It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Formerly known as Kikuzō Visual II, this is the largest newspaper article database in Japan, providing access to 16 million articles and advertisements from 1879 to present. Articles published since 1985 are available for full-text searching. This database provides access to articles from the magazines Aera and Shūkan Asahi; Asahi Graph (1923-1956); an English-language News Database; Who’s Who database; regional and overseas editions; and the Historical Photo Archive, which contains more than 10,000 photographs, primarily taken in Asia during the Pacific War era.
Yomidas Rekishikan contains the Yomiuri newspaper in full text (page images for older issues) from its inception in the Meiji period to the present. It also includes other Yomiuri publications, translations of select current articles into English, and a biographical dictionary.
The Newspaper Clippings Collection contains scrapbooks of newspaper articles dating from the early 20th century to the 1970s, held by Kobe University. It has over 500,000 articles in 3,200 volumes. This searchable and browsable database contains page images of the scrapbooks for viewing online.
The Nikkei Newspapers Digital Archive (NNDA) is a project of the Hokubei Hochi (North American Post) Foundation and the University of Washington Libraries. Our goal is to make accessible two significant newspapers which tell the story of Japanese immigration and Japanese American community life in Seattle and beyond, from 1902 to 1950, and continuing to the present day. The newspapers, North American Times (1902-1942) and North American Post (1946-1950), were published primarily in Japanese, with occasional, and then regularly appearing, pages published in English. Translation summaries (English) are provided for some front page stories (see “Translated Front Pages”). You may search by browsing the individual issues.
The Asahi Shimbun is one of Japan's largest and oldest newspapers. Our digital subscription includes access to full-text articles on the primary news site but does not include access to content via the Android and iOS apps. Once you click on this link, click the box that reads 朝日新聞デジタルにアクセスする in order to access the site.
The Yomiuri newspaper provides some digital content related to Japanese and world news, although this is limited without a paid subscription. There is also a Yomiuri Premium service available for a fee.
English News Digital Archives
These databases contain mostly historical newspaper page images, spanning the Meiji period to the present in some cases. They are Penn subscription databases and require a PennKey login.
NHK World English provides English-language news content related to Japan, Asia, and the world, including articles, TV shows, and radio programs and podcasts. All can be found on their website for free. The site also includes Japanese lessons.
The Economist weekly magazine provides coverage on Japan, including news and current events, and has a special topics section dedicated to Japan news. Many current articles can be viewed for free online.
Al Jazeera English has archived its coverage of the March 11, 2011 disasters and provided news articles and pictures related to the disaster on its website. This is historical coverage and is no longer being updated.