Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Getting an Overview on an Issue
The following sources may be useful for background reading on a legislative issue.
CQ Almanac - with CQ Electronic Library
1945 - present. Reviews major legislation and political events of a given year. Provides summary discussion of legislative action for the year covered.
Congress and the Nation
Each volume covers one four-year presidential term. Chapters cover various policy issues, and provide an introductory overview and chronology of legislative actions.
CRS Reports - from ProQuest Congressional
Part of ProQuest Congressional. Reports on subjects prepared by the Congressional Research Service of the Library of Congress for members, committees, and staff of the U.S. Congress. 1916 - present.
Articles by topic back to 1983. Includes information on major legislation, summary of provisions, sponsors, and votes back to 1991. For issues from 1965 to 1983, see Van Pelt Library Stacks: JK 1 .C66.
An independent journal featuring controversies before the U.S. Congress. Issues appear 10 times a year.
Site of National Journal hotline, Daily, and Magazine. Covers events from 1977 to the present.
CQ Roll Call: The Newspaper of Capital Hill
Provides news, objective facts and analysis, and coverage of elections and the politics of legislation,
Topical overviews on a wide range of issues. Includes background, current situation, chronology, contacts, and footnotes. Includes archive of past reports.