Guides: Philadelphia Schools and Neighborhoods: Pennsylvania and General Statistical Sources

Philadelphia / PA Data Sources

PA Data - Population estimates and projections. Local data from 2010 Census. Census profiles 1990,2000,2010.

1992,1994,1996,1998-2000,2008-2015,2017
See Franklin record for locations. County level information.

Van Pelt: HA607 .P4 [1st ed. (1958), 3rd ed. (1960)-29th ed. (1987)], Lippincott: HA607 .P4 (1958-2007)], County level data

ProQuest Statistical Insight

Indexes Federal statistical publications from 1973 (full text from 2004)
and state government and business statistical reports from 1980 (full text from 2007).
For county data, search: pennsylvania county. (PennKey required)

Open Data Philly

Provides access to over 175 data sets, applications, and APIs related to the Philadelphia region. Built by Azavea, a Philadelphia-based Geographic Information Systems (GIS) software firm, it is now operated by the Philadelphia Public Interest Information Network, a Philadelphia-based non-profit organization.

Immigration - Delaware Valley Regional Planning Commission

Includes Data Snapshot series examines the foreign-born population in Greater Philadelphia using American Community Survey 5-year estimates from the U.S. Census Bureau.

General Statistical Sources

ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the United States - 2013-present. Education data from numerous entities including NCES, NSF, Council for Aid to Education... The online version includes monthly updates to tables. This replaces the Census Bureau publication below.

Statistical Abstract of the United States - Volumes from 1879 to 2012, which the publication ceased being produced by the Census Bureau. Many education related tables.

County and city data book. Available online through HathiTrust
Library has HA202 .A35: 1949, 1952, 1956, 1962, 1967, 1972, 1977, 1983, 1988, 1994, 2007.
Economic, demographic, and electoral data for counties, cities, and incorporated areas. Covers population characteristics, income, occupation, education, household characteristics, age, and nationality, local government general revenue and expenditures, taxes, employment, manufacturing establishments, retail trade, wholesale establishments, and yearly payroll. Data collection ceased in 2011.