Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This guide covers government publications produced in the federal legislative process of the United States, from the proposal of a bill to the enactment of a public law. These documents include bills, hearings, prints, reports, Congressional proceedings, and public laws.
For Assistance with U.S. Government Documents
Van Pelt Library
University of Pennsylvania
Major Sites for Legislative Documents
ProQuest Legislative Insight
Covers full legislative histories from 1789 to the present. Bills included.
Full Legislative Histories from 1969-present.
Collection includes the full text of congressional publications, including:
Committee prints, 2004-.
Full-text hearings in PDF for 1824-1979.
Testimony transcripts, 1988 -.
Committee Reports, 1990-.
Congressional Record, 1985-.
House and Senate Documents 1995 -.
Bill texts, 1989-, Public Law, 1988-. Statutes at Large
Congress.gov is the official source for federal legislative information. Covers 1973-present. See Content and coverage
Content includes bills from 1993 to the present, House and Senate Documents and Reports from 104th Congress (1995-96) forward.
U.S. Congressional Library from Hein Online
Content includes bound and daily versions of Congressional Record, its three predecessor titles, and other important congressional material