Guides: Research Impact and Citation Analysis: Find Grants and Other Funding

Compile Departmental Publications

Find Grants and Other Funding

Funding Sources | Pivot-RP for Funding Opportunities

Funding Sources

Pivot-RP
Pivot-RP is a database of funding opportunities, open calls for papers from upcoming conferences, and previously awarded grants. To sign in, go to the Pivot-RP website, choose "Use login from my institution", and select University of Pennsylvania.
SPIN
SPIN is a funding database available through PennERA (Penn's Electronic Research Administration) portal. It includes over 40,000 searchable funding opportunities from national and international government and private (foundations, associations and corporations) funding sources. To access SPIN, go to PennERA to authenticate using PennKey and password. Once logged into PennERA, select SPIN from the left navigation panel.
Grants.gov
Single access point for information on over 1,000 grant programs and approximately $500 billion in annual awards.

Foundation Directory Online
Grantseeking research tool which provides access to the Foundation Center's comprehensive database of 80,000 grantmakers and half a million grants. Includes detailed information on grantmakers, companies, grants, and grant recipients, as well as access to grantmaker web sites and searchable 990s.

Grant Advisor Plus
Information on grant, research, and fellowship opportunities for U.S. institutions of higher education and their faculty. Click on "Subscriber Pages" to search.
NOTE: only available through Penn IP addresses.
more...less...
The Database Search allows you to enter your own search criteria (such as funding agency, keywords, academic division, and more). Results are displayed in the same table format as the Deadline Memo Hyperlinks. The Article Search allows keyword searching through hundreds of abstracts and Federal Register articles.

Pivot-RP for Funding Opportunities

Searching for funding opportunities

Use either the main or advanced search box to look for keywords related to your topics of interest, then use the filters on the results page to narrow. Example filters include:

Funding type: Grants, fellowships, scholarships, etc.
Funder type: Federal, private, professional society, academic, and more
Career stage: Opportunities for established professionals, early career, graduate students, and undergraduates

Just below the search box, you can also Browse Funders A-Z and make use of the advanced search.

Advanced filters

There are separate advanced searches for each of Pivot-RP's main modules: Funding, Profiles, Conferences, and Awarded Grants.

In the Funding advanced search, you can search for opportunities from a specific funder, set funding thresholds, and limit to opportunities with an upcoming deadline, among several other advanced filters.

Video tutorial

The detailed instruction video below from Pivot-RP walks through constructing and filtering a search. Pivot-RP has a number of other video tutorials related to the Profiles, Conferences, and Awarded Grants modules.

Setting up search alerts

Once you set up a search with your desired keywords and filters, you can save the search and get weekly notifications with new funding opportunities which meet your criteria. At the top of the results screen, click Save Search. A pop-up box will prompt you to name the search and ask whether or not you want weekly alerts.