Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Primary Source Collections from Cultural Heritage Organizations
statistics on war atrocities from the British Library's World War One collection
Library of Congress: American Life Histories
Life histories recorded by the Federal Writers Project -- limited to references to World War I
Library of Congress: Guide to World War I Materials
Find papers for Pershing and Patton, digital facsilmilies for music, artwork, posters, and much more including the following topics:
The Assassination of Archduke Franz Ferdinand
Female Spies in World War One
League of Nations
Sinking of the Lusitania
Tanks in World War I
World War I Armistice
World War I Declarations
World War I Poetry
The Zimmerman Telegram
World War One -- from the British Library
Divided into categories that include Themes, Articles, and Collection Items. Articles are written and signed, and authors include internationally known scholars and subject specialists. Images from many collections and representing multiple countries accompany the text. Significant lists for "more articles" run along the side.
BBC: World War One
Podcasts, video, essays, images, interviews. The BBC site, makes an effort to go beyond common perspectives and provides resources for exploration. The site also provides international coverage--going beyond the United Kingdom. The site includes guides for teaching and learning within particular areas such as shell shock, teenaged soldiers, changing roles and expectations for women.
First World War Centenary Partnership from the Imperial War Museum
Collection of podcasts, images, historical data and information. Faces of the First World War posts faces of individual soldiers, each with their own site. The IWM is collecting information on the soldiers from volunteer contributers--that is--crowdsourcing the information. For an example visit Faces of the First World-Clifford Butcher
Lives of the First World War: Imperial War Museum Partnership
Part of the IMW's overall First World War site, "Lives" invites contributions to fill in the details about the lives of those who served in the war. "At the heart of Lives of the First World War are the life stories of more than 8 million individuals. . ." As of September 2014 it is more of a potential site as very view details have been added.
Collaborative Bibliography from the International Society for First World War Studies
Follow the bibliography on Twitter @FWWbib or at the Zotero group bibliography [[https://api.zotero.org/groups/55813/items/top]. This site shows the citations grouped by topic. Click on a topic to view citations. You will need to search the Penn Franklin catalog or use the Penntext article linker to track down the articles. Frequently updated.
ScarletFinders: Nursing and Women in the World War
"This new website gives information on all administrative and organisational aspects of the British military nursing services in France and Flanders during the Great War. It covers areas that have previously been passed over or ignored, such as pay, contracts, mobilisation and demobilisation, marriage, off-duty time, sickness, discipline and more - the basics of life for military nurses."
Images taken from Europeana 1914-1918 searching "letters"
Europeana continues to bring together resources from across Europea's museums, libraries, and cultural institutions, as well as contributions from its American counterparts to provide high quality images and texts to the world. At this site you can search letters to retrieve images of letters in languages from across Europe, newspapers, photographs, and other media, as well as names and locations (and more)
Oxford's First World War Poetry Digital Archive
Much more than a site for poetry, this site provides a vast array of contextual materials, including publications, journals, films, biographical materail and more. Suggested keywords make it easier to find your way to items of interest within the archive.
Publications of War
Includes Hydra, AIF Magazine, The Dagger, Daily Mail satire, posters, propaganda publications, and more
The Great War Archive
Search by interviews, official documents, diaries, drawings, music, postcards, and more.
Recommended WW I Novels from various sources