International Relations

Provides articles on national security issues from historical, economic, political, and technological perspectives. Key features include examination of the full range of contemporary weapons systems including air, sea, and land warfare; ballistic missile defense; space weapons; stealth technology; antisubmarine warfare; and biological weapons. Includes excerpts from treaties, speeches, and other sources and provides an overview of important events such as scandals and breaches of national security.

Resource covering the history of warfare from ancient times to the present day. The Encyclopedia provides an overview of the most important events, people, and terms associated with warfare - from the Punic Wars to the Mongol conquest of China, and the War on Terror.

Multivolume encyclopedia charts the interdisciplinary field of Peace Studies, offering a comprehensive survey of the full range of historical, political, theoretical, and philosophical issues relating to peace and conflict. All major figures are covered, as well as major events, organizations, theories, and much more.

Published by the IISS, the Military Balance is the annual assessment of the military capabilities and defense economics of 170 countries world-wide, produced annually by the IISS since 1961.

This encyclopaedia provides a comprehensive overview of major theories and approaches to the study of peace and conflict across different humanities and social sciences disciplines.

Provides perspectives of war through the lens of the social sciences, looking at the causes, processes, and effects of war and drawing from a vast group of fields such as communication and mass media, economics, political science and law, psychology, and sociology.

A leading peer-reviewed, interdisciplinary, and international journal publishing on topics such as civil-military relations, military organizations, use of force, conflict resolution, logic and consequences of war, terrorism, military leadership & professionalism, ethics, security, arms control, peacekeeping, defense economics, recruitment and retention, reserve forces and veterans, representation issues, family and health issues, and military history.

A peer-reviewed journal of interdisciplinary international relations in Europe with a focus on Nordic and European Affairs.

A leading scholarly journal focused on the role of intelligence and secretive agencies in international relations.

JCR is an interdisciplinary journal of social scientific research and theory on human conflict. The journal focuses largely on international conflict but also explores a variety of national, intergroup, and interpersonal conflicts.

JPD is a refereed journal providing research at the intersections of conflict, development, and peace.

JPR is an interdisciplinary and international peer-reviewed bimonthly journal of scholarly work in peace research and conflict studies.

Publishes leading scholarship in the field of international security from a broad perspective. Security Studies is not a policy journal and focuses on scholarly research in the area of security.

Publishes theoretical and empirical studies on the causes of terrorism and insurgency as well as the measures required to achieve their resolution. The journal addresses security challenges fuelled by religious and nationalist strife, moribund peace processes, disputes over natural resources, and transnational organized crime.

Provides scholarly research in a broad range of issues associated with terrorism and political violence, including the political meaning of terrorist activity, violence by rebels and by states, the links between political violence and organized crime, protest, rebellion, revolution, the influence of social networks, and the impact on human rights.

The database includes more than 63,000 of the most important declassified documents regarding critical U.S. policy decisions. There are over 29 complete collections, each offering specialized insights. Integrated, they allow you to explore policy across several different areas at once.

The Homeland Security Digital Library (HSDL) is the Nation's premier collection of authoritative documents and resources covering critical topics such as cybersecurity, terrorism, disaster preparedness, border security, public health, and more. The HSDL is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Homeland Security’s National Preparedness Directorate, FEMA, and the Naval Postgraduate School Center for Homeland Defense and Security.

Jane's is a leading information provider for defense, national security, law enforcement, public safety, and transport sectors. Includes Defence Weekly, Intelligence Weekly, Terrorism Watch Report, Country Risk Daily Report, and more.

The JSTOR Security Studies collection gathers academic and open policy research on international and national security problems and foreign policy issues from a global perspective. Security Studies includes more than 70 scholarly, trade, and military journals–all new to JSTOR– in addition to 10 Open Access journals and more than 50,000 open research reports from more than 100 institutes.

Founded in 2013 as a forum on law, rights, and U.S. National Security, Just Security Just Security is based at the Reiss Center on Law and Security . Article authors include individuals with significant government experience, academics, civil society practitioners, and individuals directly affected by national security policies,

Designed to offer current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government, this database offers a thorough collection of periodicals, academic journals, and other content pertinent to the increasing needs of those sites...Provides cover-to-cover full text to nearly 300 journals and periodicals and abstracts for nearly 400 titles.

Bibliographic citations with abstracts describing all aspects of peace research, including the causes and correlates of conflict, case studies in conflict, tension, and war, international laws and conventions on peace and conflict, diplomacy, negotiation, and international relations, international organizations and nations and their policies on peace and conflict, military organization and policy, political and social movements, conflict resolution and peacekeeping, and arms control and disarmament.

TRAC combines one of the world’s largest databases of terrorists, terrorist groups, hate groups and their abettors with original analytical essays on seminal terrorism topics, profiles of vulnerable regions and cities, and live feed of news and analysis.” – resource description.

ACLED is a disaggregated data collection, analysis, and crisis mapping project. ACLED collects information on the dates, actors, locations, fatalities, and types of all reported political violence and protest events around the world. The ACLED team conducts analysis to describe, explore, and test conflict scenarios, and makes both data and analysis open for free use by the public.

