Guides: HIST 329-301: The Great War in Memoir and Memory: Home

First World War Primary Source Databases

he Royal Marines Band Passing the Cenotaph …, 19 July 1919, From "The First World War" database collections

The First World War
This First World War portal includes primary source materials for the study of the Great War, complemented by a range of secondary features. The collection is divided into three modules: Personal Experiences, Propaganda and Recruitment, and Visual Perspectives and Narratives.
Prisoners of the First World War: ICRC Historical Archives
5 Million index cards with prisoner of war data provided by the countries at war. As of September 2014, 90% of the card have been loaded. Arrangement is by nationality rather than alphabetical by prisoner.
World War I Document Archive: Memoirs and Remembrances
This archive of primary documents from World War One has been assembled by volunteers of the World War I Military History List (WWI-L). International in focus, the archive intends to present in one location primary documents concerning the Great War.
HathiTrust Digital Library
Hathitrust.org brings together digitized public domain resources from libraries across the country. This is a good source for finding pamphlets, journals, magazines, and publications from the time before, during, and after the war.

Search Digital Newspapers to find newspaper stories, photographs, advertising contemporaneous with the war. Search dates that might be anniversaries for memorials and remembrances (e.g., 10 years, 20 years, 25 years, 50 years later)

Times Digital Archive
The Times of London 1785-2008. See a separate link for the Sunday Times
Sunday Times Digital Archive
The Sunday Times of London, 1855-2006
New York Times Historical 1851-2010
A different perspective on world events

Primary Source Collections from Cultural Heritage Organizations

statistics on war atrocities from the British Library's World War One collection

World War One -- from the British Library
Divided into categories that include Themes, Articles, and Collection Items. Articles are written and signed, and authors include internationally known scholars and subject specialists. Images from many collections and representing multiple countries accompany the text. Significant lists for "more articles" run along the side.
Lives of the First World War: Imperial War Museum Partnership
Part of the IMW's overall First World War site, "Lives" invites contributions to fill in the details about the lives of those who served in the war. "At the heart of Lives of the First World War are the life stories of more than 8 million individuals. . ." As of September 2014 it is more of a potential site as very view details have been added.
Collaborative Bibliography from the International Society for First World War Studies
Follow the bibliography on Twitter @FWWbib or at the Zotero group bibliography [[https://api.zotero.org/groups/55813/items/top]. This site shows the citations grouped by topic. Click on a topic to view citations. You will need to search the Penn Franklin catalog or use the Penntext article linker to track down the articles. Frequently updated.
ScarletFinders: Nursing and Women in the World War
"This new website gives information on all administrative and organisational aspects of the British military nursing services in France and Flanders during the Great War. It covers areas that have previously been passed over or ignored, such as pay, contracts, mobilisation and demobilisation, marriage, off-duty time, sickness, discipline and more - the basics of life for military nurses."

Penn's World War I Digital Collections

Penn's World War I Pamphlet Collection
Penn has digitized over 400 pamphlets from its print collections dating from and relating to World War I. These pamphlets are now findable in Franklin via the series title: World War I Pamphlet Collection with live links to the facsimiles available through Hathi Trust and to Penn's Print at Penn. Access all pamphlets via the libraries Franklin catalog whether from Print at Penn or the Hathi Trust.

Connect to pamphlets via the Hathi Trust Digital Library

Connect to pamphlets via Print at Penn.

Penn Libraries World War I Printed Media and Art Collection
This collections contains over one thousand prints, propaganda posters, postcards, trench newspapers, maps, broadsides and original artworks dating from 1914 to 1931 and offers an enormous range of perspectives on the First World War.

Nick Okrent

Email Me

Contact:

Van Pelt Library, room 204

215-573-2217

Subjects: Africana Studies, Asian-American Studies, History, Philosophy, U.S. History

Europeana 1914-1918

Images taken from Europeana 1914-1918 searching "letters"

Europeana 1914-1918
Europeana continues to bring together resources from across Europea's museums, libraries, and cultural institutions, as well as contributions from its American counterparts to provide high quality images and texts to the world. At this site you can search letters to retrieve images of letters in languages from across Europe, newspapers, photographs, and other media, as well as names and locations (and more)

HIST 329-301: The Great War in Memoir and Memory: Home

See Also

First World War Primary Source Databases

Primary Source Collections from Cultural Heritage Organizations

Penn's World War I Digital Collections

Nick Okrent

Europeana 1914-1918