Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
For more historical databases, consult the Guide to History Databases page.
America: History and Life
A bibliographic database indexing books, book chapters, and over 1,800 journals relating to the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.
Historical coverage of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada).
JSTOR specializes in making available the back issues of journals in a wide variety of humanities and social science disciplines. Issues are available both as images and as text, making searching possible both within each title and across the whole database.
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography
this is the national record of men and women who have shaped British history and culture, worldwide, from the Romans to the 21st century.
World War I and Revolution in Russia
Archives unbound collections are similar in nature to the First World War collection materials in terms of consisting of primary documents -- a little less friendly to use. Often reproduced from microfilm
British Campaign in Mesopotamia
An Archives Unbound collection
Oxford Handbooks History
Includes 21 books and over 700 articles. Search across articles using names of individuals, events, "world war I" or "First World War" (quotation marks important!), names of countries, battles, and so on.
Western Front (World War I)
Part of the Oxford Bibliographies Online database--seeks to focus on books that are based in extensive primary research and advance original or otherwise influential theses about ground-based military affairs on the western front from 1914 to 1918; it also includes a selection of some of the most authentic and compelling personal accounts of that theater of war.
Oxford Bibliogrpahies Onlline-History-Commemorations-Britiain-World-War-I