Guides: Alumni Travel Reading Lists 2020: Inland Sea of Japan

Kyoto

Old Kyoto by John Lowe
Call Number: DS897.K857 L68 2000
ISBN: 0195909402
Publication Date: 2000
This is an accessible and slim volume (only 70 pages!) giving readers an overview of the long history of Japan’s old capital of Kyoto. It covers Kyoto’s early history through the end of the Edo period and explains its culture and society in an engaging way, introducing court life, literature and arts, and the samurai class.

Great East Japan Disasters, March 2011

Flooded landscape with destroyed buildings and debris against a clear blue sky

Natori, Miyagi, by ChiefHira, via Wikimedia Commons

The 3/11 (March 2011) earthquake, tsunami, and reactor meltdown in northeast Japan reverberated through the nation, and continues to impact life today, including in politics and energy policy, community revitalization efforts, activism, and cultural works.

March Was Made of Yarn by Elmer Luke (Editor); David Karashima (Editor)
Call Number: PL782.E1 M29 2012
ISBN: 9780307948861
Publication Date: 2012
This book contains a number of short stories, as well as poetry and a comic, that are reactions by Japanese and foreign authors to the events of March 2011. Some were collected from a variety of literary magazines and others were written for the anthology, and are presented in translation here.
Waseda Bungaku Special Issue: Ruptured Fiction(s) of the Earthquake
Call Number: PL775 .W36 2012
ISBN: 4948717053
Publication Date: 2012
A collection of sixteen short stories written between March and September 2011 for the Waseda Bungaku Shinsai Charity Project. Conversations between authors are also included. Waseda Bungaku is a well-known literary magazine in Japan. This volume contains sixteen stories in English, two in Chinese, and two in Korean, as well as the original Japanese versions of all those that were translated.
No Man's Zone (film) by Fujiwara Toshi (dir.)
Call Number: DVD/PAL 021 835
Publication Date: 2013
This film documents the aftermath of the Fukushima nuclear reactor disaster following the earthquake and tsunami that took place in March 2011.

No Man's Zone official trailer

Read a review of the flm from the Berlin Film Review

Contemporary Art and Architecture

How to Make a Japanese House by Cathelijne Nuijsink (Text by)
Call Number: NA7451 .N85 2012
ISBN: 905662850X
Publication Date: 2012
Cathelijne Nuijsink is a PhD candidate in the Department of East Asian Languages & Civilizations at Penn and is interested in the construction of contemporary Japanese houses, inside and out. Her first book, How to Make a Japanese House, focuses on unique small dwellings.
Japan Style by Geeta Mehta; Kimie Tada; Noboru Murata (Photographer)
Call Number: NA2850 .T33 2005
ISBN: 4805312599
Publication Date: 2013
This book is a well-illustrated introduction to traditional Japanese home architecture and interior design, featuring old homes from all over Japan.
Designing the Ecocity-In-the-Sky: The Seoul Workshop by Jin-Ho Park
Call Number: Fine Arts Library. NA6230 .P27 2014
ISBN: 9781864705928
Publication Date: 2014
Reviews theory behind the design of a vertical ecocity of 100 storey: a comprehensive resource on vertical urbanism
Architecture and Urbanism in Modern Korea by Inha Jung; Ronald G. Knapp (Series edited by); Xing Ruan (Series edited by)
Call Number: Fine Arts Library. NA1565 .C467 2013
ISBN: 9780824835859
Publication Date: 2013
A comprehensive overview of architectural development and urbanization in Korea within the broad framework of modernization.

Seoul Verticality

Yeoeuido, Seoul, 2015 Photo by November-13
CC BY NC 2.0 License

Gyeongju by Mark & Emma Hambleton
CC BY-SA 2.0 License

Inland Sea of Japan

Mt. Fuji, by non-euclidean photography

Japan is rich with culture and history that becomes amplified with captivation when personally adventuring through the nation. Offering visitors the best of all ends of the spectrum, Japan allows travelers to relax during a serene walk through many of their colorful gardens and ancient paths, challenge Mt. Fuji on an unparalleled hike, and enjoy their proclaimed "geek life," within the district exemplifying the country's video-game and anime culture. In addition, visitors can explore history in real-time with the exploration of Hiroshima, and immersing oneself in past and present Japanese culture and customs.

Bibliographer

Selected and Annotated By:

Molly Des Jardin
Japanese Studies Librarian
mollydes @ upenn.edu

Updated 2020
Rebecca Stuhr, Academic Engagement

For more information, visit the Penn Alumni Travel Website.

