Skip to main content

WWI Primary and Secondary Sources: Print and Online: Primary Sources

International primary source documents in the University Pennsylvania Libraries collections and Online sites

Penn's World War I Digital Collections

Connect to pamphlets via the Hathi Trust Digital Library

Connect to pamphlets via Print at Penn.

First World War Primary Source Databases

Map From "The First World War" database collections

Correspondence from the British Foreign Office

World War I Posters

Journals and Newspapers

  • Gale Primary Sources

    Search various newspaper archives, including the Illustrated London News,Economist, The Sunday Times, The Times, The Telegraph, and the International Herald Tribune Historical Archives.

  • Proquest Historical Newspapers

    Limit by "Source Type" to search historical newspapers and periodicals. Proquest Historical Newspapers includes the New York Times Historical Archive

  • Times of London Digital Archive (See Gale Primary Sources above--for a combined search with some options for visualizations)
  • Economist Historical Archive (See Gale Primary Sources above--for a combined search with some options for visualizations)
  • The Times History of the War Print volumes. Van Pelt Library. 940.3 T483 (compact shelving). Coverage of the war issued in weekly installments from 1914 to 1918. 22 volumes.
  • The Times Documentary History of the WarPrint volumes. Van Pelt Library. 940.92 T483.6 (compact shelving). Divided into the diplomatic, naval, miltary and overseas histories.11 volumes.
  • Belgium under German rule : the deportations. Print volume. Van Pelt Library. D615 .B48 1917. From the London Times, 1917.

Foreign Relations Papers

The following are resources available in Van Pelt Library.  Clicking on the links will take you to the item's catalog record in Franklin.

U.S. Foreign Relations

 

British Foreign Relations

 

Russian Foreign Relations

 

French Foreign Relations

 

German Foreign Relations

WWI Histories

French WWI poster courtesy of the Library of Congress.

War Records

The following are resources available in Van Pelt Library.  Clicking on the links will take you to the item's catalog record in Franklin.

Official rulings and announcements of the War Trade Board and its Bureaus, from 1917-1919.

23 volumes.

Covers such topics as casualties and statistics, surgery, diseases and pathology.

4 volumes.

Large, multi-volume series covering all aspects of medical services during World War I.

15 volumes.

Records on military regiments, including operations, field orders and training.

25 volumes.

Correspondences and primary sources at the outbreak of the war.

2 volumes.

Conditions of the Treaty of Versailles, in French.

12 Volumes.

A series on the organization, policies, training and operations. Also contains reports.

17 volumes.

Economic and Social History of the World War Series

This series published by the Carnegie Endowment for International Peace. Division of Economics and History, provides a detailed account of the expense and consequences of the war to all countries involved. Listed below are the series and their call number. volumes may be in storage at Libra or in Van Pelt. Try the following search to bring up all volumes: economic and social history of the world war and author carnegie. If you have difficulty finding the volumes you are looking for, please ask for assistance.

Subsets of the series:

American 940.92 W2744.8 Japanese 940.92 W2744.14

Austro-Hungarian

940.92 W2744.4 Polish 940.92 W2744.20
Belgian 940.92 W2744.6 Rumanian 940.92 W2744.5
British 940.92 W2744.2 Russian 940.92 W2744.12

Czechoslovak

336.43 R188 Scandinavian 940.92 W2744.11
European 940.92 W2744.7 Serbian 940.92 W2744.18
French 940.92 W2744.5

Turkish

940.92 W2744.17
German 940.92 W2744.13 General 940.92 W2744
Italian 940.92 W2744.9

World War I Document Archive

An online resource to support use of primary documents, the World War I Archive is an electronic repository of primary documents from World War One, which has been assembled by volunteers of the World War I Military History List (WWI-L). International in focus, the archive intends to present in one location primary documents concerning the Great War. It includes biographical material, convention and treaty documents, links to other WW I sites, documents available through H-net, and other  resources.