Guides: Alumni Travel Reading Lists 2020: Arctic Expedition

Wildlife

42-18010732 by jidanchaomian used under Creative Commons License: CC-BY-SA 2.0

A Complete Guide to Arctic Wildlife by Richard Sale (Photographer); Per Michelsen (Photographer)
Call Number: Veterinary Library. QL695 .S25
ISBN: 9781554071784
Publication Date: 2012
Describes the ecological and human dynamics of the Arctic as a whole, with detailed information about the peoples of the region and their history. Following sections on Arctic geology, geography, speciation and biogeography, the book provides extensive field coverage of all the region's mammals and birds.
The Arctic Guide by Sharon Chester
Call Number: Van Pelt Library. QL105 .C47
ISBN: 9780691139753
Publication Date: 2016
Guide to the flora and fauna of earth's northernmost region. Covers more than 800 species of plants, fishes, butterflies, birds, and mammals--that inhabit the Arctic's polar deserts, tundra, taiga, sea ice, and oceans.
Ice Bear: The Cultural History of an Arctic Icon by Michael Engelhard
Call Number: Van Pelt Library. QL737.C27 E537
ISBN: 9780295999227
Publication Date: 2016
From Inuit shamans to Jean Harlow lounging on a bearskin rug, from the cubs trained to pull sleds toward the North Pole to cuddly superstar Knut, it all comes to life in these pages. With research and more than 160 illustrations, the author brings into focus this powerful and elusive animal.

Art and Film

Arctic Cinemas and the Documentary Ethos by Lilya Kaganovsky et al.
Call Number: e-book (access may be restricted)
ISBN: 9780253040299
Publication Date: 2019
Contributors from scholarly and artistic backgrounds come together to provide a comprehensive study of Arctic documentary cinemas from a transnational perspective. Offers a thorough analysis of the concept of the Arctic as it is represented in documentary filmmaking, while challenging the notion of "The Arctic" as a homogenous entity
Masks: Art of the Arctic: Reflections of the Unseen by Donald Ellis, et al.
Call Number: University Museum Library. E99.E7 E45
ISBN: 1910433829
Publication Date: 2015
Ellis examines the history and artistic influence of Inuit masks and ivories with illustrations and discussions of 49 important and rare masks collected over the last 40 years.
Arctic Spirit: Inuit Art from the Albrecht Collection at the Heard Museum by Ingo Hessel
Call Number: University Museum Library. E99.E7 H42
ISBN: 1553651898
Publication Date: 2006
Features the voices and life stories of dozens of the most important Arctic artists, showcasing the vitality and diversity of an enduring tradition.

Reindeer

Svalbard by Christopher Michel used under Creative Commons License: CC-BY 2.0

Bibliographer

Bibliographer
Nick Okrent, Coordinator and Liaison for Humanities Collections

Selected and Annotated by
Mia Capozzoli, Liaison Services

Edited by Rebecca Stuhr
Director, Liaison Services

For more information about this Penn excursion, please visit the Penn Alumni Travel website.

History

A History of the Arctic: Nature, Exploration and Exploitation by John McCannon
Call Number: Van Pelt Library. G606 .M33
ISBN: 1780230184
Publication Date: 2012
This book provides an overview of the region that spans from the Stone Age to the present.
McCannon discusses polar exploration and science, nation-building, diplomacy, environmental issues, and climate change, and the role indigenous populations have played in the Arctic's story.
A Fabulous Kingdom: The Exploration of the Arctic by Charles Officer and Jake Page
Call Number: Van Pelt Library. G608 .O33
ISBN: 0199837805
Publication Date: 2012
Officer and Page chart the arctic quests and the eventual race for the North Pole, chronicling the lives and adventures that would eventually throw light on this land of sunless winters.
Finding the Arctic: History and Culture Along a 2,500-mile Snowmobile Journey from Alaska to Hudson's Bay by Matthew Sturm
Call Number: e-book
ISBN: 1602231648
Publication Date: 2012
Stories of exploration, multicultural interactions, and humans facing nature at its most extreme.

Operation Arctic

Rough 21 by Destination Arctic Circle used under Creative Commons License CC-BY-NC-ND 2.0

A team travels to the edge of the Arctic - and beyond - to find out what life is like on top of the world. Discover the polar bears of Hudson Bay, in Canada, as they wait for the sea-ice to form so they can begin their winter hunt. Meet the citizens of the tiny town of Churchill, head to the oil-fields of Alaska, round up reindeer with the Swedish Sami, and reveal what it takes to keep a Russian icebreaker afloat. Find out more at BBC Earth.