An open-access database with datasets on international relations topics such as interstate disputes, membership in intergovernmental organizations, and international alliances. The Correlates of War project collects and disseminates quantitative data in international relations. Datasets include: COW Country Codes; State System Membership; COW War Data; Militarized Interstate Disputes; Militarized Interstate Dispute Locations; National Material Capabilities; World Religion Data; Formal Alliances; Territorial Change; Direct Contiguity; Colonial/Dependency Contiguity; Intergovernmental Organizations; Diplomatic Exchange; Trade.

An open-source database including information on terrorist events around the world from 1970 through 2015 (with annual updates planned for the future). The GTD includes systematic data on domestic as well as international terrorist incidents that have occurred during this time period. Currently contains information on over 150,000 terrorist attacks, 75,000 bombings, 17,000 assassinations, and 9,000 kidnappings since 1970. Includes information on at least 45 variables for each case, with more recent incidents including information on more than 120 variables. Over 4,000,000 news articles and 25,000 news sources were reviewed to collect incident data from 1998 to 2015 alone.

United Nations database of military expenditures by country.

Provides data collections on topics such as individual terrorist events, the organizational behavior of ethnic groups in the Middle East and North Africa, profiles of individual perpetrators of terrorist events in the United States, public opinion in Muslim-majority countries, and profiles of individual terrorist organizations.

This study contains data on 6,754 political instability events in 84 selected nations in the period 1948-1965. These data, which permit measurement of political instability and the correlates of internal conflict behavior, are concerned with conflict directed by groups and individuals in the prevailing political system against other groups or persons, and with uncovering the determinants of stability within all national political systems. The variables in the dataset are divided into four basic types: variables that identify events, classify events, describe events, and evaluate events. The study provides a conflict intensity rating for each event. Political instability events are classified from low to high and include institutionally prescribed elections, the fall of cabinets, martial laws, assassinations of significant group leaders, mass arrests, coup d'etats, and civil wars.

Contains information on and access to the most recent update of the Polity data series, originally designed by Ted Robert Gurr. The Polity V Project continues the Polity research tradition of coding the authority characteristics of states in the world system for purposes of comparative, quantitative analysis.

SIPRI is an independent international institute dedicated to research into conflict, armaments, arms control and disarmament. SIPRI produces databases of data in five major areas: Arms Transfers; Arms Industry; SIPRI Multilateral Peace Operations Database; SIPRI Military Expenditure Database; SIPRI also provides information on arms embargoes, provides national reports on arms exports, and links to all publicly accessible national reports on arms exports.

UCDP is the world’s main provider of data on organized violence and the oldest ongoing data collection project for civil war, with a history of almost 40 years. UCDP also operates and continuously updates its online database (UCDP Conflict Encyclopedia) on armed conflicts and organized violence, in which information on several aspects of armed conflict such as conflict dynamics and conflict resolution is available.

The President's Budget request for the Department of Defense sustains the President's commitment to invest in America's security and prepare for the threats and challenges of a new age by funding a high state of military readiness and ground force strength; strengthening combat capabilities of America's Armed Forces; developing the capabilities to deter and defeat future threats to the Nation's security; and improving the quality of life for service members and their families.

xSub is a repository of micro-level, subnational event data on armed conflict and contention around the world. Their goal is to preserve and consolidate multiple open-source data collections in one comprehensive electronic archive, creating a “database of databases” for purposes of research, education, policy-making, and evaluation.

Annual publication from the U.S. Department of State's Bureau of Arms Control, Verification and Compliance that provides statistical information and in-depth analysis on military expenditures, arms transfers, armed forces, and related economic data for each country of the world. As of 2021

The Center for Strategic and International Studies (CSIS) is a bipartisan, nonprofit policy research organization focused on defense and security.Topical areas covered include civil conflict; conflict prevention; conflict resolution insurgency; intervention; peace keeping; refugees and territorial disputes.

The IISS is a non-partisan organisation, independent of government and other bodies. Its mission is to promote the adoption of sound policies to further global peace and security and maintain civilized international relations. Topics covered include civil conflict, conflict prevention, conflict resolution, aerospace, defense policy, defense economics, climate change, energy security, and food security.

The RAND Corporation is a global public policy organization providing research across various policy areas including international affairs, national security and terrorism and homeland security.

The Brookings Institution is a nonprofit public policy organization based in Washington, DC. Its mission is to conduct in-depth research that leads to new ideas for solving problems facing society at the local, national and global levels. The international affairs research is focused on global governance and politics; human rights; illicit trade; Islamist movements; migrants; refugees and internally; displaced persons; nation-building; U.S. foreign policy; and the United Nations.

The Carnegie Endowment for International Peace is a global network of policy research centers in Russia, China, Europe, the Middle East, India, and the United States providing research on in bilateral, regional, and global issues. Program areas covered include: Asia; cyber policy initiative, democracy and rule of law, energy and climate, Europe, geo-economics and strategy, Middle East, nuclear policy, Russia and Eurasia, and South Asia.