Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Maps and Geography
Statistics and data overlaid on a choice of several maps of Japan. Data can be chosen from a long list of filters, so it can be viewed alone or in combination for comparison purposes.
Japan Geography Links (Harvard)
Links to a variety of GIS and other geographical resources from Japanese history at different institutions.
Japan Placename Database
A web-searchable database at Harvard for Japanese place names.
David Rumsey Map Collection
Includes "Georeferencer" which contains GIS data and allows you to overlay historical maps on contemporary ones.
Geospatial Information Authority of Japan
A variety of information and data, provided in Japanese.
A project at National Institute of Informatics that provides several services for place names, including GIS/mapping and downloadable software as well as a web API.
We Shall Never Forget - Last Movements of Tsunami Disaster Victims 忘れない
The Hidenori Watanave Laboratory at Tokyo Metropolitan University and Iwate Nippo Newspaper worked together to create a digital archive of those who lost their lives in the disaster, mapping their evacuation efforts from when the earthquake struck until the tsunami arrived. This project is entitled: We Shall Never Forget - Last Movements of Tsunami Disaster Victims.
Text Analysis and Data Sets
Center for Open Data in the Humanities 人文学オープンデータ共同利用センター
Center for Open Data in the Humanities (CODH) is working on research and development for enhancing access to humanities data using the state-of-the-art technology in informatics and statistics, and at the same time constructing data platforms based on the idea of open science to promote trans-disciplinary participation of people with diverse backgrounds, thereby opening up new possibilities of research framework in digital humanities from data-driven perspectives.
National Institute of Informatics Data Sets
The NII links to and offers a number of text-based data sets from this page, including from NIJL, Yahoo!, Rakuten, Niconico, and others. Site and corpora in Japanese only.
This is the website of a major text analysis project for Japanese classics, including software, results, and data sets. There is a special focus on waka poetry.
This is a search system that allows you to search the full text of Diet proceedings. Use double quotes "" around your query to search a phrase. Otherwise it does not work that well.
This is the Japanese-language version of the web-based text analysis software Voyant Tools. It can tokenize Japanese text, so no need to insert whitespace before pasting or uploading your text.
Science and Technology Research Information
This database provides information on science and technology grant projects awarded funds by JST. It allows for searching by topic or researcher/institution and includes grant project summaries and amount of funds awarded.
J-Stage is an aggregator of articles and journal tables of contents from scholarly e-journals in science and technology of Japan.