United Nations Research Guide

ILOSTAT is maintained by the International Labour Organization's Department of Statistics, a global source for labour statistics. The ILO develops international standards for better measurement of labour issues and enhanced international comparability; provides relevant, timely and comparable labour statistics; and helps Member States develop and improve their labour statistics. They compile labour statistics from numerous sources such as labour force surveys, establishment surveys and administrative records. They also produce labour market indicators from national household survey microdata and estimate country-level, regional and global figures through econometric modelling.

The Millennium Development Goals (MDGs) were a set of eight international development objectives established following the Millennium Summit of the United Nations in 2000. These goals aimed to address various global issues and improve the well-being of people around the world by 2015. The MDGs were designed to tackle poverty, hunger, disease, gender inequality, and other pressing challenges.

UNCTADstata provides data relevant to the analysis of world trade, investment, and development, compiled by the United Nations Conference on Trade and Development (UNSTAD). Coverage includes foreign direct investment; export and import structure by product and by regions of origin and destination; volumes and terms of trade indices; and commodity prices and relevant indices. UNCTAD is a permanent intergovernmental body established by the United Nations General Assembly in 1964 and headquartered in Geneva, Switzerland.

A primary source for cross-nationally comparable statistics on education, science and technology, culture, and communication for more than 200 countries and territories.

The UNESCO Institute for Statistics (UIS) is the official and trusted source of internationally-comparable data on education, science, culture, and communication.

This is a dataset of roll-call votes in the UN General Assembly from 1946-2022. Produced by Erik Voeten the datasets are available through Harvard Dataverse.

The database contains data about forcibly displaced populations over a 70-year period. It covers displaced populations such as refugees, asylum-seekers, and internally displaced people, including their demographics. Stateless people are also included, most of who have never been displaced.

The United Nations Statistics Division is committed to the advancement of the global statistical system. We compile and disseminate global statistical information, develop standards and norms for statistical activities, and support countries' efforts to strengthen their national statistical systems. We facilitate the coordination of international statistical activities and support the functioning of the United Nations Statistical Commission as the apex entity of the global statistical system.

An annual compilation of a wide range of international economic, social and environmental statistics on over 200 countries and areas, compiled from sources including UN agencies and other international, national and specialized organizations. All issues from 1948 to current are available for free online.

The World Bank Open Data platform is a central repository for a wide range of freely accessible data sets, indicators, and statistics related to countries' social, economic, and environmental conditions. This data is made available to the public, researchers, policymakers, analysts, and anyone interested in understanding and analyzing global development trends.

It presents population estimates from 1950 to the present for 237 countries or areas, underpinned by analyses of historical demographic trends. This latest assessment considers the results of 1,758 national population censuses conducted between 1950 and 2022, as well as information from vital registration systems and from 2,890 nationally representative sample surveys The 2022 revision also presents population projections to the year 2100 that reflect a range of plausible outcomes at the global, regional and national levels.

Provides international financial statistics in all aspects of international and domestic finance, from 1948. Provides direct access to the IMF’s periodicals, books, working papers, and studies, as well as data and statistical tools.

UN Comtrade is a comprehensive international trade database maintained by the United Nations Statistics Division (UNSD). It provides detailed and standardized trade data on imports and exports of goods between countries and regions around the world. UN Comtrade contains detailed import and export statistics reported by over 200 countries. It provides annual trade data from 1962 to the most recent year.