It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This First World War portal includes primary source materials for the study of the Great War, complemented by a range of secondary features. The collection is divided into three modules: Personal Experiences, Propaganda and Recruitment, and Visual Perspectives and Narratives.
Includes 21 books and over 700 articles. Search across articles using names of individuals, events, "world war I" or "First World War" (quotation marks important!), names of countries, battles, and so on.
Part of the Oxford Bibliographies Online database--seeks to focus on books that are based in extensive primary research and advance original or otherwise influential theses about ground-based military affairs on the western front from 1914 to 1918; it also includes a selection of some of the most authentic and compelling personal accounts of that theater of war.
Art and the First World War
Subject keywor search for World War 1914-1918 Art, brings works that collect and analyze the artwork from the war. Much of the war was documented by artists in the field.
During the pandemic available via HathiTrust's temporary access http://catalog.hathitrust.org/api/volumes/oclc/65400345.html
Portrait of War presents eight graphic artists recruited by the government and sent into combat to create a visual historical record of World War I.
Includes biographies, cultural phenomena (movies, music, and literature), ethnic groups, key events (elections, strikes, mobilization efforts), government agencies, and a selection of primary sources, including speeches, official documents, propaganda, journalism, and personal correspondence, photographs, propaganda posters, editorial cartoons
A Global Project of "1914-1918-online, the International Encyclopedia of the First World War” is an English-language, open access, virtual reference work featuring multiple perspectives with contributions from over 50 countries and, so far, amounting to 1000 articles.
Many books have been published over the period of the 100 year anniversary of the beginning and end of the First World War. This subject heading search: World War 1914-1918 is limited to just those titles that have been published since 2014. There are nearly 1,500 titles.
In this collection the essays are the longer versions of the presentations that were read at the Florida and Gulf Coast Chapter Seminar of the World War One Historical Association. Most of the papers presented at the seminar examined some aspects of the eastern front.
Redressing the neglect of World War I memorials in art history scholarship and memory studies, Sculpting Doughboys considers the hundreds of sculptures of American soldiers that dominated the nation's sculptural commemorative landscape after World War I.
Following on from the success of his 'World War II in Cartoons', the author again examines cartoons from both sides of the conflict and skilfully blends them with text to produce this significant visual history of the First World War.