Religious Studies: Islam

Online through Brill and in print
2nd ed.
and 3rd ed

Third edition, begun in 2007, is still in its early stages.

2nd ed. print:
Location: Ctr for Adv Judaic Studies Lib Ref Ency, 4th & Walnut
Call Number: DS37 .E523
Location: University Museum Library Reference
Call Number: DS37 .E523
Location: Van Pelt Library Middle East Seminar (Rm. 523)
Call Number: DS37 .E523
Location: Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks
Call Number: DS37 .E523

Atlas of Islam, 1800-2000 - Andreas Birken
Call Number: Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks:G1785 .B57 2010
Publication Date: 2010
This new Atlas of Islam covers the history of the Islamic world from 1800 until the year 2000. In 85 original maps it offers accessible surveys on population, history and politics, religion, and the economy. Colonialism and de-colonization are extensively covered for the entire Islamic world, including post-USSR Cetnral Asia. The Atlas of Islam also contains detailed maps about Iraq and the Gulf Wars, Afghanistan, the Arab-Israeli conflict and the strategic issue of water management. The index lists variants of all place names in the Atlas.

An Historical Atlas of Islam - Hugh Kennedy (Editor)
Call Number: Van Pelt Library Reference Atlas Cases: G1786.S1 H6 2002
Publication Date: 2001
"An Historical Atlas of Islam" by William C. Brice was originally published by Brill in 1981. In 2001, Brill published a new edition of "An Historical Atlas of Islam / Atlas Historique de l'Islam," completely revised and substantially augmented by Professor Hugh Kennedy. It provides an overview of Islamic history from its inception up to the beginning of the twentieth century and is the standard work.

"Oxford Bibliographies in Islamic Studies provides expert guidance to the field in all its diversity and throughout its developmental stages. Top scholars in the field have contributed on their areas of expertise, so that users will understand how the field is organized and why it developed in the way it did. The articles present a guided tour through the key literature on each topic, providing context for its development, and a balanced overview of the major issues within a given topic."

Adamec, Ludwig W.
2nd ed.
Rowan and Littlefield, 2017
Librar BP50 .A33 2017
Adamec (Middle Eastern studies, U. of Arizona) presents a historical dictionary on the religion of Islam. Entries provide information on the biographies of key figures, including religious and secular leaders, Koranic scholars, legal theorists, jihadists, and others; significant events and stages in the expansion and development of Islam; significant concepts and practices; major sects and schools of theology and jurisprudence; and other aspects of Islamic culture. The entries are cross-referenced and the dictionary also contains an introductory essay, a list of acronyms and abbreviations, a chronology, and a bibliography.

Roy, Olivier and Antoine Sfeir, editors ; English edition translated, edited, and adapted by John King.
New York : Columbia University Press, c2007.
ix, 430 p. ; 27 cm.
Van Pelt Reference - Stacks
Call no.: BP40 .D5313 2007
Originally published in French as Dictionnaire mondial de l'islamisme , this dictionary is a unique presentation of the tenets, movements, people, places, and history of modern Islamism (not to be confused with Islamic terrorism). Editor of the renowned Arabic and Islamic studies journal Cahiers de l'Orient , Sfeir and his team of Cahiers writers have produced a volume that explains the rise of Islamism and its effects on both Muslim and Western societies. Admirable in both its breadth and its depth, the dictionary is written clearly, and its 2000-plus entries, arranged A to Z, are even-handed and well researched.

Esposito, John L.
New York : Oxford University Press, 2003.
xviii, 359 p. ; 25 cm.
Van Pelt Reference - Stacks
Call no.: BP40 .O95 2003
Offers over 2,000 entries in an A-Z format, covering topics relating to Islam, including Islamic law, culture, key leaders, and historical events.

Encyclopaedic dictionary of qurʾānic terms, concepts, personalities, place names, cultural history and exegesis extended with essays on the most important themes and subjects within qurʾānic studies. With nearly 1000 entries in 5 volumes, the EQ is the first comprehensive, multi-volume reference work on the Qurʾān to appear in a Western language.
Print Counterparts: Contains the complete articles of the printed volumes 1 to 5.