Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Oxford Dictionary of the Christian Church
also in print:
The Oxford Dictionary of the Christian Church - F. L. Cross (Editor); Elizabeth A. Livingstone
Call Number: Van Pelt Library Reference Desk: BR95 .O8 2005
Publication Date: 2005
Authoritative and wide-ranging in its scope,The Oxford Dictionary of the Christian Churchis the indispensable one-volume reference work on all aspects of the Christian Church. It contains over 6,000 cross-referenced A-Z entries, and offers unrivalled coverage of all aspects of this vast and often complex subject, including theology, churches and denominations, patristic scholarship, the bible, the church calendar and its organization, popes, archbishops, saints, and mystics. Most articles have bibliographies.
Atlas of Global Christianity
Atlas of Global Christianity - Steve Johnson; Todd M. Johnson (Editor); Kenneth R. Ross (Editor)
Call Number: Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks:BR479 .A85 2009
Publication Date: 2010
The Atlas of Global Christianityis a concise reference that begins with the epoch-making "Edinburgh 1910" World Missionary Conference, the first scholarly atlas to depict the twentieth-century shift of Christianity to the Global South and the first to map Christian affiliation at the provincial level. The full-color atlas, with maps and graphs, is divided into five major sections: Part I covers the world, including thematic maps on world issues and world religions and comparing the global context of 1910 and 2010. It also contains maps on religious freedom and religious diversity. Part II focuses on context with thematic maps reflecting major Christian traditions, such as Anglicans, Independents, Marginals, Orthodox, Protestants, and Roman Catholics.
Encyclopedia of Christianity
Bowden, John Stephen, ed.
xli, 1364 p. : ill. (some col.), maps ; 26 cm.
Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks
Call Number: BR95 .E47 2005
Though dated (1909) still immensely valuable for level of detail and historical bibliography.