WWI Primary and Secondary Sources: Print and Online: Primary Sources

Connect to pamphlets via the Hathi Trust Digital Library

Connect to pamphlets via Print at Penn.

Map From "The First World War" database collections

From World War I and the Revolution in Russia, 1914-1918"

• Gale Primary Sources

  Search various newspaper archives, including the Illustrated London News,Economist, The Sunday Times, The Times, The Telegraph, and the International Herald Tribune Historical Archives.

• Proquest Historical Newspapers

  Limit by "Source Type" to search historical newspapers and periodicals. Proquest Historical Newspapers includes the New York Times Historical Archive

• Times of London Digital Archive (See Gale Primary Sources above--for a combined search with some options for visualizations)
• Economist Historical Archive (See Gale Primary Sources above--for a combined search with some options for visualizations)
• The Times History of the War Print volumes. Libra 940.3 T483. Coverage of the war issued in weekly installments from 1914 to 1918. 22 volumes. Volumes at Libra and available through HathiTrust
• The Times Documentary History of the War. Print volumes. Library 940.92 T483.6. Divided into the diplomatic, naval, miltary and overseas histories.11 volumes. All 11 volumes are available through HathiTrust. 
• Belgium under German rule : the deportations. Print volume. Kislak Center Folio D615 .B48 1917 -. From the London Times, 1917.

The following are resources available in Van Pelt Library.  Clicking on the links will take you to the item's catalog record in Franklin.

U.S. Foreign Relations

• Foreign Relations of the United States: Official documentary history of foreign policy decisions from the U.S. State Department's Office of the Historian.

British Foreign Relations

• British Documents on the Origins of the War, 1898-1914: 11 volumes. Available through Hein Online, Hathitrust and Libra
• British and Foreign State Papers, 1812-1968: 170 volumes all available through HeinOnline
• British Documents on Foreign Affairs: Reports and Papers from the Foreign Office Confidential Print. Series H, The First World War, 1914-1918: 12 volumes. Available through a variety of print and online editions.

Russian Foreign Relations

• Russia in War and Revolution, 1914-1922: A Documentary History

French Foreign Relations

• Les Origines de la Guerre et la Politique Extérieure de l'Allemagne au Début du XXe Siècle d'Après les Documents Diplomatiques
• Documents Diplomatiques français (1871-1914) 41 volumes. Most volumes available through Hathitrust

German Foreign Relations

• German War Planning, 1891-1914: Sources and Interpretations

French WWI poster courtesy of the Library of Congress.

The following are resources available in Van Pelt Library.  Clicking on the links will take you to the item's catalog record in Franklin.

• War Trade Board journal

Official rulings and announcements of the War Trade Board and its Bureaus, from 1917-1919.

23 volumes.

• History of the Great War, based on official documents, by direction of the Historical section of the Committee of Imperial defence : medical services 

Covers such topics as casualties and statistics, surgery, diseases and pathology.

4 volumes.

• The medical department of the United States Army in the World War

Large, multi-volume series covering all aspects of medical services during World War I.

15 volumes.

• World War records; First Division, A.E.F., Regular

Records on military regiments, including operations, field orders and training.

25 volumes.

• Diplomatic documents relating to the outbreak of the European war

Correspondences and primary sources at the outbreak of the war.

2 volumes.

• La Paix de Versailles

Conditions of the Treaty of Versailles, in French.

12 Volumes. Online through Gallica and in print at Van Pelt

• United States Army in the World War, 1917-1919

A series on the organization, policies, training and operations. Also contains reports.

17 volumes.

This series published by the Carnegie Endowment for International Peace. Division of Economics and History, provides a detailed account of the expense and consequences of the war to all countries involved. Listed below are the series and their call number. volumes may be in storage at Libra or in Van Pelt. Try the following search to bring up all volumes: economic and social history of the world war and author carnegie. If you have difficulty finding the volumes you are looking for, please ask for assistance. (Print and Hathitrust)

Subsets of the series:

An online resource to support use of primary documents, the World War I Archive is an electronic repository of primary documents from World War One, which has been assembled by volunteers of the World War I Military History List (WWI-L). International in focus, the archive intends to present in one location primary documents concerning the Great War. It includes biographical material, convention and treaty documents, links to other WW I sites, documents available through H-net, and other resources.