1. Episode 1

2. Episode 2

3. Episode 3

4. Episode 4

Culture

Pack Ice after Sunset by Marcus Trienke used under Creative Commons License: CC-BY-SA 2.0

Arctic Hip Hop: A Documentary by Randy Kelley, Director
Call Number: Annenberg Circulation Desk. DVD GV1796.H57 A733
Publication Date: 2008
While the kids of Hamlet of Cambridge Bay, Nunavut are dancing to the beat, they are encouraged to blend their rich, ancient culture with a modern one. Between backspins and body-waves, they discuss bullying, body image and suicide. Five days later they emerge not only better dancers, but more confident kids, who have a clearer idea of how to balance their cultural identity with modern times

The Sea Woman: Sedna in Inuit Shamanism and Art in the Eastern Arctic by Frederic Laugrand and Jarich Oosten
Call Number: University Museum Library. E99.E7 L38
ISBN: 9781602230262
Publication Date: 2009
Inuit shamans derived their healing skills and power over natural elements from their ability to communicate with supernatural beings, such as Sedna the sea woman. Laugrand and Oosten focus on representations of the sea woman as an example of shamanism contextualized in art. They explore what these depictions reveal about the dialogue between Inuit and Western cultures in the twentieth century.
Arctic Clothing of North America--Alaska, Canada, Greenland by J.C. H. King, et al.
Call Number: University Museum Library. GT1605 .A73
ISBN: 0773530088
Publication Date: 2005
Arctic clothing encompasses a great diversity of national and community styles and also contemporary and traditional costume making. In this text, questions of identity, and the copyright and ownership of design are explored along with the nature of people's creativity in rapidly changing traditional societies.

Nature

Rough 06 by Destination Arctic Circle used under Creative Commons License: CC-BY-NC-ND 2.0

Baffin Island: Field Research and High Arctic Adventure, 1961-1967 by Jack D. Ives
Call Number: Van Pelt Library. G69.I94 A3
ISBN: 9781552388297
Publication Date: 2016
Drawing from the recollections of his Baffin colleagues as well as from his own memories, Ives takes readers on an adventure, describing the day-to-day experiences of the field teams in the context of both contemporary Arctic research and bureaucratic decision making.
Ecology of Arctic Environments by Sarah J. Woodin, et al.
Call Number: Penn Libraries. QH84.1 .E26
ISBN: 0632042184
Publication Date: 1997
Beginning with a description of the physical-chemical environment and a discussion of microbial and lower plant communities, the book examines how arctic plant communities influence ecosystem, and regional and global processes in the context of climate change.
Arctic Ice Shelves and Ice Islands by Luke Copland, et al.
Call Number: e-book (access may be restricted)
ISBN: 9789402411010
Publication Date: 2017
Overview of the current state of knowledge of Arctic ice shelves, ice islands and related features.

Indigenous Culture

Traditions, Traps and Trends: Transfer of Knowledge in Arctic Regions by Jarich Oosten, et al.
Call Number: University Museum Library. GN451 .T73
ISBN: 9781772123722
Publication Date: 2018
Experts survey critical issues surrounding the knowledge practices of the Inuit of northern Canada and Greenland and the Northern Sámi of Scandinavia.
Experiencing and Protecting Sacred Natural Sites of Sámi and Other Indigenous Peoples by Leena Heinämäki et al.
Call Number: University Museum Library. DL42.L36 E97
ISBN: 9783319480688
Publication Date: 2017
With contributions from Sámi and non-Sámi scholars from Arctic regions, this book provides new insights into our understanding of the significance and legal protection of sacred sites for Sámi of the Arctic.
Protecting the Arctic: Indigenous Peoples and Cultural Survival by Mark Nuttall
Call Number: University Museum Library. G606 .N88
ISBN: 9057023555
Publication Date: 1998
Nuttall explores some of the ways in which indigenous peoples have taken political action regarding Arctic environmental and sustainable development issues, and investigates the involvement of indigenous peoples in international environmental policy-making.

Spitsbergen, Svalbard

Bellsund by foilistpeter used under Creative Commons License: CC-BY-NC 2.0