Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Sequentially numbered bound volumes of congressional reports and documents. Besides committee reports relating to pending legislation, the Serial Set included the House and Senate Journals from 1818-1954. In the 19th century, approximately 50% of Senate and House Documents were reprints of executive branch or departmental publications. It is worth considering the Serial Set as a source of all types of government publications into the first quarter of the 20th century.
Covers House and Senate Reports and Documents, the Serial Set Maps Digital Collection, and Senate Executive Documents and Reports.
American State Papers
The American State Papers, comprising a total of thirty-eight physical volumes, contain the legislative and executive documents of Congress during the period 1789 to 1838. The collection includes documents that cover the critical historical gap from 1789 to the printing of the first volume of the U.S. Serial Set in 1817.
American State Papers - from ProQuest Congressional
Searchable, full-text version of the Serial Set.Covers 1789 to 1969, includes the American State Papers. Choose Search Within options for the Serial Set
New American State Papers
Selected reprints of House and Senate Documents, covering the 15th -36th Congresses, issued in separately
series: Agriculture, 19 vols. (HD 1759 U55 1973); Commerce & Navigation, 47 vols. (HF 3025 U53 1973); Indian Affairs, 13 vols. (E93 U938 1972); Public Finance, 32 vols. (HJ 249 U55 1972); Public Lands, 8 vols. (HD 171 A222 1973); Science & Technology, 14 vols. (Q 127 U6 U485 1973)); Explorations & Surveys, 15 vols. (G 220 N48); Labor & Slaver