Skip to main content

Animal Welfare Science

Penn Veterinary Medicine Librarian

Margy Lindem's picture
Margy Lindem
Contact:
Hill Pavilion
380 S. University Ave.,
Philadelphia, PA 19104
Website

Librarian

Dee Crandall's picture
Dee Crandall
Contact:
New Bolton Center
382 West Street Rd
Kennett Square, PA 19348
Ground Flr - Myrin Building
Website

This is a companion guide for the Animal Welfare Science course.

Below are descriptions of research databases recommended for animal welfare searches.

The Penn Vet Library Orientation link provides information on using library resources, getting copies of materials, and searching for information.

The librarians are here to help you - don't hesitate to be in touch!

About Databases

A research database is an organized collection of information about publications, often focused on a particular scholarly discipline. Databases are indexed in a variety of ways to facilitate searching. They may contain proprietary information not freely available on the open web.

General databases

Discipline-specific databases

These databases identify articles and other scholarly works published in particular disciplines. Look for the PennText icon on the article record to link to the article online or to request it from another library.  

Recommended databases:

Also consider:

Online resources

Vocabulary of Animal Welfare Science

The following is a list of subject headings that can be helpful when searching for information on animal welfare, depending on the database searched. 

Animal behavior

Animal experimentation

Animal health

Animal housing

Animal husbandry

Animal preferences

Animal production

Animal rights

Animal stress

Animal welfare

Animal wellbeing

Anti-cruelty law (animals)

Environmental enrichment

Human-animal relations

Humane treatment of animals

Transport of animals

Zoo animal welfare

Books mentioned in course