Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This is a guide to basic sources for the study of religion and world religions. Each section includes encyclopedias, journal indexes and atlases.
Symbols of World Religions
General Reference Sources
Encyclopedia of Religion
Call Number: Van Pelt Reference Stacks BL31 .E46 2005
Publication Date: 2004
This second edition, which is intended to reflect both changes in academia and in the world since the first edition of 1987, includes almost all of the 2,750 original entries--many heavily updated--as well as approximately 600 entirely new articles. Preserving the best of Mircea Eliade's original first edition cross-cultural approach, while emphasizing religion's role within everyday life and as a unique experience from culture to culture, this new edition is the definitive work in the field. An international team of scholars and contributors have reviewed, revised and added to every word of the classic work, making it relevant to the questions and interests of all researchers.
Encyclopædia of religion and ethics
Van Pelt Reference - Stacks
Call no.: BL31 .E4 1951
13 v. in 7. illus., plates, facsims., tables. 27 cm.
Original published 1910-1927 it remains a standard work for its depth of coverage and the detail of its articles. The bibliographies also remain important for their links to nineteenth century textual scholarship.
ATLA Religion Database
Covers all religious traditions; strongest coverage is for materials dealing with the Judeo-Christian tradition. While about half of the material included is in English, it includes materials published in most European languages with extensive coverage of publications in German, French, Italian, and Spanish.
Religious and Theological Abstracts
Provides abstracts of articles in scholarly journals in the fields of Religion and Theology from a wide variety of periodical literature, including Christian, Jewish, and other world religions, and provides English language abstracts of articles in English, Hebrew, Afrikaans, and major European languages.
Atlas of Religion
The atlas of religion / Joanne O'Brien and Martin Palmer ; consultant editor, David B. Barrett.
Call Number: Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: G1046.E4 O2 2007
Publication Date: 2007
The Atlas of Religion locates the origin, the heartland, and the sacred places of each of the major religions and provides essential background with a valuable table showing the fundamental beliefs of Buddhism, Christianity, Hinduism, Islam, Judaism, Sikhism, and Taoism.
Atlas of the World's Religions
Ninian Smart (Editor); Frederick Denny
Call Number: Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: G1046.E4 A75 2007
Publication Date: 2007
With text by leading experts, thematic maps, tables, and charts, theAtlas of the World's Religions, Second Edition ranges from the travels of the Buddha to the geographical distribution of modern indigenous faiths, providing a full and informative picture of world religion, both past and present.
Through almost 200 full-color maps, it shows the historical development and present state of all the world's major religions, provides a comprehensive overview of the major events over time that influenced the geographical development of the world's religions, and it provides a global and regional assessment of religion in the modern world.
New Historical Atlas of Religion in America
New Historical Atlas of Religion in America - Edwin Scott Gaustad; Philip L. Barlow; Richard W. Dishno
Call Number: Van Pelt Library Reference Oversize: G1201.E4 N4 2001
Publication Date: 2001
This massive atlas (435 pp.) covers the "growth, development, and diversity of America's communities of faith across nearly 400 years."
Here is a vastly more complex American religious life--from the decline of mainstream Protestantism to the emergence of evangelical churches and the growing influence of Muslim, Hindu, Buddhist, and other faiths. Parts One and Two are a history--in maps and text--of American religions. Part Three focuses in-depth on Lutherans, Mormons, and Roman Catholics. Part Four examines the political, cultural, and social aspects of religion in American public life.
Oxford Bibliographies Online: Biblical Studies
Offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on Biblical studies, including perspectives from fields ranging from archaeology, Egyptology, Assyriology, and linguistics through textual, historical, and sociological studies, to literary theory, feminism, philosophy, and theology. Bibliographies are browseable by subject area and keyword searchable.