Pop Culture

Akihabara District at Night, by IQRemix

Coffee Life in Japan by Merry I. White
Call Number: GT2919.J3 W55 2012
ISBN: 9780520259331
Publication Date: 2012
An exploration of the history of café culture in Japan, which has been a popular part of daily life since the nineteenth century.
Drawing on Tradition by Jolyon Baraka Thomas
Call Number: PN6790.J3 T55 2012
ISBN: 9780824835897
Publication Date: 2012
Jolyon Thomas is a professor of Japanese religion at Penn and studies the representation of religion in Japanese pop culture. This volume covers religion in contemporary animation and comics.
Kawaii! Japan's Culture of Cute by Manami Okazaki; Geoff Johnson
Call Number: NK1484.A1 O53 2013
ISBN: 3791347276
Publication Date: 2013
Lavishly illustrated, this book covers all aspects of 'kawaii' (cute) culture in Japan, including both traditionally cute images and the darker gothic side.
Otaku Spaces by Patrick W. Galbraith; Androniki Christodoulou (Photographer)
Call Number: HM646 .G352 2012
ISBN: 9780984457656
Publication Date: 2012
A unique photo book showing interior spaces inhabited by “otaku,” or geeks, in Tokyo. It contains interviews with many otaku about their hobbies and collections, as well as their lifestyles, and includes photos of their rooms and items important to them. This book is a look inside a variety of interesting subcultures in existence in Tokyo.
Couture Korea by Hyonjeong Kim Han
Call Number: Fine Arts Library. GT1565 .C68 2017
ISBN: 9780939117826
Publication Date: 2017
Couture Korea highlights traditional ways of dressing and shows how contemporary haute couture is rooted in Korean tradition.
Korean Screen Cultures: Interrogating Cinema, TV, Music, and Online Games by Andrew David Jackson and Colette Balmaine, eds.
Call Number: Van Pelt Library. P94.65.K6 K66 201
ISBN: 9783034318228
Publication Date: 2015
Explores the «Korean Wave», or Hallyu phenomenon that has brought South Korean popular culture to the world.

Tokyo Tribe, the 2015 live action film of the manga "Tokyo Tribes" by Santo Inoue. Reminiscent of Fellini's Satyricon in its clashing soundtrack, vibrant colors, and chaotic scenes.

Beyond Tokyo and Seoul

The Narrow Road to the Deep North and Other Travel Sketches by Matsuo Basho
Call Number: PL794.4 .A29
ISBN: 0140441859
Publication Date: 1967
This famed work of poetry and travel narrative documents Matsuo Bashō’s journey to the north of Japan on foot in the late 1600s. It is one of the great classics of premodern Japanese literature.
Okuribito (Departures) [film] by Takita Yōjirō (dir.)
Call Number: DVD 019 376
ISBN: 1417232919
Publication Date: 2008
This film is a heartwarming story of a man from the city who comes back to his hometown in a small town in the countryside to run his family’s funeral home business.
Gyeongju: The Capital of Golden Silla by Sarah M. Nelson
Call Number: Van Pelt Library. DS925.K9 N45 2017
ISBN: 9781138778702
Publication Date: 2017
Gyeongju, the capital of the Kingdom of Silla, grew from a loose confederation of villages, called Saro, to become the capital of most of the Korean peninsula and one of the most prosperous and significant in ancient East Asia.
The Sarashina Diary by Sonja Arntzen (Translator); Moriyuki Ito (Translator)
Call Number: PL789.S8 Z4713 2014
ISBN: 9780231167185
Publication Date: 2014
The “Sarashina Lady” (name unknown), daughter of a court noble in the Heian period (794-1185), traveled in the countryside outside of Kyoto and recorded the events of her life and her inner monologues in a diary respected as one of the classics of Japanese literature. In addition, she writes about acquiring and reading another great classic, The Tale of Genji, written at the time in the Heian court. This is a new translation of her diary along with commentary.
Korean Works and Days: Notes from the Diary of a Country Priest by Richard Rutt
Call Number: Libra DS904 .R8
Publication Date: 1964
A record of the Korean rural year as it unfolds with the procession of the seasons from spring to winter and back to spring again.

