Guides: International Relations: Reference Resources

Reference Resources

Overview│ Sage Knowledge │ Reference for International Relations

Overview

While you might have a particular research topic in mind, you may not be familiar with the events, people, concepts, or issues involved. Using a good reference source for background research can provide you with that information. This page provides relevant reference sources specific to international relations including encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, and other politically related background resources. Although you may be used to using print versions of reference books, most are now available electronically through our library databases. Here are several tips:

Instead of Wikipedia, use the Encyclopedia Britannica online for quick facts and overviews of general information. The Encyclopedia Britannica remains the gold standard for general encyclopedias.
Use a subject encyclopedia such as the Encyclopedia of International Relations and Global Politics to learn about key international relations concepts.
For international relations articles use a subject database such as Worldwide Political Science Abstracts.

SAGE Knowledge

SAGE Knowledge is an online research database that provides reference materials such as encyclopedias, handbooks, and other reference works that cover the social sciences, including political science and international relations.

SAGE Knowledge
To search for political resources from the SAGE Knowledge homepage go to >SAGE Reference > Politics and International Relations.
Congressional Quarterly (CQ) Press at SAGE Knowledge
CQ Press at SAGE Knowledge aggregates reference materials, encyclopedias, and primary source documents on legislative history in the United States. To browse the CQ Press Library go to SAGE Knowledge > CQ Press > Politics and International Relations.
International Encyclopedia of Political Science
The online edition of an eight-volume set covers every field of politics, from political theory and methodology to political sociology, comparative politics, public policies, and international relations. Entries are arranged in alphabetical order, and a list of entries by subject area appears in the front of each volume for ease of use.
21st Century Political Science: A Reference Handbook
Provides over 99 entries on various political science topics divided into six major parts: (I) General Approaches in Political Science, (II) Comparative Politics, (III) International Relations, (IV) Political Science Methodology, (V) Political Thought, and (VI) American Politics.