It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This is a comprehensive database portal, provided by the National Women's Education Center (NWEC), in support of promoting gender equality and awareness of women's issues. Site links to numerous databases (including gender statistics database), Japanese facilities pertaining to gender studies, lists of gender studies experts, and more.
A multilingual site seeking to expose misconceptions and misinformation about wartime sex slavery of colonial women in the Japanese Empire. This organization is committed to educating the public about their perspective on comfort women: that they existed and were systematically enslaved by the Japanese military during WWII.
This is a comprehensive examination of the varied ways in which gender issues manifest throughout culture in Japan, using a range of international perspectives to examine private and public constructions of identity, as well as gender and sexuality inflected cultural production.
This handbook presents up-to-date theoretical and conceptual developments in key areas of the field, taking a multi-disciplinary and comparative approach to examples from China, Japan, South Korea, Taiwan and Hong Kong.
This site contains information on laws, policies, budgets, and activities related to gender equality. Online resources include research reports, white papers, public opinion polls, and more. Note that there are English and Japanese versions of the page, but the English version is more limited, containing very few data and reports.
This website offers a rich overview of research groups, foundations, institutions, libraries, and other organizations related to gender and women’s studies, both in Japan and worldwide. IGS publishes periodicals including Journal of Gender Studies, IGS Project Series, and IGS Report.
The GRL was founded in 2017 with the purpose of advancing gender studies research. The library contains more than 20,000 books and other resources relating to gender and feminism. The Japanese version of the website contains lists of books organized thematically (which are also searchable in the Nagoya University library catalog).