Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
These reference sources cover various aspects of Japanese religion, or Asian religion with a Japanese component. They range from dictionaries to guides.
Digital Dictionary of Buddhism (PENN)
The Digital Dictionary of Buddhism is a user-created, annotated dictionary of Buddhist terms in Chinese characters. This database also provides bibliographies of terms that indicate print dictionaries that can give users more information than is included in the database itself. It is a Penn subscription database and requires PennKey login or on-campus use for unlimited access.
A-Z Photo Dictionary of Buddhist Statuary
This dictionary provides photo illustrations for a number of Japanese Buddhist deities and concepts, and includes definitions as well.
Encyclopedia of Shinto
The online Encyclopedia of Shinto is the English translation of the Shinto jiten edited by the Institute for Japanese Culture and Classics and published by Kobundo in 1994 (the text as translated here reflects certain emendations to the original Japanese version). It also includes links to video images, illustrations, photographs and sound files. Note that this site is no longer being updated, and the new version no longer exists.
Shōgozō | Guide to Shōsin Research
An introduction to and references for use of the Shōgozō archive in Japan, a repository for sutra manuscripts at Tōdai-ji.
H-Buddhism Bibliography Project
A very large bibliography of Buddhist resources across the web, some relating to Japan.
Digital Archives - General
These digital archives, containing images, documents, and metadata, relate to Japanese and Asian religions broadly.
Digital Archives - Buddhism
These are digital archives related specifically to Japanese Buddhism of various kinds and time periods.
The SAT Daizōkyō Text Database SAT大正新脩大藏經テキストデータベー
The SAT Daizōkyō Text Database contains the full text of all 85 volumes of the Taishō Shinshū Daizōkyō (大正新脩大藏經).
Hachiman Digital Handscrolls
The scrolls presented here are preserved in seven different collections ranging from Japan, Germany to the United States. Thanks to the cooperation of the partner museums, libraries and shrines, this project offers visual access to and the visitor's virtual experience of viewing the scrolls.
Nihon Koshakyō Kenkyūjo 日本古写経研究所ホームページ
A database of Buddhist sutras provided by the Nihon Koshakyō Kenkyūjo is linked from this site, although it does not work reliably.
Kasuga Gongen Genki Emaki 春日権現霊験記繪巻
A picture text/scroll on legends of the Kasuga deity accompanied by a transcription in plain text, from Nara Women's University.
Inoue Enryō Research Database
A site including reference materials and digitized primary sources relating to Inoue Enryō, a Meiji-era figure known for his work on Buddhism, religion, philosophy, superstition, and redefining all of these categories.
Petzold Scrolls Collection (Harvard)
This is a visual finding aid for the Petzold collection of Buddhist scrolls at Harvard-Yenching Library. Each scroll has a zoomable high-quality image as well as bibliographic data and catalog links.
Shōun Oshō Kobun shinpō no shō 笑雲和尚古文眞寶之抄
This text is an early-seventeenth-century edition of a Japanese commentary on the Guwen zhenbao houji 古文真宝後集 (circa late thirteenth century), a Chinese collection of canonical prose works popularized as a textbook in medieval Japan by Zen monks.
Digital Archives - Shintō
Digital archives related to Shintō from various time periods.
These religion-related journals are in English and freely available online.
Japanese Journal of Religious Studies (Nanzan Institute for Religion and Culture)
A peer-reviewed, open access journal with freely downloadable content. The journal began in 1960 as Contemporary Religions in Japan and became known as the JJRS in 1974; it has been published by the Nanzan Institute since 1981. The JJRS aims for a multidisciplinary approach to the study of religion in Japan.
Religious Studies in Japan
An open-access journal on religion in Japan, covering all historical periods and a variety of topics.
ICPBS Digital Collections 国際仏教学大学院大学学術成果コレクション
This digital collection includes a variety of Buddhism-related academic journals published by ICBPS, as well as a bibliography and concordance.
The e-Journal of East and Central Asian Religions
An open-access e-journal covering religion throughout Central and East Asia, including Japan. e-JECAR publishes innovative research on the religious traditions of East and Central Asia in their historical, political, social and philosophic contexts.
International Research Institute for Advanced Buddhology at Soka University
A directory and full text PDFs of Soka University International Research Institute for Advanced Buddhology publications, including BIBLIOTHECA PHILOLOGICA et PHILOSOPHICA BUDDHICA and Annual Report of The International Research Institute for Advanced Buddhology at Soka University.
Indian and Buddhist Studies Treatise Database
Indian and Buddhist Studies Treatise Database (INBUDS) is constructed for searching informations and keywords of articles, books and journals on Indian studies and Buddhist studies mainly published in Japan.
International Inoue Enryo Research 国際井上円了研究
An open access journal focusing on Meiji figure Inoue Enryo, who founded a branch of supernatural studies (yokai-gaku) and wrote on religion and philosophy.