Guides: United Nations Research Guide: Treaties

United Nations Treaty Collections

Article 102 External of the Charter of the United Nations states, "Every treaty and every international agreement entered into by any Member of the United Nations after the present Charter comes into force shall as soon as possible be registered with the Secretariat and published by it." As a result, most modern multilateral treaties have been deposited with the United Nations Treaty Collection (UNTC).

HeinOnline - United Nations Law Collection - United Nations Treaty Series Vols. 1-3110 (1946-Current)
HeinOnline collection of UN treaties and international agreements registered or filed and recorded with and published by the Secretariat since 1946, pursuant to Article 102 of the Charter. The UNTS includes the texts of treaties in their authentic language(s), along with translations into English and French, as appropriate.
The League of Nations Treaty Series (LNTS) Vols. 1-205 (1920-1946)
The League of Nations Treaty Series (LNTS) provides historical coverage of multilateral treaties between 1920-1946, and also covers selected treaties back to 1871.
UN-iLibrary United Nations Treaty Series
The UNTS is by far the largest collection of treaties, running to some 2500 volumes containing 158,000 treaties from 1946. Its predecessor was the League of Nations Treaty Series (LNTS)
United Nations Treaty Collection
The United Nations Treaty Collection is an open-access repository of treaties and resources maintained by the United Nations Office of Legal Affairs (OLA) that provides information and documents related to international treaties, both multilateral and bilateral, and agreements. Provides a current status table for multilateral treaties deposited with the Secretary-General and recently deposited treaties that have not yet been published in print.
Universal Human Rights Index
The UHRI facilitates access to human rights recommendations issued by the Treaty Bodies established under the international human rights treaties as well as the Special Procedures and the Universal Periodic Review (UPR) of the Human Rights Council.