Guides: HIST 329-301: The Great War in Memoir and Memory: Keywords, Reference Materials

Reference Books at Van Pelt

War Cyclopedia: A Handbook for Ready Reference on the Great War by Frederic Paxson, et al.
Call Number: Hein Online Legal Classics Collection
Publication Date: 1918
This Primary Source text issued by the Government Printing Office in 1918 has been made available through the Hein Online database.
Memories and Representations of War: The case of World War I and World War II by Lamberti and Fortunati, eds.
Call Number: Van Pelt D522.42 .M46 2009
ISBN: 9789042025219
Publication Date: 2009
World War I Memories: an annotated bibliography of personal accounts published in English since 1919 by Edward G. Lengel
Call Number: Van Pelt Reference D640.A2 L46 2004
ISBN: 0810850087
Publication Date: 2004
This annotated bibliography includes over 1,400 references to memoirs, diaries, and letters by soldiers and civilians from all involved nations.
Первая мировая война: энциклопедия в двух частях /The First World War in Two Volumes by Zalesskiĭ, K. A. (Konstantin Aleksandrovich)
Call Number: Van Pelt Library. D510 .Z36 2014
ISBN: 9785918620229
Publication Date: 2014
Oxford Bibliographies Online-Commemoration by Mary Barbier
Call Number: Online resource
ISBN: 9780199791279
Publication Date: 2012-
An online bibliography of resources prepared and recommended by scholars in the field.
The Home Front Encyclopedia by Ciment, et al., eds.
Call Number: Van Pelt Reference D570 .H54 2007
ISBN: 9781576078495
Publication Date: 2006
Includes biographies, cultural phenomena (movies, music, and literature), ethnic groups, key events (elections, strikes, mobilization efforts), government agencies, and a selection of primary sources, including speeches, official documents, propaganda, journalism, and personal correspondence, photographs, propaganda posters, editorial cartoons
World War I: Definitive Encyclopedia and Document Collection by Spencer C. Tucker and Priscilla Mary Roberts
Call Number: Van Pelt Reference D510 .E53 2014
ISBN: 9781851099641
Publication Date: 2014
Five volumes
Brill's Encyclopedia of the First World War by Gerhard Hirschfeld (Editor); Gerd Krumeich; Irina Renz
Call Number: Van Pelt Reference D510 .E5913 2012
ISBN: 9004207392
Publication Date: 2012
Two volumes, includes document facsimiles

World War I Websites 1914-1918
contains extensive online resources for pictures, audio files, maps, and other multimedia elements related to WWI.
International Encyclopedia of the First World War
A Global Project of "1914-1918-online, the International Encyclopedia of the First World War” is an English-language, open access, virtual reference work featuring multiple perspectives with contributions from over 50 countries and, so far, amounting to 1000 articles.

Subject Headings for Franklin Catalog

World War, 1914-1918

This basic subject phrase can be combined with a wide range of concepts, including profession, geographical entity, individual names, and so on. Use this terms when search Franklin (Penn's library catalog), and journal databases such as JSTOR and Historical Abstracts. See the tab on this guide "Finding Secondary Sources"

Examples include:

Medical care -- biography
Nurses -- biography
war memorials
memorialization
collective memory
monuments
remembrances
representations
cenotaph
autobiography
biography
personal narratives and add country, e.g., personal narratives, british ; personal narratives, Hungarian
World War, 1914-1918 -- Women -- Canada ; Nurses -- Canada -- Biography
literature and the war
fiction
poetry
artists
art and the war
[name of artist]
[country of origin for the artist or artwork]
art, German
soldiers
Civilians
Civilian relief
Finance
social aspects
youth
veterans
citizenship
families
repatriation
war dead
Refugees