Japanese and Korean History

Lost Japan by Alex Kerr
Publication Date: 1996
Alex Kerr documents his thirty years in Japan, covering various cultural trends and experiences living as a foreigner, with a focus on environmental degradation and cultural disappearance that is the “hidden” side of contemporary Japan. This book was originally written in Japanese and won the Shinchō Gakugei Literature Prize. He now lives on the island of Shikoku in a small village and continues to write on Japan, in particular the book Dogs and Demons which continues the themes of Lost Japan.
Japan Before Perry by Conrad Totman
Call Number: DS835 .T58
ISBN: 0520041348
Publication Date: 1982
This is an accessible, classic work of Japanese history by a major figure in the field. Totman approaches Japan’s premodern history through the perspective of the environment and its influence on Japanese society. It gives a good overview of Japan’s long and complex history, from pre-history to aristocratic courts and through the military government, up to Commodore Matthew Perry’s visit to Japan in 1852.
Corea, the Hermit Nation by William Elliot Griffis
Call Number: Van Pelt Library. DS907.16 .G75 2015
ISBN: 9781108080491
Publication Date: 2015
Griffis presents an historical outline of Korea compiled from printed sources and eyewitness accounts. First published in 1872. You can also read online at Hathitrust.org
A Concise History of Korea: From Antiquity to the Present by Michael J. Seth
Call Number: Van Pelt Library. DS907.18 .S426 202
ISBN: 9781538128985
Publication Date: 2019
A survey of Korean history from Neolithic times to the present.

Glimpses of Unfamiliar Japan

Read this book online through Hathitrust.org

Underground Tokyo

tokyo from the mori art museum, by non-euclidean photography

Tokyo Vice: An American Reporter on the Police Beat in Japan by Jake Adelstein
Call Number: HV7113.5 .A34 2009
ISBN: 9780307378798
Publication Date: 2009
This memoir is a fascinating look into the daily life of an American reporter working for the largest newspaper in Japan, the Yomiuri Shinbun, and his experiences as a Japanese corporate employee – and, of course, on the vice and organized crime beats as a journalist. He pulls no punches about the nature of the content he covers, so this book is not for the faint of heart, but it’s full of valuable insights into the ways in which the media, police, and organized crime interact in Japan.
Tokyo Sonata (film) by Kurosawa Kiyoshi (dir.)
Call Number: DVD 022 651
ISBN: 1417233451
Publication Date: 2007
This film narrates the troubled life of a salary-man who has been downsized from his company and seeks to hide his unemployment from his family. It simultaneously focuses on his son, who wants more than anything to play the piano and does so on the sly to hide this un-manly activity from his father. Tokyo Sonata sensitively depicts the complexity of what it means to be a man in twenty-first-century Japan and issues of gender and family in contemporary life.

Enjoy Japan's Natural Beauty

Netherlands in Japan, by Agustin Rafael Reyes

Foreigners' Travels in Old Japan

Lafcadio Hearn, by Frederick Gutekunst, via Wikimedia Commons

These books offer accounts of travelers to Japan as it was modernizing in the late 1800s, providing valuable evidence of the ways in which early modern Japan was existing alongside Western influences. They give an interesting picture of Japanese daily life and customs in a time period vastly different from present day Japan.

Glimpses of Unfamiliar Japan by Lafcadio Hearn; Donald Richie (Foreword by); Ethel Longstreet
Call Number: DS809 .H43 2009
ISBN: 9784805310250
Publication Date: 2009
Lafcadio Hearn, who adopted the Japanese name Koizumi Yakumo, lived in Japan in the late 1800s and is famous for his translations of Japanese ghost stories such as Kwaidan. This book is some of his observations of less-frequented parts of Japan. Also available on HathiTrust.
Unbeaten Tracks in Japan by Isabella Bird
Call Number: DS809 .B612 1984
Publication Date: 1984
Isabella Bird wrote a number of travel narratives in the mid-to-late 1800s, including of Korea, China, and here, Japan.

Tokyo Sonata

Preview Tokyo Sonata at Youtube

Politics

These films cover the election campaigns of underdog candidate Kazuhiko Yamauchi, aka 'Yama-san.' First, he ran for Kawasaki city council (outside Tokyo) in 2005 as former PM Jun'ichirō Koizumi's handpicked choice, and then again with an anti-nuclear message several years later in response to the Fukushima disaster.

Senkyō (Campaign) (film) by Sōda Kazuhiro
Call Number: DVD/PAL 027 937
Publication Date: 2007
Senkyō 2 (Campaign 2) (film) by Sōda Kazuhiro
Call Number: DVD 029 582
Publication Date: 2013

Nippon Kaigi, aka Japan Council, is a rising rightwing organization with close ties to the Abe administration, and has considerable influence on Japanese politics. These articles provide an introduction to the issue of rightwing politics in contemporary Japan through the case of Nippon Kaigi, and historical context for understanding Japan's political conflicts in East Asia.

Japan's Largest Rightwing Organization: An Introduction to Nippon Kaigi (article, Japan Focus)

Nippon Kaigi: Empire, Contradiction, and Japan's Future (article, Japan Focus)