pocket Guide to Fetal Monitoring - E-Book by Lisa A. Miller; David Miller; Rebecca L. Cypher
ISBN: 9780323414012
Publication Date: 2017
3 users at a time can access this resource
Essentials of Nursing Research by Denise F. Polit; Cheryl Tatano Beck
Call Number: WY 20.5 P769e 2018
ISBN: 9781496351296
Publication Date: 2018
Available in print PAH Library
This is an older copy than what is on the study guide.
Creasy and Resnik's Maternal-Fetal Medicine by Charles J. Lockwood; Thomas Moore; Joshua Copel; Robert M. Silver; Robert Resnik; Lorraine Dugoff (Editor); Judette Louis (Editor)
ISBN: 9780323828499
Publication Date: 2022
9th edition
Essentials of maternity, newborn, and women's health nursing by Susan Scott Ricci
Call Number: WY 157.3 R53 2017
ISBN: 9781496348043
Publication Date: 2017
Print available PAH Library
This is an older edition than the study guide.
AWHONN's Perinatal Nursing by Kathleen Rice Simpson; Patricia A. Creehan
ISBN: 9781496398239
Publication Date: 2021
Unlimited user access
Physical Assessment of the Newborn by Ellen P. Tappero; Mary Ellen Honeyfield
ISBN: 9780826174437
Publication Date: 2019
Unlimited user access
AWHONN's High-Risk and Critical Care Obstetrics by Nan H. Troiano; Patricia M. Witcher; Suzanne Baird
Call Number: WY 157 A94 2019
ISBN: 9781496379986
Publication Date: 2019
Print copy available PAH Medical Library

Maternal-Newborn Nursing Certification Exam Review Materials

National Certification Corporation Maternal-Newborn Nursing Certification Candidate Guide

The following titles are listed on the candidate guide as suggested study resources.

Merenstein & Gardner's handbook of neonatal intensive care : an interprofessional approach by Sandra L. Gardner, Brian S. Carter, Mary Enzman Hines, & Jacinto A. Hernandez
ISBN: 9780323570916
Publication Date: 2021
3 users at a time can access this resource
Breastfeeding: A Guide for the Medical Profession by Ruth A. Lawrence; Robert M. Lawrence
ISBN: 9780323680134
Publication Date: 2021
AWHONN's Perinatal Nursing by Kathleen Rice Simpson; Patricia A. Creehan
ISBN: 9781496398239
Publication Date: 2021
Unlimited user access
Physical Assessment of the Newborn by Ellen P. Tappero; Mary Ellen Honeyfield
ISBN: 9780826174437
Publication Date: 2019
Unlimited user access
Core Curriculum for Neonatal Intensive Care Nursing by AWHONN
ISBN: 9780323672337
Publication Date: 2020
3 people at a time can access this resource
Williams Obstetrics 26e by F. Gary Cunningham; Kenneth J. Leveno; Jodi S. Dashe; Barbara L. Hoffman; Catherine Y. Spong; Brian M. Casey
Call Number: LL18 RG524 .W7 2022
ISBN: 9781260462739
Publication Date: 2022
Available in print Levy Dental Library

Medical Surgical Nurse Specialist Exam Resources

Medical-Surgical Nursing Certification Practice Q&a by Springer Publishing Company
ISBN: 9780826146014
Publication Date: 2022
This is an R2 Digital Library title. One user at a time can access this resource. You need to be within PAH IP to access.
Medical-Surgical Nursing Certification Review by Pam Collins
ISBN: 9780826138729
Publication Date: 2022
This is an R2 Digital Library title. One user at a time can access this resource. You need to be within PAH IP to access.
Medical-Surgical Nursing Certification Review by Pam Collins
Call Number: WY 22 AA1 C54 2023
ISBN: 9780826138729
Publication Date: 2023
Print available at PAH Library
Study Guide for Medical-Surgical Nursing by Adrianne Dill Linton; Mary Ann Matteson; Nancy K. Maebius
Call Number: WY 100.1 L735 2020 Study Guide
ISBN: 9780323554589
Publication Date: 2019-02-25
Print copy available PAH Medical Library
Study Guide for Medical-Surgical Nursing by Mariann M. Harding; Collin Bowman-Woodall; Jeffrey Kwong; Dottie Roberts; Debra Hagler; Courtney Reinisch
Call Number: WY 18.2 S933 2020
ISBN: 9780323551564
Publication Date: 2020
Print copy available PAH Medical Library and Holman Biotech Commons
Clinical Handbook for Brunner and Suddarth's Textbook of Medical-Surgical Nursing by Lippincott Williams & Wilkins
Call Number: WY 49 C55 2018
ISBN: 9781496355140
Publication Date: 2018
Print copy available PAH Medical Library
Lippincott Certification Review: Medical-Surgical Nursing by Lippincott Williams & Wilkins; Laura Willis
Call Number: WY 18.2 W734L 2018
ISBN: 9781496387332
Publication Date: 2018
Print copy available PAH Medical Library
Medical-Surgical Nursing Review and Resource Manual, Fourth Edition by Nancy Henne Batchelor; Paula Harrison Gillman; Jeanine Karle Goodin; Deborah J. Schwytzer
Call Number: WY 18.2 B38 2015
ISBN: 9781935213604
Publication Date: 2015
Print copy available PAH Medical Library

NPD-BC and NE-BC Certifications

Nursing Professional Development Review Manual, 3rd Edition by Ellen Gorbunoff; Patricia Kummeth
Call Number: WY 18.2 H392n 2017
ISBN: 9781935213406
Publication Date: 2014
Print available PAH Library
Nurse Executive Review and Resource Manual, 3rd Edition by Al Rundio; Virginia Wilson; Faye Meloy
ISBN: 9781935213789
Publication Date: 2016
This title is available via R2 Library. It will not be in Franklin. We only have one user license. If someone is currently viewing, you will get a turnaway notice.
Nurse Executive Review and Resource Manual by Al Rundio; Virginia Wilson
Call Number: WY 18.2 WY 18.2 K37a 2014 R941n 2013
ISBN: 9781935213345
Publication Date: 2013
Print available PAH Library. Was the newest edition I could buy in print.

Psychiatric-Mental Health Nurse Certification Exam Review Materials

Psychiatric-Mental Health Nurse (PMH-BC™) Certification Review by Raymond Zakhari
ISBN: 9780826145352
Publication Date: 2022
This is an R2 Digital Library title. It is not in Franklin and it is only available for use within PAH IP.

One user at a time can access this resource.
Psychiatric-Mental Health Nursing Review and Resource Manual, 5th Ed by Kim Hutchinson
Call Number: WY 18.2 H976p 2020
ISBN: 9781935213642
Publication Date: 2020
Print book available PAH Library