Guides: Alumni Travel Reading Lists 2020: New Zealand Adventure

Nature and Expeditions

Among Secret Beauties: A Memoir of Mountaineering in New Zealand and the Himilayas by Brian Wilkins
Call Number: Van Pelt Library. GV199.92.W55 A3 2013
ISBN: 9781877578489
Publication Date: 2013
Brian Wilkins shares his experiences of climbing in the Southern Alps and the Himalayas. Wilkins' New Zealand climbing includes the first ascent of the northeast ridge of Mt Aspiring.

New Zealand Night Life by David Kingham used under Creative Commons CC-BY-NC-ND 2.0

Wild New Zealand - Wild Extremes is the second episode in a documentary series that reveals the country's rich wildlife stories.

Kea, Bird of Paradox: The Evolution and Behavior of a New Zealand Parrot by Judy Diamond; Alan B. Bond
Call Number: Van Pelt Library. QL696.P7 D535 1999
ISBN: 0520920805
Publication Date: 1999
The kea, a crow-sized parrot that lives in the mountains of New Zealand, is sometimes comic and at other times a vicious killer. Its true character is a mystery that biologists have debated for more than a century.
The Drama of Conservation: The History of Pureora Forest, New Zealand by Carolyn M. King, et al., editors
Call Number: e-book (restricted access)
ISBN: 3319184105
Publication Date: 2015
This book offers a history of Pureora Forest Park, one of the most significant sites of natural and cultural history interest in New Zealand. Topics include: review of the geological history of the volcanic zone, its flora and fauna, and the history of Maori and European utilization of forest resources.

Music

The World's Din: Listening to Records, Radio and Films in New Zealand 1880-1940 by Peter Hoar
Call Number: Van Pelt Library. ML1055 .H63 2018
ISBN: 9781988531199
Publication Date: 2018
New Zealanders started hearing things in different ways when new audio technologies arrived from overseas in the late 19th century. Hoar documents the arrival of the first such "talking machines" and their growing place in New Zealanders' public and private lives, through the years of radio to the dawn of television.
Made in Australia and Aotearoa/New Zealand: Studies in Popular Music by Shelley Brunt and Geoff Stahl, editors
Call Number: Van Pelt Library. ML3504 .M33 2018
ISBN: 1138195685
Publication Date: 2018
This work serves as a comprehensive introduction to the history, sociology, and musicology of twentieth-century popular music of Australia and Aotearoa/New Zealand. The volume consists of chapters by leading scholars of Australian and Aotearoan/New Zealand music, and covers the major figures, styles, and social contexts of pop music in Australia and Aotearoa/New Zealand.
Many Voices: Music and National Identity in Aotearoa/New Zealand by Henry Johnson
Call Number: 620158048
ISBN: 9781443821247
Publication Date: 2010
This collection of fourteen essays provides a starting point t for rethinking music and national identity in Aotearoa/New Zealand. The papers offer various perspectives on the interconnections between music and identity, while providing case-studies on diverse topics including performance, composition, and musical styles.

Lorde is a contemporary pop singer and songwriter from Auckland, New Zealand. She rose to fame in 2013 with her hit song Royals and lots of her songwriting inspiration comes from her formative years in Auckland.

Bibliographer

Photograph by Jean Francois Fournier New Zealand, Camp Reinga. Used under a Creative Commons License CC-BY 2.0

Bibliographer
Nick Okrent, Coordinator and Liaison for Humanities Collections

Selected and Annotated by
Mia Capozzoli, Liaison Services

Edited by Rebecca Stuhr
Director, Liaison Services

For more information about this Penn excursion, please visit the Penn Alumni Travel website.

Indigenous Culture

Gottfried Lindauer's New Zealand: The Maori Portraits by Ngahiraka Mason and Zara Stanhope, editors
Call Number: Fisher Fine Arts Library ND1108.L5 A4 2016
ISBN: 9781869408565
Publication Date: 2016
From the 1870s to the early twentieth century, the immigrant artist Gottfried Lindauer travelled to Marae and rural towns around New Zealand and - commissioned by Maori and Pakeha - painted images of important Maori figures. This book presents 67 major portraits and 8 genre paintings alongside detailed accounts of the subject and work.
Mana Maori: The Power of New Zealand's First Inhabitants by Fanny Wonu Veys
Call Number: Van Pelt Library. DU423.A1 V49 2010
ISBN: 9087280831
Publication Date: 2011
The discovery of Aotearoa-New Zealand, the last place on Earth aside from the Antarctic to be peopled, is surrounded by myths. Mana Maori explores the histories of the first Polynesians to discover the land, their encounters with Europeans, and the country's subsequent settlement by Westerners.
The Fourth Eye: Maori Media in Aotearoa New Zealand by Brendan Hokowhitu and Vijay Devadas, editors
Call Number: Van Pelt Library. DU423.A1 F67 2013
ISBN: 9780816681037
Publication Date: 2013
This book brings together Indigenous and non-Indigenous scholars to provide a critical and comprehensive account of the complex relationship between the media and Maori culture.
New Treaty, New Tradition: Reconciling New Zealand and Maori Law by Carwyn Jones
Call Number: Van Pelt Library. KUQ2568 .J66 2016
ISBN: 9780774831680
Publication Date: 2016
New Treaty, New Tradition provides a timely look at how the resolution of land claims in New Zealand continue to shape Indigenous and non-Indigenous cultures alike.

