2nd ed. Detroit : Macmillan Reference USA in association with the Keter Pub. House, c2007. 22 v. : ill. (some col.), maps (some col.) ; 29 cm. Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks DS102.8 .E496 2007
RAMBI, the Index of Articles on Jewish Studies, is a selective bibliography of articles in the various fields of Jewish Studies and the study of the Land of Israel (Erets Israel), arranged by subject. The material is compiled from thousands of periodical and collections of articles - in Hebrew, Yiddish and European Languages, mainly from the holdings of the Jewish National and University Library (JNUL). Journals and new publications indexed cover the following subjuect areas: Booklore and Bibliography, Bible, post-Biblical literature and Early Christianity, Rabbinic Literature and and the Jewish Law, Philosophy and Religion, Litergy and the Jewish Annual Cycle, Literature, Language, Jewish History in the Diaspora, the Land of Israel, and the Cultural Life of the Jewish People. Includes author and subject indices.
RAMBI, the Index of Articles on Jewish Studies, is a selective bibliography of articles in the various fields of Jewish Studies and the study of the Land of Israel (Erets Israel), arranged by subject. The material is compiled from thousands of periodical and collections of articles - in Hebrew, Yiddish and European Languages, mainly from the holdings of the Jewish National and University Library (JNUL). Journals and new publications indexed cover the following subjuect areas: Booklore and Bibliography, Bible, post-Biblical literature and Early Christianity, Rabbinic Literature and and the Jewish Law, Philosophy and Religion, Litergy and the Jewish Annual Cycle, Literature, Language, Jewish History in the Diaspora, the Land of Israel, and the Cultural Life of the Jewish People. Includes author and subject indices.
online and in print
Gilbert, Martin, 1936-
8th ed.
London ; New York : Routledge, c2010.
157 p. ; 26 cm.
Van Pelt Reference - Stacks
Call no.: G1030 .G46 2010
When Bedouin shepherds discovered the first of the Dead Sea Scrolls in 1947, one of the most fascinating mysteries of ancient history was exposed. Embedded in the 850 manuscripts eventually uncovered were questions about everything from the Qumran community that produced the scrolls to their impact on our understanding of biblical studies. Why were the scrolls preserved in caves? What do they reveal about such contemporary events as the life and death of Jesus, the rise of Talmudic Judaism, and the flourishing of the Essenes, Pharisees, and other Second Temple groups? These questions are identified and explored in Lawrence Schiffman and James VanderKam’s groundbreaking Encyclopedia of the Dead Sea Scrolls. Featuring 450 articles by an international community of 100 distinguished scholars, the Encyclopedia is the definitive account of what we know about the scrolls—their history, relevance, meaning, and the controversies that surround them.
