Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Primary & Secondary Sources
Rare Books and Special Collections Library; the American University in Cairo http://digitalcollections.aucegypt.edu/digital/collection/p15795coll15/id/1004/rec/193.
Databases for Scholarly Articles
General, multidisciplinary periodical database, covering all scholarly disciplines, with many general and popular magazines, and news sources. Includes bibliographic citations with indexing and abstracts for more than 16,000 periodicals.
Historical coverage of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada).
JSTOR specializes in making available the back issues of journals in a wide variety of humanities and social science disciplines. Issues are available both as images and as text, making searching possible both within each title and across the whole database.
Covers sociology, case work, demographics, policy studies, political science, family studies, feminist studies, and social security programs.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
67% of the more than 1500 monitored journals are published outside the United States, and there are nearly 500,000 records beginning in 1975. Some of the records have fulltext links and coverage includes all aspects of political science, as well as international relations and comparative politics.
Digital Archives & Primary Sources
The University on the Square: Documenting Egypt's 21st Century Revolution digital collection features oral histories, photographs, video recordings, and visual art that document the January 25th Revolution. The digital collection preserves the history of the 18 Days in Egypt and beyond by collecting content from activists, participants, and observers from the American University in Cairo as well as members of the larger Egyptian and global communities.
Features a number of guides on archives, including digital and openly available materials.
Hoover Institution Poster Collection
Digitized posters from more than eighty countries, mainly from the twentieth century.
International Digital Ephemera Project
Includes materials on the Green Movement of Iran and Tahrir Square.
Qatar Digital Library
This growing archive covers modern history and culture of the Gulf and wider region, available online.