Film

Coming of Age Cinema in New Zealand: Genre, Gender, and Adaptation by Alastair Fox
Call Number: Penn Libraries PN1995.9.Y6 F69 2017
ISBN: 9781474429443
Publication Date: 2017
Fox traces the New Zealand coming-of-age genre and its role in cultural change.
Transnational Film Culture in New Zealand by Simon Sigley
Call Number: e-book (access may be restricted)
ISBN: 1783201479
Publication Date: 2014
This book investigates the transnational nature of film culture through the lens of New Zealand cinema.
Touring the Screen:Tourism and New Zealand Film Geographies by Alfio Leotta
Call Number: e-book (access may be restricted)
ISBN: 1841505846
Publication Date: 2011
Following the success of prominent feature films shot on location, including the film adaptation of "The Lord of the Rings," New Zealand has developed a successful film tourism industry. This book examines New Zealand’s cinematic representation through cinematic tourism.

History

A Land of Milk and Honey? Making Sense of Aotearoa New Zealand by Avril Bell, et al.
Call Number: Van Pelt Library. HN930.5.A8 L36 2017
ISBN: 9781869408626
Publication Date: 2017
New Zealand has been mythologized as a land of milk and honey. In this work, Bell and others analyze the myth.
Teenagers: The Rise of Youth Culture in New Zealand by Chris Brickell
Call Number: Van Pelt Library. HQ799.N45 B75 2017
ISBN: 9781869408688
Publication Date: 2018
We meet young New Zealanders of the 1960s through their diaries, letters, photographs and drawings. Through these texts, Brickell illustrates the changes in New Zealand's culture over the past two centuries.
A History of New Zealand Literature by Mark Williams, editor
Call Number: Van Pelt Library. PR9624.6 .H57 2016
ISBN: 9781107085350
Publication Date: 2016
A History of New Zealand Literature traces the genealogy of New Zealand's literary traditions from its first European visitors in the eighteenth century to its more diverse literary community in the 20th and 21st century.

Kiwi Authors

Janet Frame: The Complete Autobiography by Janet Frame
Call Number: Van Pelt Library. PR9639.3.F7 Z4619 1990
ISBN: 0704350726
Publication Date: 1990
This edition includes all three volumes of Janet Frame's autobiography: "To the Is-land," "An Angel at My Table," and "The envoy from Mirror City."
Potiki by Patricia Grace
Call Number: Penn Libraries PR9639.3.G72 P8
ISBN: 0140088032
Publication Date: 1986
In this novel, Maori writer Patricia Grace tells the story of a small coastal community threatened by profit driven developers.
Find out more about this book at the Encyclopedia of New Zealand.

Art

New Zealand Photography Collected by Athol McCredie
Call Number: Fine Arts Library. TR6.N72 W456 2015
ISBN: 9780994104144
Publication Date: 2015
New Zealand Photography Collected illuminates the richness of New Zealand’s photographic tradition, from nineteenth-century portraits and dramatic landscapes to the latest contemporary art photography.
Look This Way: New Zealand Writers on New Zealand Artists by Sally Blundell, editor
Call Number: Fine Arts Library. N7406 .L66 2007
ISBN: 9781869403713
Publication Date: 2007
New Zealand's writers comment on their favorite local artists, including Barry Linton, Mary Macfarlane, and Gavin Bishop. Each essay is illustrated by color images of the artist's work chosen by the writer.
New Zealand Women Artists: A Survey of 150 Years by Anne Kirker
Call Number: Penn Libraries N7407.5 .K57 1993
ISBN: 9768097302
Publication Date: 1993
“It has been my intention to uncover the personal identity of those women who have heeded their abilities as artists. In short, I wanted to answer the questions of what these women have done and who they are ... The fact that an artist happens to be a woman counts.” - Anne Kirker

Food and Wine

Social, Cultural and Economic Impacts of Wine in New Zealand by Peter Howland
Call Number: Van Pelt Library. HD 9388.N45 S63 2014
ISBN: 9780415639798
Publication Date: 2014
Since the late 1980’s New Zealand's wine industry has grown significantly earning an international reputation for quality wines. Howland provides an innovative, multi-disciplinary and critical review of New Zealand through its wine industry.
Te Matau a Maui : Fish-Hooks, Fishing and Fisheries in New Zealand by Chris Paulin and Mark Fenwick
Call Number: Van Pelt Library. DU423.F5 P38 2015
ISBN: 9780824866181
Publication Date: 2016
The Maori slowly moved away from traditionally used fishing tools and implements as they were influenced by European materials and technology. This book traces that trajectory, as well as the complicated history of New Zealand's history of securing and taking access to traditionally Maori held fisheries.